Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport Toronto Supercross high-fives Villopoto

Toronto Supercross high-fives Villopoto

SX Toronto Race

As the fans await the return of injured defending Supercross Champion James Stewart and also-injured two-time Supercross Champion Chad Reed, Rogers Centre proved to be the site of Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto’s fifth win of the 2010 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series, an FIM World Championship.

The only non-US round, 42,083 fans were there for the tenth round of the 2010 season. Not only was it Villopoto’s first Toronto Supercross win, it was also the first Supercross Lites win for GEICO Powersports Honda’s Justin Barcia on a CRF250R.

Honda Red Bull Racing’s Trey Canard–filling in on the factory Honda team for injured Andrew Short–snagged the Spike Holeshot Award on his CRF450R, with Valli Motorsports/Rockstar Yamaha’s Ivan Tedesco on an YZ450F and KX450F-mounted Villopoto. Before the first lap was complete, Villopoto passed Canard, continuing on to comfortably lead all 20-laps of the Main event.

Ryan Villopoto Speaks…

"I really wouldn’t be in this position without all of my team and everyone involved. The last couple weeks we’ve been on it and it’s what we need to do. (The racing is) close and it’s been tough. I need to make up ground and I got to make those passes quick. I (also) need to keep getting good starts."

Current points leader Ryan Dungey, riding Rockstar Makita Suzuki RM-Z450, started the race in fourth, and moved up to third quickly. Getting past Canard was more of a challenge, and Canard held Dungey off unit the fifth lap, when Dungey took away Canard’s line in the difficult sand turn. Canard later admitted that he was tired and couldn’t put up a fight.

Despite being fatigued, Canard held on for third, his third straight podium result. Canard’s teammate Davi Millsaps was in the hunt for the last podium position, until he went down hard, handing the fourth position to Valli Motorsports’ Ivan Tedesco on a Yamaha. Veteran Kevin Windham, riding a Geico Powersports Factory Connection Honda rounded out the top five.

San Manuel Band of Mission Indians Yamaha-mounted Josh Hill continues to struggle after a strong start this season, finishing in sixth, over a minute behind Villopoto. Hill holds his third position in the standings, but slips to 20 points behind Villopoto.

Barcia Races to First-Career Supercross Lites Win

Breaking a season-long AMA Supercross Lites Eastern Regional Championship win streak owned by Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Christophe Pourcel, Barcia became just the second rider to win an Eastern Regional win this year. Barcia nailed down the Spike Holeshot Award and never looked back, leading all 15 laps of the Main event.

Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Austin Stroupe kept Barcia honest throughout the race and closed in as Barcia began to falter with two laps remaining. Lappers kept Stroupe from making a serious challenge on his RM-Z250, but he settled for his fourth consecutive runner-up finish.

The battle for third was close between Pourcel and his Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki teammate and Canadian native Dean Wilson–both riding KX250Fs–but the defending Eastern Regional Champion was able to secure the third and final spot on the podium. In a post-race interview, Pourcel vowed to return to his winning ways by the next round in Arlington, Texas.

Justin Barcia Speaks…

"(This win) means everything to me. I really want to thank my mom and dad and my team, GEICO Powersports Honda. All these fans here were cheering me on so thanks a lot to everyone. It’s an incredible feeling. I’ve been trying so hard all year. This definitely ranks at the top of my list as far as accomplishments and I feel to lucky to have such a great team behind me."

With three wins, Dungey currently holds a 17-point lead over Villopoto in the AMA Supercross standings. Three-time winner Pourcel leads Stroupe by seven points in the AMA Supercross Lites Eastern Regional Championship. The 2010 Monster Energy AMA Supercross season continues next weekend, running inside the newly built Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas.

2010 AMA FIM Supercross Class Results: Toronto
1. Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
2. Ryan Dungey, Suzuki
3. Trey Canard, Honda
4. Ivan Tedesco, Yamaha
5. Kevin Windham, Honda
6. Josh Hill, Yamaha
7. Nick Wey, Kawasaki
8. Tommy Hahn, Suzuki
9. Justin Brayton, Yamaha
10. Matt Boni, Honda

2010 AMA FIM Supercross Class Season Standings

1. Ryan Dungey, Suzuki, 214
2. Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki, 197
3. Josh Hill, Yamaha, 177
4. Davi Millsaps, Honda, 152
5. Kevin Windham, Honda, 147
6. Justin Brayton, Yamaha, 136
7. Ivan Tedesco, Yamaha, 135
8. Nick Wey, Kawasaki, 113
9. Kyle Chisholm, Yamaha, 92
10. Tommy Hahn, Suzuki, 89

2010 Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Results: Toronto

1. Justin Barcia, Honda
2. Austin Stroupe, Suzuki
3. Christophe Pourcel, Kawasaki
4. Dean Wilson, Kawasaki
5. Ryan Sipes, Yamaha
6. Brett Metcalfe, Honda
7. Kyle Cunningham, Honda
8. Troy Adams, Suzuki
9. Mike Willard, Honda
10. Nico Izzi, Yamaha

2010 Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Season Standings

1. Christophe Pourcel, Kawasaki, 95
2. Austin Stroupe, Suzuki, 88
3. Dean Wilson, Kawasaki, 71
4. Brett Metcalfe, Honda, 65
5. Justin Barcia, Honda, 64
6. Ryan Sipes, Yamaha, 55
7. Blake Baggett, Suzuki, 46
8. Nico Izzi, Yamaha, 41
9. Kyle Cunningham, Honda, 40
10. Vince Friese, Yamaha, 39

1. Suzuki, 236 points
2. Yamaha, 225 points
3. Kawasaki, 222 points
4. Honda, 221

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling.

Metzeler Sportec M9 RR Motorcycle Tires First Look (6 Fast Facts)

Upgraded from the highly regarded M7, the Metzeler Sportec M9 RR tires promise to provide high-level performance for sportbikes in both wet and dry...

2020 Harley-Davidson Softail Standard First Look (6 Fast Facts)

Aiming at both budget-minded big-inch cruiser fans, as well as serious customizers, the new 2020 Harley-Davidson Softail Standard is all about presenting buyers with...

2020 Arlington Supercross Results and Coverage: Tomac Victorious

Despite finishing in P5 after a poor start in Main Event 1 of the Triple Crown format, Eli Tomac stormed back to win back-to-back...

Fantasy Supercross Tips: 2020 Arlington – Tomac, Roczen, Webb

It’s time to get in your picks for fantasy supercross—a fun and simple way to make the races just that much more exciting....

ScorpionExo Abrams Riding Shirt and Gloves Review: Comfort and Safety

The days of wearing an unprotective cotton shirt for a comfortable ride are over. The ScorpionExo Abrams riding shirt uses cotton as the basic...

I’ve Got Gas! Should it Be High or Low Octane for My Motorcycle?

The mythical, magic number of motor fuel: Octane. What does it mean for your ride? Over the years, I’ve heard a lot of conflicting views...