Motorcycle Racing News Isle of Man TT Anstey Sets Unofficial TT Zero Lap Record in 2nd Qualifying

Anstey Sets Unofficial TT Zero Lap Record in 2nd Qualifying

Anstey Sets Unofficial TT Zero Lap Record in 2nd Qualifying
Muten’s Bruce Anstey

2014 TT Zero Lap Record

Bruce Anstey not only finished just outside the podium in the opening solo race of the 2014 Isle of Man TT – the Dainese TT – he also set a new outright lap record of 132.298 mph (Valvoline Honda CBR1000RR).

And Anstey continued impressing at the second qualifying for the TT Zero on the 37.73-mile Snaefell Mountain Course. Aboard the Muten, the New Zealand pilot posted a 112.355 mph average speed, a new unofficial lap record for the TT class.

His Mugen teammate also took the opportunity for a lap and was marginally outside Michael Rutter’s lap record (109.675) set last year. Robert Wilson (Sarloea Racing), Mark Miller (Vercarmoto) and George Spence (Kingston) also completed electric bike laps this evening.

Earlier in the evening, Clerk of the Course Gary Thompson opted to give the riders a chance to practice on their Superstock machines ahead of Monday’s race as well as their Supersport and Lightweight and a number of riders took up the option.

Guy Martin again emphasised his quality after his Superbike podium with a 127.22 mph lap in the Superstock qualifying while Bruce Anstey, Lee Johnson and Michael Dunlop were all over 126 mph.

In the Lightweight qualifying session Ryan Farquhar was the fastest on the night with a lap of 116.84, still outside Ivan Lintin’s time from Tuesday evening, with Olie Linsdell powering the stunning Paton to a similar speed (116.23).

Gary Johnson posted a pair of quick laps in the Supersport class (125.72 and 125.16) with Josh Brookes, William Dunlop, Ian Hutchinson, MIchael Rutter and Dean Harrison all posting 123mph+ laps

2021 Moto Guzzi V85 TT Lineup First Look: Adventure and Travel

Sporting two touring-oriented ADV motorcycles, the 2021 Moto Guzzi V85 TT lineup returns with some motor and electronics package updates, and a bit more....

2021 American Flat Track Schedule: 17 AFT Rounds Planned

The 2021 American Flat Track schedule has been revealed, and it features 17 rounds running from March to October, and coast-to-coast. There are four...

2021 Aprilia RSV4 and RSV4 Factory First Look (11 Fast Facts)

There are quite a few updates to the 2021 Aprilia RSV4 and RSV4 Factory. None of them are revolutionary. However, taken together, they add...

Honda CRF110F EFI Long-Term Test: 11-Year-Old Tested

When we got a hold of the 2019 Honda CRF110F, we were reluctant to give it back. Test rider Ben Karsian was cutting his...

2021 Moto Guzzi V9 Lineup First Look: Bobber and Roamer Updated

The  Moto Guzzi V9 lineup of the Bobber and Roamer gets a significant update for 2021. There’s a new motor powering the two V9s,...

Tirox SnapJack SS First Look: Motorcycle Chain Maintenance Aid

Although single-sided swingarms are designed to simplify maintenance, if the motorcycle doesn’t have a centerstand, it doesn’t make working on your drive chain any...