2014 Motegi Moto2 Results

2014 Motegi Moto2 Results
Start of 2014 Motegi Moto2

2014 Motegi Moto2 Results

Spoiler Alert: 2014 Moto2 Championship results from the Grand Prix of Japan at Twin Ring Motegi listed below.

Heading into the 15th round of the Moto2 World Championship, Thomas Luthi (Interwetten Sitag) was in fifth place in the standings. Luthi had a statistical chance at the title, but it was a long shot.

Also, with Maverick Viñales (Paginas Amarillas HP 40), Esteve Rabat (SPA) and Mika Kallio (FIN) (both Marc VDS Racing Team) all charging hard in recent rounds, Luthi may not have been considered a favorite to win at Motegi. But, win he did.

Viñales finished second, 1.209 seconds behind Luthi with points leader, Esteve Rabat completed the podium finishing 3.631 seconds behind Viñales.

Johann Zarco (AirAsia Caterham) finished fourth, 7.797 seconds behind Luthi. Kallio, currently second in the points, finished fifth.

Julian Simon (Italtrans Racing Team) came in sixth, ahead of seventh place Franco Morbidelli (ITA Italtrans Racing Team), Hafizh Syahrin (Petronas Raceline Malaysia) who placed eighth, with Ricard Cardus (Tech 3) and Xavier Simeon (Federal Oil Gresini Moto2) rounding out the top ten.

With these results, Rabat stretched his lead over Kallio (294 to 256) to 38 points, so it appears time may be running out for Kallio to overtake Rabat.

Viñales remains in third place with 224 points. Dominique Aegerter (SWI) (Technomag carXpert) is in fourth place, despite his 18t-place finish at Motegi, with 143 points, and the victor Luthi remained in fifth place overall, but closed to within two points of Aegerter.

The Moto2 series takes no break and heads directly to the Tissot Australian Grand Prix at the Phillip Island Circuit on October 19.

2014 Motegi Moto2 Results:

12512Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten SitagSuter154.642’50.219
22040Maverick VIÑALESSPAPaginas Amarillas HP 40Kalex154.5+1.209
31653Esteve RABATSPAMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex154.4+3.631
4135Johann ZARCOFRAAirAsia CaterhamCaterham Suter154.1+7.797
51136Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex154.1+8.472
61060Julian SIMONSPAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex154.1+8.881
7921Franco MORBIDELLIITAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex153.9+11.203
8855Hafizh SYAHRINMALPetronas Raceline MalaysiaKalex153.6+17.509
9788Ricard CARDUSSPATech 3Tech 3153.5+18.424
10619Xavier SIMEONBELFederal Oil Gresini Moto2Suter153.4+21.192
11581Jordi TORRESSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter153.3+22.646
12494Jonas FOLGERGERAGR TeamKalex153.2+23.303
13330Takaaki NAKAGAMIJPNIDEMITSU Honda Team AsiaKalex153.1+26.077
1428Gino REAGBRAGT REA RacingSuter153.0+26.708
15139Luis SALOMSPAPaginas Amarillas HP 40Kalex152.9+28.921
1696Louis ROSSIFRASAG TeamKalex152.9+29.312
177Lorenzo BALDASSARRIITAGresini Moto2Suter152.8+31.192
1877Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag carXpertSuter152.6+33.956
1914Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAAirAsia CaterhamCaterham Suter152.2+41.606
2020Florian MARINOFRANGM Forward RacingKalex152.1+42.031
214Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIOcto IodaRacing TeamSuter152.1+42.133
2218Nicolas TEROLSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter152.0+44.568
2371Tomoyoshi KOYAMAJPNTeluru Team JiR WebikeNTS151.9+45.571
2425Azlan SHAHMALIDEMITSU Honda Team AsiaKalex151.6+51.944
2510Thitipong WAROKORNTHAAPH PTT The Pizza SAGKalex151.5+52.398
2672Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNMoriwaki RacingMoriwaki151.5+53.160
2797Roman RAMOSSPAQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up151.2+58.088
2870Robin MULHAUSERSWITechnomag carXpertSuter150.7+1’06.689
2923Marcel SCHROTTERGERTech 3Tech 3150.2+1’15.937
3065Chalermpol POLAMAITHASingha Eneos Yamaha Tech 3Tech 3149.8+1’22.685
Not Classified
49Axel PONSSPAAGR TeamKalex153.26 Laps
95Anthony WESTAUSQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up149.610 Laps
54Mattia PASINIITANGM Forward RacingKalex141.812 Laps
11Sandro CORTESEGERDynavolt Intact GPKalex146.416 Laps
22Sam LOWESGBRSpeed UpSpeed Up149.820 Laps
Not Finished 1st Lap
84Riccardo RUSSOITATasca Racing Moto2Suter0 Lap

2014 Moto2 Point Standings:

1Esteve RABATKalexSPA294
2Mika KALLIOKalexFIN256
3Maverick VIÑALESKalexSPA224
4Dominique AEGERTERSuterSWI143
5Thomas LUTHISuterSWI141
6Johann ZARCOCaterham SuterFRA117
7Simone CORSIKalexITA100
9Luis SALOMKalexSPA67
10Sandro CORTESEKalexGER66
11Anthony WESTSpeed UpAUS65
12Marcel SCHROTTERTech 3GER57
13Jonas FOLGERKalexGER52
14Sam LOWESSpeed UpGBR49
15Julian SIMONKalexSPA46
16Xavier SIMEONSuterBEL45
17Jordi TORRESSuterSPA45
18Hafizh SYAHRINKalexMAL42
20Ricard CARDUSTech 3SPA37
21Mattia PASINIKalexITA32
22Axel PONSKalexSPA28
23Takaaki NAKAGAMIKalexJPN27
25Louis ROSSIKalexFRA13
27Gino REASuterGBR7
28Nicolas TEROLSuterSPA2