Motorcycle Racing News AMA Supercross/Motocross Dungey Wins Indy Supercross | 5th Win in 2015

Dungey Wins Indy Supercross | 5th Win in 2015

Dungey Wins Indy Supercross | 5th Win in 2015
KTM’s Ryan Dungey

The 11th round of the Monster Energy AMA Supercross series took place at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, Indiana. After the motocross-style track at Daytona the previous weekend, the riders were faced with a highly technical Supercross track, which proved to be challenging for several top riders.

Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey started the race in second place behind BTO Sports/KTM’s Andrew Short, who grabbed the holeshot. Dungey made his way around Short a few corners later and led the rest of the race to take his fifth win of 2015.

“Every race is important,” said Dungey. “We are taking it one at a time, which is easier said than done, as it’s a long series. You can’t get too far ahead of yourself and you don’t want to go backwards either. The track was tough today. The reason that I say that is because in practice, everyone was so close. We were all running the same pace. It was going to take something more to open up the lead if we got the holeshot.” Dungey leads second place Trey Canard in the series by 45 points with six rounds remaining.

Team Honda rookie Cole Seely put in his best finish of the season and his 450SX career with a second place at Lucas Oil Stadium. The Southern California rider came around the first few corners in third place and made his way around Short to take control of second place. Seely remained behind Dungey for the rest of the race and never challenged the series leader. “I thought I would have something for Ryan [Dungey] tonight,” Seely said, “but I dropped back a bit, but I will take a second place.”

Team Honda’s Trey Canard came into the first corner in 11th place and had to make his way through the field to earn a spot on the podium. Canard battled with Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Davi Millsaps for a few laps early on to make his way into fifth place. From there, Canard went after AutoTrader/Toyota/JGRMX Yamaha’s Weston Peick, who he passed on Lap 10 after nearly clipping Peick’s rear tire when Peick unexpectedly flew across Canard’s CRF450R’s bow over a triple. Canard stayed in third place for the remaining 10 laps of the race to secure his podium finish.

KTM's Andrew Short at Indy
BTO Sports’ Andrew Short at Indianapolis Supercross

Peick proved once again that he belongs up front with a solid fourth place finish at Indianapolis. The YZ450F rider came around the first few corners in eighth place and picked off several riders including TwoTwo Motorsport’s Chad Reed, TwoTwo Motorsport’s Josh Grant, and his teammate Phil Nicoletti. He was passed by Canard on Lap 10, which put him in fourth place to the end.

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Davi Millsaps put in his best ride of the season since a fifth in Phoenix with a fifth place result at Lucas Oil Stadium. The KX450F rider came around the second corner in tenth place and made his way into fifth place by lap five, where he remained for the rest of the race.

Short, Grant, RCH/Soaring Eagle/Jimmy Johns/Dodge/Suzuki Factory Racing’s Broc Tickle, Reed, and Team Tedder/Monster Energy/Kawasaki’s Jake Weimer rounded out the Top 10. Grant’s seventh is his best finish of the season, and Weimer’s tenth is his best since a ninth in Phoenix. Reed went down in the second corner, and battled back from last to make the Top 10.

After achieving the best result of his rookie 450SX career last weekend in Daytona with a third, Yoshimura Suzuki Factory Racing’s Blake Baggett made an unforced error and crashed in a right-hand corner. Baggett trapped under his Suzuki RM-Z450 until track workers extracted him. After remounting, Baggett was buried far in the pack and could only salvage a 15th place result, two spots ahead of fellow rookie Rockstar Energy/Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Jason Anderson who went down on Laps 5 and 8 on his FC 450.

GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac caught a Tuff Block and crashed while running in fourth place on the second lap. Tomac had a difficult time recovering from the mistake and was only able to make his way up to 11th place at the end of the 20-lap race after shadowing (and finally passing) Dungey for eight laps.

Photography by Simon Cudby

2015 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Results – Round 11 – Indianapolis

1. Ryan Dungey – KTM 450 SX-F Factory Edition

2. Cole Seely – Honda CRF450R

3. Trey Canard – Honda CRF450R

4. Weston Peick – Yamaha YZ450F

5. Davi Millsaps – Kawasaki KX450F

6. Andrew Short – KTM 450 SX-F Factory Edition

7. Josh Grant – Kawasaki KX450F

8. Broc Tickle – Suzuki RM-Z-450

9. Chad Reed – Kawasaki KX450F

10. Jake Weimer – Kawasaki KX450F

11. Eli Tomac – Honda CRF450R

12. Kyle Chisholm – Kawasaki KX450F

13. Phil Nicoletti – Yamaha YZ450F

14. Nick Wey – Kawasaki KX450F

15. Blake Baggett – Suzuki RM-Z450

16. Kyle Partridge – Honda CRF450R

17. Jason Anderson – Husqvarna FC 450

18. Tony Archer – Kawasaki KX450F

19. Ben Lamay – Husqvarna FC 450

20. Killian Rusk – Yamaha YZ450F

21. Adam Enticknap – Honda CRF450R

22. Dustin Pipes – Suzuki RM-Z450

2015 Monster Energy AMA Supercross 450SX Class Season Standings (after 11 of 17 rounds)

1. Ryan Dungey, 249 points

2. Trey Canard, 204

3. Eli Tomac, 169

4. Cole Seely, 160

5. Ken Roczen, 156

6. Chad Reed, 152

7. Jason Anderson, 144

8. Blake Baggett, 141

9. Andrew Short, 124

10. Broc Tickle, 120

2020 Salt Lake City 1 Supercross Preview: Racing Returns May 31

After a long break from racing due to the government response to the COVID-19 virus, the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series is back....

2021 Beta RR 2-Stroke Off-Road Line-Up First Look

For 2021, Beta is continuing to offer four two-stroke off-road RR models ranging from the agile 125 RR to the torquey 300 RR. There...

2020 Ducati Custom Rumble Winner Crowned: Scrambler 1100 FT

The third Ducati Custom Rumble competition between builders of custom Ducati Scramblers has a winner—Marco Graziani of CC-Racing Garage. Entered in the Bully category,...

Ducati Team Signs Jack Miller for MotoGP in 2021

Before a MotoGP race has been run in 2020, the Ducati Team has signed Jack Miller for its 2021 MotoGP factory squad. Miller, 25,...

Lieback’s Lounge: Rookie Mistakes & Homemade Gaskets

There was a vague smell of gas, but I thought nothing of it. That changed quickly about 50 miles into a 200-mile ride after fueling...

Emula Concept First Look: With 2electron McFly Technology

One of the prime complaints many motorcyclists have about electric motorcycles is that they don’t deliver the visceral experience that comes from an internal...