Espargaro Earns 1st Pole of 2013 Moto2 at Qatar

Tuenti HP 40 Pol Espargaro
Tuenti HP 40 Pol Espargaro
Tuenti HP 40 Pol Espargaro

2013 Qatar Moto2 Qualifying Results

Tuenti HP 40’s Pol Espargaro earned the first Moto2 pole position of 2013 under the floodlights at Losail International Circuit, coming back from a crash to deliver a remarkable final lap at the Commercial Bank Grand Prix of Qatar.

Joining Espargaro on the front row for Sunday’s Moto2 race will be Italtrans Racing Team’s Takaaki Nakagami and Marc VDS Racing Team’s Mika Kallio.

Riders were challenged with much traffic and an extremely dusty track surface from the off. This was confirmed by an assortment of falls, not least for Espargaro himself who went down within the first five minutes. Adding to the early surprises, Nakagami, another pace-setter so far this weekend, was stuck in his garage with problems early on.

Amid the early dramas, the Marc VDS bike of Scott Redding headed the timesheets and appeared to be losing less ground on the start/finish straight than in previous sessions. He eventually settled for fourth place as Espargaró surprised many, including himself, to pick up a remarkable half a second in the final sector alone, sealing the top spot with 2’00.882. One and a half tenths cover the top three, with Nakagami, deprived of a career-first pole by just over a tenth, eventually managing 15 laps as Kallio improved his personal best in the last knockings.

Behind Redding, row two is completed by Technomag carXpert’s Dominique Aegerter and second Italtrans representative Julián Simón. Nico Terol will start seventh for the Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2, making up the third row with Tuenti’s Esteve Rabat and Desguaces La Torre SAG’s Marcel Schrotter. JiR Moto2’s Mike di Meglio was tenth, as less than a second covered the first 13 riders; that particular group was rounded out by reigning Moto3 Champion Sandro Cortese, who managed to re-join the session for Dynavolt Intact GP following an earlier highside from which he escaped unharmed.

Also falling during the 45 minutes were Interwetten Paddock’s Sergio Gadea, substituting for the injured Tom Lüthi, and NGM Mobile Racing’s Mattia Pasini.

2013 Qatar Moto2 Qualifying Results:

Pos.Num.RiderNationTeamBikeKm/hTimeGap 1st/Prev.
140Pol ESPARGAROSPATuenti HP 40Pons Kalex274.12’00.882
230Takaaki NAKAGAMIJPNItaltrans Racing TeamKalex270.92’01.0140.132 / 0.132
336Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex272.82’01.0410.159 / 0.027
445Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex273.62’01.0890.207 / 0.048
577Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag carXpertSuter277.42’01.1200.238 / 0.031
660Julian SIMONSPAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex273.12’01.4470.565 / 0.327
718Nicolas TEROLSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter269.12’01.4540.572 / 0.007
880Esteve RABATSPATuenti HP 40Pons Kalex271.52’01.4620.580 / 0.008
923Marcel SCHROTTERGERDesguaces La Torre SAGKalex273.92’01.5410.659 / 0.079
1063Mike DI MEGLIOFRAJir Moto2Motobi281.72’01.5730.691 / 0.032
113Simone CORSIITANGM Mobile RacingSpeed Up280.52’01.6190.737 / 0.046
1215Alex DE ANGELISRSMNGM Mobile Forward RacingSpeed Up274.62’01.6470.765 / 0.028
1311Sandro CORTESEGERDynavolt Intact GPKalex271.02’01.8410.959 / 0.194
145Johann ZARCOFRACame Iodaracing ProjectSuter273.62’01.8851.003 / 0.044
1595Anthony WESTAUSQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up274.12’01.9441.062 / 0.059
1681Jordi TORRESSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter266.12’02.0011.119 / 0.057
1719Xavier SIMEONBELDesguaces La Torre MaptaqKalex270.52’02.1251.243 / 0.124
1888Ricard CARDUSSPANGM Mobile Forward RacingSpeed Up274.82’02.2661.384 / 0.141
1914Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2Suter272.02’02.3351.453 / 0.069
2024Toni ELIASSPABlusens AvintiaKalex274.52’02.4031.521 / 0.068
2149Axel PONSSPATuenti HP 40Pons Kalex274.52’02.4321.550 / 0.029
2296Louis ROSSIFRATech 3Tech 3272.12’02.6071.725 / 0.175
2372Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNIDEMITSU Honda Team AsiaMoriwaki265.82’02.8001.918 / 0.193
244Randy KRUMMENACHERSWITechnomag carXpertSuter272.62’02.9082.026 / 0.108
2554Mattia PASINIITANGM Mobile RacingSpeed Up277.72’03.0062.124 / 0.098
2652Danny KENTGBRTech 3Tech 3269.12’03.0392.157 / 0.033
277Doni Tata PRADITAINAFederal Oil Gresini Moto2Suter266.72’04.1773.295 / 1.138
289Kyle SMITHGBRBlusens AvintiaKalex271.12’04.4363.554 / 0.259
2944Steven ODENDAALRSAArgiñano & Gines RacingSpeed Up268.92’04.6573.775 / 0.221
3097Rafid Topan SUCIPTOINAQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up267.72’04.7313.849 / 0.074
3117Alberto MONCAYOSPAArgiñano & Gines RacingSpeed Up272.32’04.8733.991 / 0.142
3233Sergio GADEASPAInterwetten PaddockSuter272.12’05.8694.987 / 0.996