Community Classic and Custom Motorcycles Troy Bayliss Classic | Host Beats Sammy Halbert to Checkered Flag

Troy Bayliss Classic | Host Beats Sammy Halbert to Checkered Flag

Troy Bayliss leading the Troy Bayliss Classic ahead of America's Sammy Halbert
Troy Bayliss leading the Troy Bayliss Classic ahead of America’s Sammy Halbert

2014 Troy Bayliss Classic Recap

A capacity crowd of over 6,000 people flocked Saturday to Taree Motorcycle Club in Old Bar, Australia, for the second annual Motul Pirelli Troy Bayliss Classic.

And taking victory in the Troy Bayliss Cup? The host himself, three-time World Superbike Champion Troy Bayliss.

The Australian battled with Superpole winner Sammy Halbert over the opening laps of the 21-lap race, before the American Flat-Track Champion bowed out of contention after going down halfway through race.

Bayliss, who recorded the fastest lap of the race with a 21.52 took the checkered flag ahead of 2008 AMA Supermoto Champion Troy Herfoss and 2013 Troy Bayliss Classic winner Michael Kirkness.

Troy Bayliss says: “I am absolutely over the moon with the whole event. When you have a win it is always the icing on the cake. The Americana was great I stuffed that up a little but the crowd love it.

“I hope that with the telecast on Speed and SBS and the coverage will be good for dirt track racing in Australia and also for getting more of the American guys keen to come over here.”

Earlier in the night Halbert took victory in the Americana feature event. The action-packed elimination races saw both Troy Bayliss and Darcy Ward crash out of contention and veteran racer Paul Caslick controversially eliminated for jumping the start.

Sammy Halbert says: “This was a really cool event, it was so great to come here and meet a bunch of famous road, speedway and motocross racers.

“I was happy to be competitive and to be able to battle with Troy for the lead in the Troy Bayliss Cup was special. I took the lead briefly but Troy passed me right back then I was trying to make something happen and slide out in the tight left hand corner.

“The Americana races were really cool on the oval track, it seemed like you could pass more on that than on the TT course. I hope to back next year I had a really good time here.”

Three-time World Speedway Champion Jason Crump took out the Legends award scoring the most points of the 12 Legends that included Jeff Leisk and Chris Watson in the first four rounds of racing.

With the 2014 Motul Pirelli Troy Bayliss Classic run and won Troy Bayliss Events now turns its attention to MOTO EXPO (March 21-23 Brisbane RNA Showgrounds) which includes the Motul Pirelli Baylisstic Scramble (22nd March).

Tickets to MOTO EXPO Brisbane are on sale now via

2019 San Marino MotoGP Results from Misano (Updated)

2019 San Marino MotoGP Results from Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli Though he only led a single lap of 27 during the San Marino Grand...

Valentino Rossi 2019 Misano Helmet Revealed (22 Photos)

Rossi Shows off Drudi-designed AGV Pista GP R at San Marino GP It’s time for the Octo San Marino and Riviera di Rimini Grand Prix,...

2020 Harley-Davidson Low Rider S Review (11 Fast Facts)

2020 Harley-Davidson Low Rider S Review Not seen since the demise of the Dyna line, the Harley-Davidson Low Rider S returns as a Softail with...

2020 Indian Thunder Stroke 116 Lineup First Look (9 Fast Facts)

2020 Indian Thunder Stroke 116 Lineup Revealed The much-rumored Indian Thunder Stroke 116 is here. It will be powering seven 2020 Indian models in the...

2019 Portugal World Superbike Results: Rea/Bautista Split Wins

Kawasaki's Jonathan Rea and Ducati's Alvaro Bautista split wins at the 2019 Portugal World Superbike round, Rea leaving with a 91-point advantage.

AMA Partners with EagleRider: Initiation Fee Waived

A new benefit announced by the American Motorcyclist Association provides members with easy access to the Club EagleRider program.