Tuenti HP 40’s Espargaro Achieves 3rd Moto2 Pole at Assen

Tuenti HP 40's Pol Espargaro
Tuenti HP 40's Pol Espargaro
Tuenti HP 40’s Pol Espargaro

2013 Assen Moto2 Qualifying Results

For the third time of the 2013 Moto2 Championship, Tuenti HP 40’s Pol Espargaro achieved pole position.

His latest arrived Saturday ahead of the Iveco TT Assen. Joining Espargaro on the front row will be Came IodaRacing Project’s Johann Zarco and Marc VDS Racing Team’s Moto2 Championship leader Scott Redding.

The historic Assen TT Circuit has already been subject to much rain this weekend, not least Friday morning when the final Moto2 practice session was red flagged for half an hour due to a crash for QMMF Racing’s Rafid Topan Sucipto; the Indonesian rider would go on to qualify at the back of the grid despite an injured left foot.

Espargaro sits second in the riders’ standings to Redding, 35 points in arrears. His second pole in a row and third of the 2013 season came in the form of 1:38.734, edging out Zarco by just over a tenth of a second. Behind Redding, Row 2 is headed up by Espargaro’s teammate Esteve Rabat who suffered a crash during the session.

Xavier Simeon and Anthony West complete the second row for Desguaces La Torre Maptaq and QMMF Racing, respectively, while Row 3 will be occupied by NGM Mobile Racing’s Mattia Pasini, Marc VDS’ Mika Kallio and JiR Moto2’s Mike di Meglio. Independent wildcard Gino Rea will line up 24th.

2013 Assen Moto2 Qualifying Results:

140Pol ESPARGAROSPATuenti HP 40Kalex255.01’38.734
25Johann ZARCOFRACame Iodaracing ProjectSuter249.51’38.8330.099 / 0.099
345Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex242.91’38.8790.145 / 0.046
480Esteve RABATSPATuenti HP 40Kalex249.91’38.9730.239 / 0.094
519Xavier SIMEONBELDesguaces La Torre MaptaqKalex247.81’39.0960.362 / 0.123
695Anthony WESTAUSQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up253.71’39.2720.538 / 0.176
754Mattia PASINIITANGM Mobile RacingSpeed Up252.81’39.2790.545 / 0.007
836Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex248.61’39.2940.560 / 0.015
963Mike DI MEGLIOFRAJiR Moto2Motobi248.31’39.2970.563 / 0.003
1077Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag carXpertSuter250.91’39.3000.566 / 0.003
1111Sandro CORTESEGERDynavolt Intact GPKalex251.61’39.3030.569 / 0.003
123Simone CORSIITANGM Mobile RacingSpeed Up252.61’39.3340.600 / 0.031
1330Takaaki NAKAGAMIJPNItaltrans Racing TeamKalex249.71’39.3620.628 / 0.028
1423Marcel SCHROTTERGERDesguaces La Torre SAGKalex253.91’39.3870.653 / 0.025
1560Julian SIMONSPAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex249.81’39.4140.680 / 0.027
1681Jordi TORRESSPAAspar Team Moto2Suter246.51’39.4820.748 / 0.068
1715Alex DE ANGELISRSMNGM Mobile Forward RacingSpeed Up251.81’39.4880.754 / 0.006
1812Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten Paddock Moto2 RacingSuter253.11’39.5830.849 / 0.095
1996Louis ROSSIFRATech 3Tech 3252.61’39.6600.926 / 0.077
204Randy KRUMMENACHERSWITechnomag carXpertSuter251.21’39.6810.947 / 0.021
2124Toni ELIASSPABlusens AvintiaKalex250.61’39.7030.969 / 0.022
2214Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2Suter253.01’39.7831.049 / 0.080
2388Ricard CARDUSSPANGM Mobile Forward RacingSpeed Up252.61’39.8571.123 / 0.074
248Gino REAGBRGino Rea Race TeamFTR244.21’39.8921.158 / 0.035
2552Danny KENTGBRTech 3Tech 3250.11’39.9281.194 / 0.036
2618Nicolas TEROLSPAAspar Team Moto2Suter252.11’40.0141.280 / 0.086
2749Axel PONSSPATuenti HP 40Kalex252.41’40.2021.468 / 0.188
2844Steven ODENDAALRSAArgiñano & Gines RacingSpeed Up252.91’40.5171.783 / 0.315
2917Alberto MONCAYOSPAArgiñano & Gines RacingSpeed Up250.71’40.7261.992 / 0.209
309Kyle SMITHGBRBlusens AvintiaKalex256.01’40.9212.187 / 0.195
3172Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNIDEMITSU Honda Team AsiaMoriwaki246.91’41.0062.272 / 0.085
327Doni Tata PRADITAINAFederal Oil Gresini Moto2Suter247.51’41.8753.141 / 0.869
3397Rafid Topan SUCIPTOINAQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up243.51’43.8685.134 / 1.993