2015 Spring Creek 250 Motocross Results | Webb is Back

2015 Spring Creek 250 Motocross Results | Webb is Back
Yamaha's Cody Webb

2015 Spring Creek 250 Motocross Results

2015 Spring Creek 250 Motocross Results | Webb is Back
Yamaha’s Cody Webb

Round eight of the 2015 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship headed to Millville, Minn., a home track of 250-class leader Jeremy Martin. But although the Yamalube/Star Racing Yamaha pilot missed out on back-to-back victories at 2015 Spring Creek Motocross, he finished second overall with a 3-1. This allowed the Yamaha YZ250F pilot to retain the points lead.

Taking the win at 2015 Spring Creek 250 Motocross – his first overall victory of 2015 Motocross – was Martin’s teammate Cooper Webb, who has dealt with injury all season.

Martin laid down the fastest timed practice lap to earn the Bud Light Fastest Qualifier, but it was GEICO Honda’s RJ Hampshire that emerged with the Motosport.com Holeshot Award in the opening moto ahead of Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin and CycleTrader.com/Rock River Yamaha’s Alex Martin.

Musquin lost control of his motorcycle on the opening lap and cut across the track in front of Martin, sending him to the ground and back to 10th. Musquin, who entered the afternoon seven points out of championship lead, continued and eventually took over the lead from Hampshire on Lap 1.

Behind the fight up front at 2015 Spring Creek Motocross the Star Yamaha duo of Martin and Webb were battling their way forward from fifth and sixth-place starts. Webb showed impressive pace early and was able to pass his teammate, setting his sights on the lead. As Musquin came to complete Lap 2, he crashed and took a lengthy amount of time to get back into action, eventually re-entering in 10th.

That misfortune handed the lead back to Hampshire, but the hard-charging Webb was able to assume control of the moto the following lap, bringing Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Joey Savatgy with him into second. Webb quickly opened a multiple-second lead that remained through the entirety of the moto, while Savatgy eventually was forced to deal with pressure from Martin, who took about half of the race to get going.

Webb backed off in the closing laps to take his first moto win of the season by 1.860 seconds ahead of Savatgy, who survived an all out attack from Martin for several laps at 2015 Spring Creek 250 Motocross. Martin rounded out the podium in third, with a broken clutch hindering his late charge on Savatgy. Alex Martin recovered to finish fourth, with Hampshire fifth. Musquin endured more misfortune and eventually finished eighth, losing valuable championship points.

2015 Spring Creek 250 Motocross Results | Webb is Back Jeremy Martin
Yamaha’s Jeremy Martin

Needing a win to have a shot at the overall at the track owned by his parents, Jeremy Martin seized control of Moto 2 right out of the gate by grabbing the Motosport.com Holeshot Award ahead of Webb and Savatgy. His torrid pace at the start allowed him to move out to a comfortable lead, while Webb settled into second knowing it would earn him the overall win. The lead duo checked out on the field, leaving the battle for third between Savatgy and Musquin. In an effort to minimize the damage done in the point standings, Musquin passed Savatgy on Lap 4 to move into podium position, which he maintained.

Martin decimated the field with a wire-to-wire moto win, 25.182 seconds ahead of Webb. Musquin finished third, with Savatgy fourth and GEICO Honda’s Jordon Smith recording a career-best finish in fifth.

Webb’s 1-2 moto finishes at 2015 Spring Creek 250 Motocross edged out Martin’s 3-1 effort, with Webb becoming the first rider other than Martin or Musquin to claim an overall victory this season. It was the second overall victory of his career. Savatgy finished third (2-4), while Musquin’s podium effort in the final moto landed him fourth (8-3).

“The day went really good for me. I just felt solid all day,” said Webb, who missed four rounds earlier this season with an ankle injury. “I didn’t get a great start in the first moto, but I was able to make some passes and pull away once I got into the lead. I got a better start in the second moto, but it was behind Jeremy [Martin] and I know he was motivated [to win]. I knew 1-2 [finishes] would get the job done [for the overall] and since I’m not in the points chase it was important to play it smart.”

Martin, who entered 2015 Spring Creek 250 Motocross seven points ahead of Musquin, extended his points lead to a double-digit margin of 19 with four rounds remaining. Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Zach Osborne, who finished fifth overall (7-7), sits third, 108 points back.

“The day started off really good. It’s always nice to be home. They some home is where the heart is and that’s definitely how I feel when I’m here,” said Martin. “The first moto was good, but I missed a shift and that allowed them to gap me. Then a bolt came out of my clutch so I had to learn how to ride without it. It took some time for me to figure it out, but I put in a push on the last lap where we just missed out on second. In the second moto I got the start I needed and was able to just ride my own race and pull away.”

The Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship continues next Saturday, July 25, with the Peterson CAT Washougal National. Washougal MX Park in Washougal, Washington will host the ninth stop of the 12-round championship.

2015 Spring Creek Motocross 250 Results (Moto Finish)

  1. Cooper Webb, Newport, N.C., Yamaha (1-2)
  2. Jeremy Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha (3-1)
  3. Joey Savatgy, Thomasville, Georgia, Kawasaki (2-4)
  4. Marvin Musquin, France, KTM (8-3)
  5. Zach Osborne, Abingdon, Va., Husqvarna (7-7)
  6. Aaron Plessinger, Hamilton, Ohio, Yamaha (6-9)
  7. Jordon Smith, Belmont, N.C., Honda (12-5)
  8. Shane McElrath, Canton, N.C., KTM (11-6)
  9. RJ Hampshire, Hudson, Fla., Honda (5-12)
  10. Alex Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha (4-14)

250 Class Championship Standings:

  1. Jeremy Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha, 343
  2. Marvin Musquin, France, KTM, 324
  3. Zach Osborne, Abingdon, Va., Husqvarna, 235
  4. Joey Savatgy, Thomasville, Ga., Kawasaki, 231
  5. Alex Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha, 213
  6. Jessy Nelson, Paso Robles, Calif., KTM, 205
  7. Adam Cianciarulo, Port Orange, Fla., Kawasaki, 178
  8. Aaron Plessinger, Hamilton, Ohio, Yamaha, 169
  9. Matt Bisceglia, Tualatin, Ore., Honda, 163
  10. Jordon Smith, Belmont, N.C., Honda, 157


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.