2010 Daytona Supercross Wrap-Up

SX Race Results

The race for the 2010 Monster Energy AMA Supercross FIM World Championship series tightened up a bit at Daytona International Speedway, as Monster Energy Kawasaki KX450F-mounted Ryan Villopoto cruised to a solid win–his career-first at Daytona–over runner-up and series points leader Ryan Dungey.

Villopoto actually scored two holeshots in the Main, however the first was wiped away when Yamaha YZ450F rider Grant Langston suffered a huge endo entering the fastest straight on the Ricky Carmichael-designed track, causing a red flag situation. On the restart, Villopoto took the lead and was gone for the night. Dungey, on a Rockstar/Makita/Yoshimura Suzuki RM-Z450 was the only other rider to lap in the 1:03s. Team Honda Red Bull Racing’s Trey Canard, moonlighting from the West Coast Lites series, was all alone in third, far behind Dungey, but far ahead of veteran Kevin Windham on a Geico Powersports/Factory Connection Honda. Team Honda Red Bull Racing rider Davi Millsaps made it 3-4-5 for CRF450Rs at Daytona.

For the most part, the race was a processional, despite a well-designed track with multiple lines and places to pass. The rider who showed the most movement all night was Josh Hill, who is riding injured on his factory-backed Yamaha. He started in second, but faded to 9th by the checkered flag, just one position ahead of Ryan Morais, a West Coast Lites rider making his Supercross debut.

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Chad Reed put a buzz through the pits with his 1:02.830 qualifying time–the fastest in the premier class, ahead of Dungey by a half-second. However, Reed did not consider himself recovered enough from his injury–defending champion James Stewart is also out–to compete.

While Reed may have had the fastest 450 qualifying time, defending East Coast Lites Champion Christophe Pourcel had the absolute fastest qualifying time–a 1:02.237 on his Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki KX250F. In the Lites Main, Pourcel finished the first lap in third, behind leader Austin Stroupe on his Team Rockstar Makita Suzuki RM-Z250. Sandwiched between them was Stroupe’s teammate, Blake Baggett.

By the second lap, Pourcel was in second and he patiently waited to make a clean pass of Stroupe on Lap 6. Although Stroupe kept in touch, Pourcel was never challenged, and he took his third win in the first three East Coast Lites races. Although passing was rare, the top four riders finished within six seconds of one another.

Rookie Justin Barcia, who ran in seventh most of the race, worked his way up to 5th by the checkered flag. He was behind Pourcel’s teammate, Dean Wilson, who scored his first podium of the year, and Blake Baggett, whose 4th was his best finish of the season.


1. Ryan Villopoto – Kawasaki
2. Ryan Dungey – Suzuki
3. Trey Canard – Honda
4. Kevin Windham – Honda
5. Davi Millsaps – Honda
6. Tommy Hahn – Suzuki
7. Nick Way – Kawasaki
8. Kyle Chisholm – Yamaha
9. Josh Hill – Yamaha
10. Ryan Morais – Suzuki

AMA SUPERCROSS POINTS (9 of 17 rounds)

1. Ryan Dungey – 192 points
2. Ryan Villopoto – 172
3. Josh Hill – 162
4. Davi Millsaps – 150
5. Kevin Windham – 131
6. Justin Brayton – 124
7. Ivan Tedesco – 117
8. Nick Wey – 99
9. Kyle Chisholm – 82
10. Michael Byrne – 80


1. Christophe Pourcel – Kawasaki
2. Austin Stroupe – Suzuki
3. Dean Wilson – Kawasaki
4. Blake Baggett – Suzuki
5. Justin Barcia – Honda
6. Ryan Sipes – Yamaha
7. Brett Metcalfe – Honda
8. Darryn Durham – Honda
9. Kyle Cunningham – Honda
10. Martin Davalos – Yamaha


1. Christophe Pourcel – 75 points
2. Austin Stroupe – 66
3. Dean Wilson – 53
4. Brett Metcalfe – 50
5. Blake Baggett – 44
6. Justin Barcia – 39
7. Ryan Sipes – 39
8. Nico Izzi – 30
9. Vince Friese – 29
10. Jake Moss – 27