2013 Qatar Moto2 | Results

2013 Qatar Moto2 Start

2013 Qatar Moto2 Race Recap and Results

Spoiler Alert: 2013 Moto2 results from Losail International Circuit in Qatar listed below

Note: SPEED TV will broadcast Moto2 from Qatar at 1 p.m. Tuesday, April 9

Under the desert floodlights at Losail International Circuit Sunday in Doha, Qatar, Tuenti HP 40’s Pol Espargaro had converted pole position into the opening Moto2 race victory of 2013.

But the win was hard fought, Espargaro battling instantly with Marc VDS Racing Team’s Scott Redding. Italtrans Racing Team’s Takaaki Nakagami led in the opening stages before going on to achieve a career-first podium finish.

Espargaro had delivered a last-gasp lap to grab pole on Saturday, but it was Nakagami who led Sunday’s race as the pack battled for the first time this year. Behind, Thai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2’s Ratthapark Wilairot jumped the start and was forced to take a ride-through penalty, whereas Tech 3’s Louis Rossi, Tuenti HP 40’s Axel Pons and QMMF Racing Team’s Anthony West were all early fallers.

More crashes came later into the race, as the stewards looked into investigating a coming together between Jir Moto2’s Mike de Meglio – coming from a pit lane start after a problem on the Warm-Up lap – and NGM Mobile Racing’s Mattia Pasini, which left the latter out of the race. Pasini’s teammate Ricard Cardús was taken to the Medical Centre following an incident, as Wilairot became the sixth and final retirement.

Redding had settled in behind Nakagami at the front, but took his chance to shoot into the lead at the start of the ninth tour, narrowly avoiding contact with his rival’s left knee. Watching the battle unfold, Espargaro posted the fastest lap and quickly proceeded to dispatch with Nakagami, who was unable to maintain the pace of the pair in front but was still pleased with a his maiden podium finish.

Espargaro’s crucial move on Redding for the lead came with five laps to go, with the Englishman losing out on the start/finish straight but managing to keep up in the twisty infield section. There was almost contact between the duo as Redding strived to retake the lead on the final lap, but losing ground allowed the Spaniard to win in Qatar for the first time – crossing the line just under one second ahead.

Fourth position went to Dominique Aegerter and Technomag carXpert, just edging ahead of second Marc VDS rider Mika Kallio as Italtrans’ Julián Simón finished where he started, in sixth place. The top ten was completed by NGM Mobile pair Simone Corsi and Alex de Angelis plus Tuenti HP 40’s Esteve Rabat and Desguaces La Torre Maptaq’s Xavier Simeon.

Moto2 continues in a fortnight’s time, as the championship heads to Austin, Texas and Circuit of the Americas for the first time.

2013 Qatar Moto2 Results:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 40 Pol ESPARGARO SPA Tuenti HP 40 Kalex 159.2 40’31.782
2 20 45 Scott REDDING GBR Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex 159.2 +0.844
3 16 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN Italtrans Racing Team Kalex 158.5 +12.098
4 13 77 Dominique AEGERTER SWI Technomag carXpert Suter 158.0 +18.910
5 11 36 Mika KALLIO FIN Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex 158.0 +18.933
6 10 60 Julian SIMON SPA Italtrans Racing Team Kalex 158.0 +19.018
7 9 3 Simone CORSI ITA NGM Mobile Racing Speed Up 158.0 +19.230
8 8 15 Alex DE ANGELIS RSM NGM Mobile Forward Racing Speed Up 158.0 +19.452
9 7 80 Esteve RABAT SPA Tuenti HP 40 Kalex 157.9 +20.219
10 6 19 Xavier SIMEON BEL Desguaces La Torre Maptaq Kalex 157.9 +20.972
11 5 81 Jordi TORRES SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 Suter 157.8 +21.674
12 4 5 Johann ZARCO FRA Came Iodaracing Project Suter 157.8 +22.084
13 3 23 Marcel SCHROTTER GER Desguaces La Torre SAG Kalex 157.8 +22.093
14 2 18 Nicolas TEROL SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 Suter 157.8 +22.496
15 1 24 Toni ELIAS SPA Blusens Avintia Kalex 156.9 +36.677
16 63 Mike DI MEGLIO FRA Jir Moto2 Motobi 156.9 +36.697
17 11 Sandro CORTESE GER Dynavolt Intact GP Kalex 156.5 +41.857
18 52 Danny KENT GBR Tech 3 Tech 3 156.3 +45.295
19 4 Randy KRUMMENACHER SWI Technomag carXpert Suter 156.2 +47.673
20 33 Sergio GADEA SPA Interwetten Paddock Suter 155.8 +54.197
21 9 Kyle SMITH GBR Blusens Avintia Kalex 155.5 +59.245
22 44 Steven ODENDAAL RSA Argiñano & Gines Racing Speed Up 155.2 +1’02.713
23 72 Yuki TAKAHASHI JPN IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia Moriwaki 155.1 +1’04.294
24 7 Doni Tata PRADITA INA Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 Suter 154.5 +1’14.017
25 17 Alberto MONCAYO SPA Argiñano & Gines Racing Speed Up 153.1 +1’37.009
26 97 Rafid Topan SUCIPTO INA QMMF Racing Team Speed Up 147.6 1 Lap
Not Classified
14 Ratthapark WILAIROT THA Thai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2 Suter 154.2 5 Laps
88 Ricard CARDUS SPA NGM Mobile Forward Racing Speed Up 157.3 12 Laps
54 Mattia PASINI ITA NGM Mobile Racing Speed Up 155.7 12 Laps
95 Anthony WEST AUS QMMF Racing Team Speed Up 144.7 13 Laps
49 Axel PONS SPA Tuenti HP 40 Kalex 154.2 17 Laps
96 Louis ROSSI FRA Tech 3 Tech 3 153.4 17 Laps

2013 Moto2 Point Standings:

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1 Pol ESPARGARO Kalex SPA 25
2 Scott REDDING Kalex GBR 20
3 Takaaki NAKAGAMI Kalex JPN 16
4 Dominique AEGERTER Suter SWI 13
5 Mika KALLIO Kalex FIN 11
6 Julian SIMON Kalex SPA 10
7 Simone CORSI Speed Up ITA 9
8 Alex DE ANGELIS Speed Up RSM 8
9 Esteve RABAT Kalex SPA 7
10 Xavier SIMEON Kalex BEL 6
11 Jordi TORRES Suter SPA 5
12 Johann ZARCO Suter FRA 4
13 Marcel SCHROTTER Kalex GER 3
14 Nicolas TEROL Suter SPA 2
15 Toni ELIAS Kalex SPA 1