Motorcycle Racing News AMA Supercross/Motocross 2014 St. Louis Supercross Results from Edward Jones Dome

2014 St. Louis Supercross Results from Edward Jones Dome

2014 St. Louis Supercross Results

With his win last week at Detroit Supercross, Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart broke his tie with Rick Carmichael for overall wins in the premier (450) class. Following Detroit, the Floridian had 49 wins.

And Stewart added one more Saturday night at St. Louis’ Edward Jones Dome, bringing his tally to 50 wins. He is now 22 away from the all-time record of 72 wins achieved by Jeremy McGrath. The St. Louis Supercross win was also Stewart’s s fifth win of 2014, making him the most successful rider of 2014 after 13 of 17 rounds.

Joining him on the overall St. Louis Supercross podium was three-time SX Champion Ryan Villopoto (Monster Energy Kawasaki) and Justin Barcia (Muscle Milk Honda).

Before over 60,000 fans – a record for Edward Jones Dome – Smartop/Motoconcepts Racing’s Mike Alessi took Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot. Alessi was followed by Villopoto and Stewart, respectively.

Villopoto wasted not time and quickly passed Alessi. He held the lead until lap 10, when Stewart, who had also passed Alessi, took the number-one position. Stewart would hold onto to the lead for his fifth win of 2014 SX.

“This is a special night for me,” said Stewart. “This year I have been having a lot of fun winning races. Tonight was a great race for me; I was able to make the pass and ride to my 50th win. That is huge for me. I never thought I would win 50 of these races.”

With his second-place finish, Villopoto has now earned eight podium finishes this season.

“It’s all about the big picture and the championship for me,” said Villopoto. “I can’t afford to make any big mistakes. I was able to get a good start and put in some good laps early on.”

As for Barcia, it was his third podium of 2014 SX. Finishing fourth was Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen, with Muscle Milk Honda’s Trey Canard in fifth. As for the man who usually finished on the podium, Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey finished ninth. Dungey got off the line in 11th, and made it to fifth by the mid point of the race. But Dungey would crash aboard his KTM SX-F 450, and recover to finish ninth.

With four rounds remaining, Villopoto has the lead with 268 points. Dungey is in second, 25 points behind. With his win, Stewart closed the gap; he is in third, 26 points behind.

Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Martin Davalos led all 15 laps to win the Eastern Regional 250SX Class Main Event and extended his championship points lead to eight.

Davalos jumped out to an early lead to win the Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award. On his back wheel, Yamaha’s Alex Martin and GEICO Honda’s Justin Bogle followed in second and third respectively. On Lap 3, Bogle moved into third as JAB Motorsports’ Matt Lemoine secured third place, Feld Motor Sports says.

Lemoine crashed on Lap 5 and gave up his podium position, allowing GEICO Honda’s Matt Bisceglia to take over third place. Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Blake Baggett used a pass on Lap 7 to secure the number-three position, Feld Motor Sports says.

“This was a tough race tonight,” said Davalos. “Again, the start was key, and I was able to get the early lead and hold on. I want to enjoy this win and go back and keep working hard.

Bogle made a late-race charge on Davalos, but a few mistakes allowed Davalos to score his first win in St. Louis. Bogle finished second and Baggett finished third, Feld Motor Sports says.

“I made some passes and moved into second place but then made a few mistakes,” said Bogle.

Monster Energy Supercross heads to NRG Stadium in Houston for the 14th stop of the 2014 season. The Western Regional 250SX Class Championship will resume as the Eastern Regional 250SX Class Championship takes a break until the first-ever race at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, N.J., April 26.

2014 St. Louis AMA Supercross 450SX Class Results:

1. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Suzuki

2. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki

3. Justin Barcia, Pinetta, Fla., Honda

4. Ken Roczen, Murrieta, Calif., KTM

5. Trey Canard, Edmond, Okla., Honda

6. Eli Tomac, Cortex, Colo., Honda

7. Josh Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Suzuki

8. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM

9. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM

10. Justin Brayton, Yamaha

2014 AMA Supercross 450SX Class Season Standings:

1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 268

2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM, 233

3. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Suzuki, 232

4. Ken Roczen, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 215

5. Justin Brayton, Cornelius, N.C., Yamaha, 196

6. Justin Barcia, Pinetta, Fla., Honda, 176

7. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM, 166

8. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki, 126

9. Wil Hahn, Menifee, Calif., Honda, 122

10. Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Kawasaki, 111

2014 Eastern Regional 250SX Class Results: St. Louis:

1. Martin Davalos, Cairo, Ga., Kawasaki

2. Justin Bogle, Cushing, Okla., Honda

3. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Kawasaki

4. Kyle Cunningham, Aledo, Texas, Honda

5. AJ Catanzaro, Portland, Conn., Honda

6. Cole Thompson, Brigden, Ontario, KTM

7. Matt Bisceglia, Weatherford, Texas, Honda

8. James Decotis, Peabody, Mass., Honda

9. Alex Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha

10. Gannon Audette, Tallahassee, Fla., Kawasaki

Eastern Regional 250SX Class Season Standings:

1. Martin Davalos, Cairo, Ga., Kawasaki, 149

2. Justin Bogle, Cushing, Okla., Honda, 141

3. Adam Cianciarulo, Port Orange, Fla., Kawasaki, 120

4. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., 100

5. Vince Friese, Cape Girardeau, Mo., Honda, 100

6. Kyle Cunningham, Aledo, Texas, Honda, 94

7. Cole Thompson, Brigden, Ontario, KTM, 89

8. James Decotis, Peabody, Mass., Honda, 65

9. Matthew Lemoine, Pilot Point, Texas, Kawasaki, 74

10. Alex Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha, 72

KTM Junior Supercross Challenge:

1. Donavan Hanson, Roland, Iowa, KTM

2. Jacob Snodgrass, Barnhart, Mo., KTM

3. Landon Hartz, Chelsea, Ala., KTM

4. Eli Povolny, Sellersberg, Ind., KTM

5. Aidan Collins, Blanchard, Okla., KTM

6. Noah Smith, Hamilton, Ohio, KTM

7. Michael Derico, Deltona, Fla., KTM

8. Nolan Schweighardt, Lake Mills, Wis., KTM

9. Garrett Ulrey, Boonville, Ind., KTM

10. Grayson Fischer, Verona, ken., KTM

11. Rhett Bates, Lelwona, BC, KTM

12. Connor Capetta, Gibsonia, Pa., KTM

13. Sawyer Jentzsch, Nixa, Mo., KTM

14. Treyton Baldwin, Little Sioux, Iowa, KTM

15. Jayden Fitzgerald, Muskegon, Mich., KTM

2020 Kawasaki Ninja 1000SX Review (21 Fast Facts)

Anyone notice how the sport-touring class of motorcycles has nearly vanished? At one time, even niche manufacturers such as Ducati and Aprilia proffered appealing...

2021 BMW K 1600 GTL First Look (7 Fast Facts from European Sources)

The flagship of BMW tourers—the 2021 BMW K 1600 GTL—has a few deviations from last year. There’s nothing huge, though there are new colors,...

2021 Jack Daniel’s Limited Edition Indian Roadmaster Dark Horse [Debut]

The partnership between Jack Daniel Distillery and Indian Motorcycle continues with the 2021 Jack Daniel’s Limited Edition Roadmaster Dark Horse. As has been done...

Suzuki MX-Tuner 2.0 First Look: Aggressive, Smoother, Richer, and Leaner

Owners of late-model RM-Z motocrossers will rejoice the news of the all-new Suzuki MX-Tuner 2.0 tuning system for their motorcycles. The new system features...

2021 BMW S 1000 XR First Look (5 Fast Facts From Europe)

We just got through testing the BMW S 1000 XR, and now we’re looking at the 2021. Our European sources tell us that there...

Yamaha YDX-Moro and YDX-Moro Pro First Looks (13 Fast Facts)

Yamaha continues to expand its pedal-assist electric bicycle range with the new YDX-Moro and YDX-Moro Pro. Both are designed as off-road capable two-wheelers that...