Mahindra’s Oliveira Takes Debut Moto3 Pole at Assen

Mahindra's Miquel Oliveira
Mahindra's Miquel Oliveira
Mahindra’s Miquel Oliveira

2013 Assen Moto3 Qualifying Results (Dutch TT)

Miguel Oliveira has earned the first Moto3 pole position for Mahindra Racing, having set an identical Assen lap time with Estrella Galicia 0,0’s Alex Marquez just before.

Maverick Viñales will start on the front row for Team Calvo, whereas championship leader Luis Salom held pole until retiring from the session with four minutes to go.

A threat of rain saw the majority of riders streaming out of the pits in the opening moments with the sole aim of posting competitive dry weather lap times. No showers would come during the session, which resulted in a quiet patch before track activity increased for the final efforts in the closing 15 minutes of the session.

Red Bull KTM Ajo’s championship leader Salom looked to have sealed the top spot, but ran off-track and was unable to restart his KTM. His rivals proceeded to push hard and just thousandths of a second separated those filling places two to five.

Oliveira delivered 1:43.588 before Marquez matched it just seconds later; pole goes to the former – for posting the time first – and he becomes the first Portuguese rider in history to achieve pole position in any of the three classes of the World Championship.

Salom will start fourth and one position behind Viñales, who is his closest title rival, whereas Marquez’s teammate Alex Rins and Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3’s Jonas Folger complete Row 2; incidentally, the German saw one lap being removed for exceeding track limits. On the sidelines, Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Zulfahmi Khairuddin.

2013 Assen Moto3 Qualifying Results:

144Miguel OLIVEIRAPORMahindra RacingMahindra213.41’43.588
212Alex MARQUEZSPAEstrella Galicia 0,0KTM212.11’43.588
325Maverick VIÑALESSPATeam CalvoKTM208.01’43.6490.061 / 0.061
439Luis SALOMSPARed Bull KTM AjoKTM208.41’43.6710.083 / 0.022
542Alex RINSSPAEstrella Galicia 0,0KTM210.41’43.6730.085 / 0.002
694Jonas FOLGERGERMapfre Aspar Team Moto3Kalex KTM206.81’43.9010.313 / 0.228
731Niklas AJOFINAvant TecnoKTM210.91’44.3300.742 / 0.429
832Isaac VIÑALESSPAOngetta-Centro SetaFTR Honda203.11’44.4240.836 / 0.094
961Arthur SISSISAUSRed Bull KTM AjoKTM214.51’44.4700.882 / 0.046
1023Niccolò ANTONELLIITAGO&FUN Gresini Moto3FTR Honda204.91’44.7691.181 / 0.299
1153Jasper IWEMANEDRW Racing GPKalex KTM212.31’44.8121.224 / 0.043
1210Alexis MASBOUFRAOngetta-RivacoldFTR Honda207.71’44.8141.226 / 0.002
1389Alan TECHERFRACIP Moto3TSR Honda206.21’44.8461.258 / 0.032
148Jack MILLERAUSCaretta Technology – RTGFTR Honda206.61’44.9171.329 / 0.071
1577Lorenzo BALDASSARRIITAGO&FUN Gresini Moto3FTR Honda203.91’44.9311.343 / 0.014
1611Livio LOIBELMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex KTM212.81’44.9421.354 / 0.011
177Efren VAZQUEZSPAMahindra RacingMahindra209.41’44.9501.362 / 0.008
1884Jakub KORNFEILCZERedox RW Racing GPKalex KTM209.01’45.0931.505 / 0.143
194Francesco BAGNAIAITASan Carlo Team ItaliaFTR Honda208.71’45.1171.529 / 0.024
2051Bryan SCHOUTENNEDDutch Racing TeamFTR Honda204.91’45.1861.598 / 0.069
2141Brad BINDERRSAAmbrogio RacingSuter Honda204.11’45.2021.614 / 0.016
225Romano FENATIITASan Carlo Team ItaliaFTR Honda206.11’45.2351.647 / 0.033
2319Alessandro TONUCCIITALa Fonte TascaracingFTR Honda207.41’45.2781.690 / 0.043
2417John McPHEEGBRCaretta Technology – RTGFTR Honda210.11’45.3031.715 / 0.025
2565Philipp OETTLGERTec Interwetten Moto3 RacingKalex KTM210.11’45.5261.938 / 0.223
269Toni FINSTERBUSCHGERKiefer RacingKalex KTM206.41’45.5531.965 / 0.027
2757Eric GRANADOBRAMapfre Aspar Team Moto3Kalex KTM209.61’45.6262.038 / 0.073
2829Hyuga WATANABEJPNLa Fonte TascaracingFTR Honda209.31’45.6792.091 / 0.053
2999Danny WEBBGBRAmbrogio RacingSuter Honda204.01’45.7952.207 / 0.116
3022Ana CARRASCOSPATeam CalvoKTM212.51’45.8562.268 / 0.061
313Matteo FERRARIITAOngetta-Centro SetaFTR Honda209.41’46.1252.537 / 0.269
3258Juanfran GUEVARASPACIP Moto3TSR Honda205.31’46.2472.659 / 0.122
3371Thomas VAN LEEUWENNEDRacing Team Van LeeuwenBakker Honda206.81’46.2922.704 / 0.045
3466Florian ALTGERKiefer RacingKalex KTM208.21’46.8973.309 / 0.605