2015 Atlanta 1 250 Supercross Results | Martin Earns Win #1

2015 Atlanta 1 250 Supercross Results | Martin Earns Win #1
Yamaha's Jeremy Martin
2015 Atlanta 1 250 Supercross Results | Martin Earns Win #1
Yamaha’s Jeremy Martin

The second round of the 250 East Region Monster Energy Supercross series visited Atlanta, Georgia for the first of two back-to-back weekends of racing in the Georgia Dome. The red Georgia clay was shaped into a technical track and featured a double-lane whoop section, which made for a great night of action packed racing.

Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha rider Jeremy Martin took his first win of the season after coming through the pack after a sixth-place start. He quickly made passes on Matt Lemoine and Vince Friese to move himself into fourth place by lap four.

From there, he pursued Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin, who he passed over a triple jump when Musquin had to double one of the triple jumps. He then put a block pass on Rockstar Energy Husqvarna’s Martin Davalos and went after race leader, Geico Honda’s Justin Bogle – the reigning 250SX East Champion.

With three laps to go, he clicked his Yamaha YZ250F into another gear and blew by Bogle while in the same lane of the two-lane whoop section. From there, he rode flawlessly for the remainder of the race to take his first-ever career 250SX class victory.

Red Bull KTM's Marvin Musquin, Atlanta 1 250SX
KTM’s Marvin Musquin

After failing to qualify for the first two Main Events last season during his rookie year, Martin was ecstatic about his race win and to move into second place in the championship point standings. “What a great night for me and my team,” said Martin. “That was an amazing, crazy race, and I am looking forward to coming back here next weekend.”

Musquin put his KTM 250 SX-F Factory Edition into second place in the Main Event after a crash in his heat race. The French rider came around the first few corners in fifth place and quickly made his way past Matt Lemoine and Vince Friese by the beginning of lap three.

He tripled passed Davalos in one of the technical rhythm sections with five laps to go and passed Justin Bogle in the same section of the track three laps later. His second place finish enabled him to maintain first place in the point standings and wear the red plate going into the second Atlanta race next weekend. “I went down in my Heat Race tonight, so I am glad to have bounced back and land on the podium tonight,” said Musquin. “I am glad to be able to come back here next weekend with the points lead.”

Bogle found himself in 2nd place on the first lap of the Main Event and made his way past Davalos to take the lead at the end of lap nine. However, his lead was short-lived as Martin flew by him in the whoop section and Musquin passed him after he was unable to triple coming out of a tight corner. His third-place finish puts him back to third place in the point standings, one point behind Martin.

GEICO Honda's Justin Bogle, Atlanta 1 250SXSX
Honda’s Justin Bogle

Fourth-place finisher was Martin Davalos. The veteran grabbed the holeshot and led nine laps of the race before being passed by Bogle, Musquin, and Martin. He sits in fifth place in the point standings after two rounds.

Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Joey Savatgy finished fifth place in his home state race. The Kawasaki KX-250F rider came around the first corner in ninth place and made his way past Dakota Alix, Kyle Peters, and Matt Lemoine to take his second top five finish of the season.

Smartop/Motoconcepts Racing’s Vince Friese, JAB Motorsport Kawasaki’s Matt Lemoine, Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha’s Anthony Rodriguez, GEICO Honda’s RJ Hampshire, and Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Arnaud Tonus rounded out the top ten, respectively.

Photography by Simon Cudby

2015 Altanta 1 250 Supercross Results – Round 2 East, Atlanta

1. Jeremy Martin – Yamaha YZ250F
2. Marvin Musquin – KTM 250 SX-F Factory Edition
3. Justin Bogle – Honda CRF250R
4. Martin Davalos – Husqvarna FC250
5. Joey Savatgy – Kawasaki KX250F
6. Vince Friese – Honda CRF250R
7. Matt Lemoine – Kawasaki KX250F
8. Anthony Rodriguez – Yamaha YZ250F
9. RJ Hampshire – Honda CRF250R
10. Arnaud Tonus – Kawasaki KX250F
11. Mitchell Oldenburg – Yamaha YZ250F
12. Gannon Audette – Kawasaki KX250F
13. Kyle Peters – Honda CRF250R
14. Dakota Alix – KTM 250SX-F
15. Brady Kiesel – Honda CRF250R
16. Jimmy Decotis – Honda CRF250R
17. Nick Gaines – Kawasaki KX250F
18. Justin Starling – Yamaha YZ250F
19. Jace Owen – Honda CRF250R
20. Daniel Herrlein – Honda CRF250R
21. Levi Kilbarger – Yamaha YZ250F
22. Zack Williams – Honda CRF250




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.