Musquin Takes Easy Indy 250SX Win | Supercross Results and Coverage

Musquin Takes Easy Indy 250SX Win | Supercross Results and Coverage
KTM's Marvin Musquin
Musquin Takes Easy Indy 250SX Win | Supercross Results and Coverage
KTM’s Marvin Musquin

The fifth round of the 250SX East Monster Energy Supercross series took place at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, Indiana. The big question on everyone’s mind was whether or not Justin Bogle or Jeremy Martin could stop Marvin Musquin’s two-race win streak.

The big story and surprise of the night turned out to be Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha’s Jeremy Martin failing to qualify for the main event.

The YZ250F pilot crashed early in his Heat hitting his head hard. Martin managed to remount, but on the last lap was pushed off the track by Australian Taylor Potter as the two battled for the final transfer spot. In the LCQ, Martin crashed in the whoops and finished eighth, four spots out of a transfer position. Sitting out the Main, Martin drops to third in the standings, 37 points behind leader Musquin.

Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin began the race in second place and wasted no time passing Rockstar Energy Husqvarna’s Martin Davalos on the second lap. From there, the Frenchman rode his 250 SX-F to a flawless and unchallenged race to take his fourth victory in five starts this season (he took second at Atlanta 1).

“It looks like it was a crazy race behind me,” Musquin observed. “I got into the lead pretty quick and I was really happy about my riding. I made some passes really quick and I adapted to the track pretty quickly as well. I was able to find different lines. The track was technical and kind of dangerous.”

GEICO Honda’s Justin Bogle got a great start and was credited with the holeshot. However, Davalos was able to make his way into the lead in the second corner. Bogle was also passed by Musquin in the same corner as well. While running in second place on lap eight, the reigning 250SX East Champion crashed after squaring up a right-hand corner too quickly. Losing control of his CRF250R in the following rhythm section resulted in a crash.

Jordon Smith 250SX East
Jordon Smith at Indy Supercross

Uninjured, and holding a commanding lead over RJ Hampshire, Bogle and was able to remount his machine without losing a position and finish on the second step of the podium. With four rounds remaining, Bogle trails Musquin by 16 points in the Eastern Regional 250SX title chase.

GEICO Honda rookie RJ Hampshire put in his best result of his young career with a third place finish at Lucas Oil Stadium. He started the race in fifth place and was able to pass Davalos and Smartop/Motoconcepts Racing’s Vince Friese by Lap 8 to make his way into third, where he remained for the duration of the race. “I came into the season with the goal of making every Main Event,” Hampshire said, “so to be on the podium is a great accomplishment. I’m very excited and it was a great night for me.”

The other GEICO Honda rookie, Jordon Smith, also put in his best finish so far this season (Indy was only his third start) with a fourth place. Smith didn’t make it easy for himself, as he came around the first corner in 16th place. Smith battled with Gurrnaid Energy/Rocket Exhaust’s Kyle Cunningham and Kyle Peters for several laps and made his way past several other riders to break into the Top 5.

Cunningham came around the first corner in 10th place and passed several riders including ARMA Energy/’s Mitchell Oldenburg and Friese. The veteran rider from Texas laid down several solid laps to take his first top five finish of the season.

Riverside Harley Davidson/Trail Jesters/South of the Border/Ryno Power/Dedicated Ride Company’s Jimmy Decotis, Cunningham, Peters, Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha’s Anthony Rodriguez, and’s Colt Nichols rounded out the Top 10.

Honda dominated the results, with nine of the Top 10 finshers riding CRF250Rs.

2015 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Eastern Regional 250SX Results – Round 5 – Indianapolis
1. Marvin Musquin – KTM 250SX-F Factory Edition
2. Justin Bogle – Honda CRF250R
3. RJ Hampshire – Honda CRF250R
4. Jordon Smith – Honda CRF250R
5. Kyle Cunningham – Honda CRF250R
6. Jimmy Decotis – Honda CRF250R
7. Kyle Peters – Honda CRF250R
8. Colt Nichols – Honda CRF250R
9. Vince Friese – Honda CRF250R
10. Jace Owen – Honda CRF250R
11. Luke Renzland – Yamaha YZ250F
12. Gannon Audette – Kawasaki KX250F
13. Mitchell Oldenburg – Yamaha YZ250F
14. Justin Starling – Yamaha YZ250F
15. Martin Davalos – Husqvarna FC250
16. Anthony Rodriguez – Yamaha YZ250F
17. Daniel Herrlein – Honda CRF250R
18. Taylor Potter – Honda CRF250R
19. Logan Karnow – Honda CRF250R
20. Joey Savatgy – Kawasaki KX250F
21. Nick Gaines – Kawasaki KX250F
22. Dakota Alix – KTM 250SX-F

2015 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Eastern Regional 250SX Season Standings (after 5 of 9 rounds)
1. Marvin Musquin, 122 points
2. Justin Bogle, 106
3. Jeremy Martin, 85
4. RJ Hampshire, 74
5. Joey Savatgy, 73
6. Martin Davalos, 62
7. Vince Friese, 58
8. James Decotis, 57
9. Kyle Peters, 57
10. Anthony Rodriguez, 52