2016 East Rutherford 250SX Results | Stewart Wins Convincingly

2016 East Rutherford Supercross Results and Coverage - Davalos
Husqvarna's Martin Davalos

2016 East Rutherford 250SX Results and Coverage |
Stewart Wins; Has 14-Point Lead

2016 East Rutherford Supercross Results and Coverage - Stewart
GEICO Honda’s Malcolm Stewart

GEICO Honda’s Malcolm Stewart emerged victorious in he penultimate round of the 2016 Monster Energy AMA Supercross 250SX East Region Championship Series at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey.

Starting inside the top five, Stewart made a push to third place on the opening lap and passed Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Tyler Bowers for 2nd on the following lap. Another lap later, Stewart passed Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Martin Davalos for the lead, which Stewart never relinquished. Stewart opened a gap gained about a second every four laps on Davalos, putting Stewart a comfortable five seconds up on Davalos at the finish. The win was Stewarts second of the season, and the third of his career.

“It’s a lot of hard work [during the week] coming into these races. It’s starting to pay off now,” Stewart say. “[My] strategy is to not even focus on the points lead. That’s what I did tonight. Win or lose, I put it all out there [on the track]. It’s definitely better to go [to the last race at Las Vegas] with a 14-point lead instead of a one-point lead, but anything can happen.”

2016 East Rutherford Supercross Results and Coverage - Davalos
Husqvarna’s Martin Davalos

Davalos remained in 2nd place after being passed by Stewart, grabbing his fourth podium of the year. Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha’s Jeremy Martin passed Bowers on Lap 7 and maintained the position through to the finish, rounding out the podium in third place. Bowers started strong, but faded to 6th by the end of the race.

Stewart extended his points lead to 14 points over Yamalube/Star Racing Yamaha’s Aaron Plessinger, who started 15th. Plessinger, who was coming off four consecutive top 5 finishes, battled his way through the field to pass 10 riders an earn a 5th place finish. Martin sits third in the 2016 Monster Energy AMA Supercross 250SX East Region standings, 19 points out of the lead.

Stewart, Plessinger, and Martin are the only riders with a mathematical shot at the 250SX East championship heading into the final race next weekend at Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas, when the Eastern Regional Championship and Western Regional Championship converge in a head-to-head battle to crown a champion in each region.

Yamalube/Star Racing Yamaha’s Cooper Webb leads the 250SX West championship series going into the final round in Las Vegas, and has a 16-point lead over Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Joey Savatgy and a 23-point advantage over GEICO Honda’s Christian Craig, the only two riders with a shot at beating Webb for the 250SX West title.

Photography by Simon Cudby

Final 2016 Monster Energy AMA Supercross 250SX East Round: Sam Boyd Stadium, Las Vegas, May 7
TV Schedule: FS2, 10-11pm, ET, then FS1, 11pm-1am ET

Monster Energy AMA Supercross 250SX East Region Results – Round 16 – MetLife Stadium, East Rutherford, NJ

  1. Malcolm Stewart – Honda CRF250R
  2. Martin Davalos – Husqvarna FC 250
  3. Jeremy Martin – Yamaha YZ250F
  4. Shane McElrath – KTM 250SX-F
  5. Aaron Plessinger – Yamaha YZ250F
  6. Tyler Bowers – Kawasaki KX250F
  7. Gannon Audette – Kawasaki KX250F
  8. Dakota Alix – KTM 250SX-F
  9. Luke Renzland – Yamaha YZ250F
  10. Cedric Soubeyras – Kawasaki KX250F
  11. Matt Bisceglia – Suzuki RM-Z250
  12. RJ Hampshire – Honda CRF250R
  13. Anthony Rodriguez – Kawasaki KX250F
  14. Alex Frye – KTM 250SX-F
  15. Darryn Durham – Yamaha YZ250F
  16. Jimmy Albertson – Suzuki RM-Z250
  17. Justin Starling – Kawasaki KX250F
  18. Jacob Williamson – Kawasaki KX250F
  19. Daniel Herrlein – Honda CRF250R
  20. Paul Coates – Honda CRF250R
  21. John Short – Yamaha YZ250F
  22. Lane Staley – KTM 250SX-F

Monster Energy AMA Supercross 250SX East Region Standings (after 8 rounds of 9)

  1. Malcolm Stewart, 160 points (2 wins)
  2. Aaron Plessinger, 146 (1 win)
  3. Jeremy Martin, 141 (2 wins)
  4. Martin Davalos, 130 (2 wins)
  5. Shane McElrath, 109
  6. Tyler Bowers, 108
  7. Gannon Audette, 105
  8. RJ Hampshire, 99
  9. Anthony Rodriguez, 78
  10. Matt Bisceglia, 68
  11. Justin Hill, 63
  12. Paul Coates, 58
  13. Alex Frye, 56
  14. Cedric Soubeyras, 52
  15. Dakota Alix, 50
  16. Justin Starling, 48
  17. Benny Bloss, 46
  18. Jess Wentland, 41
  19. Luke Rezland, 36
  20. Jimmy Albertson, 31


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.