2013 Qatar Moto3 | Red Bull KTM’s Salom on Pole

Red Bull AJO's Luis Salom (Moto3)
Red Bull AJO's Luis Salom (Moto3)
Red Bull AJO’s Luis Salom (Moto3)

2013 Qatar Moto3 Qualifying Results

Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Luis Salom will head an all-Spanish front row for the opening Moto3 race of 2013 at Losail International Circuit for the Commercial Bank Grand Prix of Qatar.

The Mallorcan topped Saturday’s qualifying session from Team Calvo’s Maverick Viñales and Estrella Galicia 0,0’s Alex Rins.

Despite no less than 32 bikes in the field and plenty of sand remaining off the racing line at the desert circuit, times continued to tumble and fluctuate across the course of the 40 minutes, as the fight for pole quickly transpired to be between the eventual front row men plus Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3’s Jonas Folger and Mahindra Racing’s Miguel Oliveira.

Returning to the top with two minutes to go, Salom navigated his way around slower runners to go even quicker as the chequered flag flew, sealing pole with a lap time of 2’07.229. This edged out Viñales by a tenth of a second, as he fought through the pain following his testing accident at Jerez, from which the stitches had been removed only two days ago.

Rins had been fastest for much of the session and also sealed his front row spot with a last-gasp effort, moving ahead of Folger as Oliveira returned to the second row and fifth place. Sixth on the grid will be CIP Moto3’s Alan Techer, with the Frenchman having beaten Redox RW Racing GP’s Jakub Kornfeil who heads the third row. Efrén Vázquez and Alex Márquez complete Row 3 for Mahindra and Estrella Galicia respectively, with Australia’s Arthur Sissis rounding out the top ten for Red Bull KTM Ajo.

Further down the field female rider Ana Carrasco impressed by sealing 23rd spot for Team Calvo, despite having missed out on track time for much of the weekend so far due to technical issues.

2013 Qatar Moto3 Qualifying Results:

Pos.Num.RiderNationTeamBikeKm/hTimeGap 1st/Prev.
139Luis SALOMSPARed Bull KTM AjoKTM224.82’07.229
225Maverick VIÑALESSPATeam CalvoKTM225.52’07.3370.108 / 0.108
342Alex RINSSPAEstrella Galicia 0,0KTM220.32’07.5960.367 / 0.259
494Jonas FOLGERGERMapfre Aspar Team Moto3Kalex KTM219.72’07.8940.665 / 0.298
544Miguel OLIVEIRAPORMahindra RacingMahindra226.12’08.4091.180 / 0.515
689Alan TECHERFRACIP Moto3TSR Honda222.32’08.4711.242 / 0.062
784Jakub KORNFEILCZERedox RW Racing GPKalex KTM220.62’08.4821.253 / 0.011
87Efren VAZQUEZSPAMahindra RacingMahindra230.02’08.5211.292 / 0.039
912Alex MARQUEZSPAEstrella Galicia 0,0KTM234.42’08.5561.327 / 0.035
1061Arthur SISSISAUSRed Bull KTM AjoKTM227.52’08.5671.338 / 0.011
1163Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDINMALRed Bull KTM AjoKTM222.72’08.5751.346 / 0.008
125Romano FENATIITASan Carlo Team ItaliaFTR Honda225.02’08.7841.555 / 0.209
1332Isaac VIÑALESSPABimbo-Ongetta-Centro SetaFTR Honda222.42’08.9881.759 / 0.204
1423Niccolò ANTONELLIITAGO&FUN Gresini Moto3FTR Honda222.82’09.1071.878 / 0.119
1599Danny WEBBGBRAmbrogio RacingSuter Honda218.42’09.4052.176 / 0.298
1631Niklas AJOFINAvant TecnoKTM228.32’09.7502.521 / 0.345
1741Brad BINDERRSAAmbrogio RacingSuter Honda213.12’09.8852.656 / 0.135
1853Jasper IWEMANEDRW Racing GPKalex KTM225.42’09.9112.682 / 0.026
1910Alexis MASBOUFRAOngetta-RivacoldFTR Honda225.52’10.1582.929 / 0.247
2017John McPHEEGBRCaretta Technology – RTGFTR Honda214.62’10.1952.966 / 0.037
218Jack MILLERAUSCaretta Technology – RTGFTR Honda217.92’10.2212.992 / 0.026
2258Juanfran GUEVARASPACIP Moto3TSR Honda223.62’10.4433.214 / 0.222
2322Ana CARRASCOSPATeam CalvoKTM224.72’10.5203.291 / 0.077
249Toni FINSTERBUSCHGERKiefer RacingKalex KTM226.72’10.6883.459 / 0.168
2557Eric GRANADOBRAMapfre Aspar Team Moto3Kalex KTM223.72’10.7983.569 / 0.110
2619Alessandro TONUCCIITALa Fonte TascaracingHonda221.62’10.9393.710 / 0.141
2765Philipp OETTLGERPaddock TT Motion EventsKalex KTM220.92’11.0003.771 / 0.061
2866Florian ALTGERKiefer RacingKalex KTM219.92’11.0473.818 / 0.047
294Francesco BAGNAIAITASan Carlo Team ItaliaFTR Honda223.12’11.2844.055 / 0.237
3077Lorenzo BALDASSARRIITAGO&FUN Gresini Moto3FTR Honda219.62’11.2864.057 / 0.002
313Matteo FERRARIITAOngetta-Centro SetaFTR Honda223.02’11.7754.546 / 0.489
3229Hyuga WATANABEJPNLa Fonte TascaracingHonda222.52’12.5425.313 / 0.767