2016 E. Rutherford Supercross Results | Roczen Wins Race, Dungey Title

2016 E. Rutherford Supercross Results - Ryan Dungey
KTM's Ryan Dungey

2016 E. Rutherford Supercross Results and Coverage |
Big Night for Dungey, Roczen

2016 E. Rutherford Supercross Results - Dungey Championship
Red Bull KTM Team

Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey finished in 4th place in the Main Event at Round 15 of the Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey, but it was enough to seal the deal on his third 450SX title. Dungey’s streak of 31 consecutive podium finishes dating back to the beginning of the 2015 season came to an end as Dungey clinched his second Supercross 450SX championship in two years.

“Obviously 4th place isn’t the goal, but the championship is, and it’s nice to have a little cushion and wrap it up a round early,” Dungey said. There is one round remaining in the championship.

2016 E. Rutherford Supercross Results - Ken Roczen
Suzuki’s Ken Roczen

However, it was Soaring Eagle/Jimmy John’s/Suzuki Factory Racing’s Ken Roczen who grabbed his second victory in a row. Roczen grabbed the SupercrossLive.com Holeshot award and led all 20 laps of the main event to take his ninth career victory, beating runner-up Eli Tomac by almost 20 seconds. Roczen’s race was dominating, as he extended his lead on every one of 20 laps.

“We got the holeshot and put in 20 solid laps. The track was in great condition,” said Roczen. “We did what we have to do and we’ll look ahead to try and get another one next weekend.” As Dungey clinched the Championship, Roczen also clinched 2nd place in the 2016 Monster Energy Supercross 450SX Championship Series. Rockstar Energy/Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Jason Anderson sits 3rd in the standings after finishing 6th in E. Rutherford.

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Eli Tomac came around the first corner in 7th place and made his way up to 5th by Lap 8. Tomac passed BTO Sports/KTM’s Justin Brayton for 4th on Lap 12, and Dungey for 3rd on Lap 16. A lap later, Tomac passed Team Honda HRC’s Cole Seely to take 2nd place for the night. Tomac is 4th in the season standings, and has an outside chance of finishing 3rd on the year, as he sits 23 points behind Anderson.

Seely got off to a great start, running in 2nd for 16 laps until he was passed by Tomac passed him on Lap 16. Dungey dogged Seely for the final four laps, showing Seely a wheel numerous times, but Dungey was never able to pass Seely to keep his podium streak alive.

2016 E. Rutherford Supercross Results - Jason Anderson
Husqvarna’s Jason Anderson

“The podium streak was cool, and I was definitely going after Cole Seely there just to try to get on the podium, but I gave it my best and did what I could, but I wasn’t going to do anything stupid either,” Dungey acknowledged. “It’s been a fight, mentally battling week in and week out, with lots of riders challenging us all season.”

Brayton grabbed 3rd place start, but was passed by Dungey (Lap 8) and Tomac (Lap 12) and settled for 5th. This matched Brayton’s best finish of the year, a 5th at Round 8 in Atlanta. It moves Brayton into 8th in the standings, three points ahead of Team Honda HRC’s Trey Canard, who finished 8th on the night, one spot behind Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin. It was Musquin’s best finish since an injury that forced him to miss the Indianapolis round.

Monster Energy/360Fly/Yamaha Factory Racing’s Chad Reed started strongly, running 4th early on. However, he faded throughout the Main Event and took 9th, one spot ahead of GEICO Honda’s Justin Bogle, who also dropped back after running as high as 7th early in the race.

Benny Bloss, a fill-in rider for the injured Davi Millsaps at BTO Sports/KTM, made his first Main Event of the year and finished 19th.

The 2016 Monster Energy AMA Supercross season concludes next Saturday at Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas.

Photography by Simon Cudby

2016 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Results – Round 16 – East Rutherford, NJ

  1. Ken Roczen – Suzuki RM-Z450
  2. Eli Tomac – Kawasaki KX450F
  3. Cole Seely – Honda CRF450R
  4. Ryan Dungey – KTM 450 SX-F
  5. Justin Brayton – KTM 450 SX-F
  6. Jason Anderson – Husqvarna FC 450
  7. Marvin Musquin– KTM 450 SX-F
  8. Trey Canard – Honda CRF450R
  9. Chad Reed – Yamaha YZ450F
  10. Justin Bogle – Honda CRF450R
  11. Weston Peick – Yamaha YZ450F
  12. Blake Baggett – Suzuki RM-Z450
  13. Broc Tickle – Suzuki RM-Z450
  14. Mike Alessi – Honda CRF450R
  15. Justin Barcia – Yamaha YZ450F
  16. Josh Grant – Kawasaki KX450F
  17. Jake Weimer – Suzuki RM-Z450
  18. Vince Friese – Honda CRF450R
  19. Benny Bloss – KTM 450 SX-F
  20. Nick Wey – Kawasaki KX450F
  21. Nick Schmidt – Suzuki RM-Z450
  22. AJ Catanzaro – Kawasaki KX450F

2016 Monster Energy AMA 450SX Standings (after 16 of 17 rounds)

1. Ryan Dungey, 366 points (8 wins, clinched championship)
2. Ken Roczen, 330 (5 wins, clinched 2nd place in championship)
3. Jason Anderson, 293 (2 wins)
4. Eli Tomac, 270 (1 win)
5. Chad Reed, 232
6. Marvin Musquin, 213
7. Cole Seely, 207
8. Justin Brayton, 186
9. Trey Canard, 183
10. Weston Peick, 125
11. Justin Bogle, 120
12. Mike Alessi, 120
13. Jake Weimer, 119
14. Davi Millsaps, 105
15. Christophe Pourcel, 94
16. Vince Friese, 84
17. Blake Baggett, 71
18. Josh Grant, 69
19. Wil Hahn, 56
20. Broc Tickle, 46

Final 2016 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Round: Sam Boyd Stadium, Las Vegas, May 7
TV Schedule: FS2, 10-11pm, ET, then FS1, 11pm-1am ET