KTM’s Cairoli Wins Arco di Trento FIM Motocross MX1

Red Bull KTM's Antonio Cairoli at Arco di Trento FIM MX1
Red Bull KTM's Antonio Cairoli at Arco di Trento FIM MX1
Red Bull KTM’s Antonio Cairoli at Arco di Trento FIM MX1

2013 Arco di Trento FIM Motocross World Championship MX1 Results

Round four of the 2013 FIM Motocross World Championship got underway this weekend before 23,000 fans at Arco di Trento in Italy.

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Antonio Cairoli did not have a good day Saturday, but Sunday he was fully focused on his starts, as he knew they were going to be the key to win his home Grand Prix.

The Italian took the holeshot in both heats, winning the Get Athena holeshot award after the first race, and he succeeded in making good laps and controlling the heats until the checkered flag.

Cairoli congratulated the organizers for the great job done especially on the track and he was also very pleased with the big crowd that travelled to Arco di Trento to support him and see him winning his 57th Grand Prix victory. Cairoli has now the same number of GP victories as Smets and in front of him there is only Stefan Everts with 101 GP wins.

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Ken De Dycker did not have a good start in the first race and it was really difficult for him to go up the front, but in the end he managed to finish fourth. In the second race he had a good start and he rode comfortably in second from the beginning until the end to finish second overall of the Grand Prix. At the moment De Dycker is second of the championship six points ahead of Clement Desalle.

Start of Arco di Trento FIM MX1
Start of Arco di Trento FIM MX1

The third overall position was for Kawasaki Racing Team’s Gautier Paulin after finishing second and fourth in today’s races. In the first race Paulin was fifth in the first corner, but he quickly moved up to third and after five laps he could overtake Tommy Searle who was riding second. The French rider tried to close the gap with race leader Cairoli, but he made several mistakes and he finally had to settle down for second. Paulin admitted that his start was not that good in the second race and that he almost crashed, but he gave all his best lap after lap to move from his initial eighteenth position up to fourth, which gave him the third overall position being tight in 40 points with De Dycker.

Rockstar Energy Suzuki World’s Clement Desalle had a very good first race, where he finished third behind Paulin after having started down in the sixth position. The Belgian rider tried to overtake Paulin during the whole race, but in the end he had to settle down with the third position. In the second moto Desalle crashed in the second corner with Tommy Searle and David Philippaerts and he had to restart his race from the last position to finish eighth. In the end, Desalle finished fourth overall of the Grand Prix.

His teammate Kevin Strijbos finished fifth overall just two points behind Desalle. In both heats Strijbos did not have a good start and whereas in the first race he started ninth in the second one he was fourteenth. However, the Rockstar Energy Suzuki World rider managed to get a good speed and he finished sixth and fifth respectively.

Tommy Searle had really good starts today, but in neither of the heats the British rider could keep his initial position. In the first race he rode second behind Cairoli during the first laps, but he could not keep the rhythm and he dropped down to fifth. In the second race Searle started at the front again, but in the second corner he was involved in a crash with Desalle and Philippaerts and had to fight from the back of the pack. Searle did an incredible recovery finishing sixth in the race and also sixth of the Grand Prix.

Max Nagl was seventh overall this weekend and he is getting his confidence back race after race. In the first heat he was only able to finish eleventh, but he did an incredible second moto finishing third ahead of Paulin and Strijbos. Xavier Boog finished eighth overall and Jeremy Van Horebeek and Jonathan Barragan completed the top ten.

Home riders David Philippaerts and Davide Guarneri finished fourteenth and fifteenth respectively. Both riders were touched by bad luck this weekend; while Philippaerts crashed at the start of the second race, Guarneri had to pull out from the second race due to a mechanical problem.

MX1 Race 1 top 10: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 40:31.783; 2. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:03.045; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:04.537; 4. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), +0:41.728; 5. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:46.724; 6. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:50.663; 7. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:56.209; 8. Xavier Boog (FRA, KTM), +0:57.255; 9. Shaun Simpson (GBR, TM), +1:00.618; 10. Davide Guarneri (ITA, KTM), +1:22.412

MX1 Race 2 top 10: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 41:03.682; 2. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), +0:06.931; 3. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Honda), +0:11.561; 4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:17.281; 5. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:18.686; 6. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:31.259; 7. Xavier Boog (FRA, KTM), +0:32.388; 8. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:33.570; 9. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM), +0:41.915; 10. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:45.159

MX1 Overall top 10: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 50 points; 2. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), 40 p.; 3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), 40 p.; 4. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 33 p.; 5. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), 31 p.; 6. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), 31 p.; 7. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Honda), 30 p.; 8. Xavier Boog (FRA, KTM), 27 p.; 9. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, Kawasaki), 25 p.; 10. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM), 20 p.

MX1 Championship top 10: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 192 points; 2. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), 155 p.; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 149 p.; 4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), 148 p.; 5. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), 120 p.; 6. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), 118 p.; 7. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), 89 p.; 8. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 87 p.; 9. Xavier Boog (FRA, KTM), 83 p.; 10. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Honda), 75 p.

MX1 Manufacturers: 1. KTM, 197 points; 2. Suzuki, 157 p.; 3. Kawasaki, 148 p.; 4. Honda, 129 p.; 5. Yamaha, 67 p.; 6. TM, 54 p


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.