Supercross heads to San Diego

Round 5 Preview

The race towards the 2010 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championship title got a little tighter heading into this weekend’s race from San Diego’s Qualcomm Stadium. AMA Supercross points leader Rockstar-Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey looks to rebound from his worst outing of the season last weekend while Monster-Energy Kawasaki’s Jake Weimer aims to reassert himself as the rider to beat in the AMA Supercross Lites Western Regional Championship.

Last Saturday, Dungey brought his double-digit points lead and two-race winning streak into San Francisco’s AT&T Park, but experienced problems while leading, allowing Ryan Villopoto to steal his first win of the 2010 season and close in on his rival. Jake Weimer was looking for his fourth consecutive win in the AMA Supercross Lites class, but was out-dueled by GEICO Powersports Honda’s Trey Canard who took his first win of the season.

Dungey captured the Spike Holeshot Award with Villopoto and Honda Red Bull Racing’s Davi Millsaps following in second and third respectively. Millsaps passed Villopoto on the first lap but crashed on lap four, giving second place back to Villopoto.

While leading on lap 10, Dungey crashed and dropped back to fourth place. This allowed Villopoto to move into the lead, San Manuel Yamaha’s Josh Hill to second and Millsaps to third.

Ryan Dungey Speaks…

"I lost my foot and went sailing," said Dungey. "It could have been a lot worse. I am glad I am not hurt."

The win for Villopoto marked the third in his career. Hill finished second and Millsaps finished third.

Ryan Villopoto Speaks…

"The track was tough and slippery," said Villopoto. "It was hard to put in 20 perfect laps out there tonight. It wasn’t the start that I wanted, so I played catch-up. It is a long season with a lot of racing left."

Honda’s Cole Seely won the Spike Holeshot Award in the AMA Supercross Lites main event, but it was Trey Canard, who quickly stole the lead. Jake Weimer moved into second with Yamaha’s Broc Tickle in the number three position. The trio would stay that way throughout the remaining portion of the 15-lap main event.

Trey Canard Speaks…

"I had a rough start to this season, and I am finally starting to come around," said Canard. "This was great night for me and my team."

Jake Weimer Speaks…

"I hate losing and I lost tonight, but I have the points lead and am thankful for everyone that has helped me get here," said Weimer.

Last season at Qualcomm Stadium, San Manuel Yamaha’s James Stewart extended his winning streak to six races and completely expunged the 23-point deficit from the season start at Anaheim. In the AMA Supercross Lites class, it was Dungey who reclaimed the Western Regional championship points lead with his third win of the season which was complimented by him leading every lap of the main event.

SPEED will air the AMA Supercross Lites class race on Sunday, February 7 at Noon EST while coverage of the AMA Supercross class follows at 1:00 p.m. EST.

Past AMA Supercross Winners in San Diego
February 14, 2009: James Stewart
February 9. 2008: Chad Reed
February 17, 2007: Chad Reed
February 11, 2006: James Stewart
February 19, 2005: Chad Reed
January 24, 2004: Chad Reed
February 08, 2003: Chad Reed
January 12, 2002: David Vuillemin
January 13, 2001: Ricky Carmichael
January 22, 2000: David Vuillemin
January 16, 1999: Ezra Lusk
February 07, 1998: Jeremy McGrath
February 10, 1996: Jeremy McGrath
February 11, 1995: Jeremy McGrath
February 05, 1994: Jeremy McGrath
February 06, 1993: Jeremy McGrath
February 08, 1992: Damon Bradshaw
February 09, 1991: Jean-Michael Bayle
February 10, 1990: Jeff Stanton
February 11, 1989: Rick Johnson
February 14, 1987: Rick Johnson
February 08, 1986: Rick Johnson
January 26, 1985: Johnny O’ Mara
November 16, 1982: Broc Glover
November 14, 1981: Broc Glover
October 25, 1980: Mike Bell

Past AMA Supercross Lites Winners in San Diego
February 14, 2009: Ryan Dungey
February 9, 2008: Jason Lawrence
February 17, 2007: Ryan Villopoto
February 11, 2006: Andrew Short
February 19, 2005: Nathan Ramsey
January 24, 2004: Ivan Tedesco
February 08, 2003: James Stewart
January 12, 2002: James Stewart
January 13, 2001: Justin Buckelew
January 22, 2000: Greg Schnell
January 16, 1999: Casey Johnson
February 07, 1998: John Dowd
February 10, 1996: Jeff Willoh
February 11, 1995: Damon Huffman
February 05, 1994: Ryan Hughes
February 06, 1993: Mickael Pichon
February 08, 1992: Jeremy McGrath
February 09, 1991: Jeremy McGrath
February 10, 1990: Ty Davis
February 11, 1989: Jeff Matiasevich
February 14, 1987: Kyle Lewis
February 08, 1986: Donny Schmit
January 26, 1985: Todd Campbell