Dakar Rally 2016 Stage 10 Results

Dakar Rally 2016 Stage 10 Results | Svitko Earns Debut Victory
Stefan Svitko wins Dakar Rally 2016 Stage 10

Competing in his seventh Dakar Rally, Stefan Svitko of Slovenia secured his first-ever stage win Wednesday after a dominating performance in stage 10.

The second half of the second marathon stage took riders for a total of 348 miles, and a timed special of 152 miles (cut short due to thunderstorms). Svitko finished the special in 4 hours, 2 minutes and 23 seconds. Finishing nearly 3 minutes behind was Honda’s Kevin Benavides of Argentina.

“There are three more stages before the end but I’m very happy with the classification. I didn’t expect that,” Svitko says.

The final podium of Dakar Rally 2016 Stage 10 went to five-time stage winner Toby Price; the Red Bull KTM 450 Rally pilot of Australia continues as overall leader, just over 23 minutes ahead of Svitko. In third, 34 behind, is Team HRC Honda’s Paulo Goncalves.

“Today was really good. I backed it off a bit to make sure we didn’t make any mistakes and I hit all my waypoints with a big smile on my face. There were no problems, no dramas. It was a strong day and now we just have to try to manage it (the rally) now until the end,” Price says.

The Dakar Rally 2016 continues on Thursday from La Rioja to San Juan over another 442 miles, the longest stage of this year’s edition. This year’s Dakar finishes in Rosario on Saturday.

Dakar Rally 2016 Stage 10 Results:

1. Stefan Svitko (SVK), KTM, 4 hours 2 minutes 23 seconds
2, Kevin Benavides (ARG), + 2 minutes 54 seconds
3. Toby Price (AUS), KTM, + 5.47
4. Paolo Goncalves (POR), Honda + 6.01
5. Antoine Meo (FRA), KTM, +7.43

Dakar Rally 2016 Overall Standings:

1. Price, KTM 34 hours 49 minutes 4 seconds
2. Svitko, KTM + 23.12
3. Paolo Goncalves (POR), Honda, + 34:15
4. Pablo Quintanilla (CHI), Husqvarna, + 42.49
5. Meo, KTM + 44.05