Motorcycle Racing News MotoGP 2013 Qatar Moto3 | Results

2013 Qatar Moto3 | Results

2013 Qatar Moto3 start
2013 Qatar Moto3 start

2013 Losail International Circuit Results

Spoiler Alert: 2013 Moto3 results from Losail International Circuit in Doha, Qatar, listed below.

Note: SPEED TV will broadcast Moto3 from Qatar at noon Tuesday, April 9.

Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Luis Salom triumphed in an action-packed first Moto3 race of 2013, winning the Commercial Bank Grand Prix of Qatar ahead of Maverick Viñales and Álex Rins at Losail International Circuit Sunday.

As the red lights went out, it was Estrella Galicia 0,0’s Rins who stole the top spot as GO&FUN Gresini Moto3’s Niccolò Antonelli lost control and became the first retirement of the season. As the top five began to break away from the chasing pack, it was a tight affair between Salom, Rins, Team Calvo’s Viñales, Rins’ teammate Álex Márquez and Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3’s Jonas Folger. The lead would change on numerous occasions across the 18 laps.

Rins was in front by the halfway point, as Márquez shot ahead for the first time on lap 13. Over the remaining five laps, the Estrella Galicia duo would go head-to-head, but it was Viñales, having waited patiently, who looked to have seized the show at the start of the penultimate lap. But it was persistence that paid off for pole-sitter Salom at the start of the final lap, confidently taking the lead before opening out a gap.

He would cross the line four tenths of a second ahead of Viñales, who was involved in a photo finish with Rins, as Márquez completed the top four. Some 16 seconds behind fifth-placed Folger, Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Zulfahmi Khairuddin beat Mahindra Racing’s Miguel Oliveira to seventh as Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Arthur Sissis, Avant Tecno’s Niklas Ajo and Mahindra’s Efrén Vázquez rounded out the top ten. In 20th spot, female rider Ana Carrasco impressed on the second Team Calvo bike, passing several rivals despite a distinct lack of track time this weekend.

After Antonelli, a further three riders fell in the shape of CIP Moto3’s Alan Techer, Ongetta-Centro Seta’s Isaac Viñales and Caretta Technology – RTG’s John McPhee, whose retirement came on the final lap of the race.

2013 Qatar Moto3 Results:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 39 Luis SALOM SPA Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 151.1 38’26.859
2 20 25 Maverick VIÑALES SPA Team Calvo KTM 151.0 +0.417
3 16 42 Alex RINS SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 KTM 151.0 +0.423
4 13 12 Alex MARQUEZ SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 KTM 151.0 +0.701
5 11 94 Jonas FOLGER GER Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 Kalex KTM 151.0 +0.916
6 10 63 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN MAL Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 149.9 +17.489
7 9 44 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Mahindra Racing Mahindra 149.9 +17.566
8 8 61 Arthur SISSIS AUS Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 149.8 +19.355
9 7 31 Niklas AJO FIN Avant Tecno KTM 149.2 +28.966
10 6 7 Efren VAZQUEZ SPA Mahindra Racing Mahindra 149.2 +28.995
11 5 99 Danny WEBB GBR Ambrogio Racing Suter Honda 149.2 +29.440
12 4 41 Brad BINDER RSA Ambrogio Racing Suter Honda 149.2 +29.499
13 3 53 Jasper IWEMA NED RW Racing GP Kalex KTM 148.5 +39.216
14 2 10 Alexis MASBOU FRA Ongetta-Rivacold FTR Honda 148.5 +39.415
15 1 5 Romano FENATI ITA San Carlo Team Italia FTR Honda 148.5 +39.451
16 8 Jack MILLER AUS Caretta Technology – RTG FTR Honda 148.5 +39.797
17 65 Philipp OETTL GER Paddock TT Motion Events Kalex KTM 147.8 +50.846
18 19 Alessandro TONUCCI ITA La Fonte Tascaracing Honda 147.8 +51.093
19 9 Toni FINSTERBUSCH GER Kiefer Racing Kalex KTM 147.8 +51.218
20 22 Ana CARRASCO SPA Team Calvo KTM 147.8 +51.266
21 58 Juanfran GUEVARA SPA CIP Moto3 TSR Honda 147.8 +51.329
22 84 Jakub KORNFEIL CZE Redox RW Racing GP Kalex KTM 147.6 +53.745
23 4 Francesco BAGNAIA ITA San Carlo Team Italia FTR Honda 147.6 +54.691
24 3 Matteo FERRARI ITA Ongetta-Centro Seta FTR Honda 147.6 +54.948
25 66 Florian ALT GER Kiefer Racing Kalex KTM 147.5 +55.236
26 57 Eric GRANADO BRA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 Kalex KTM 147.0 +1’03.601
27 29 Hyuga WATANABE JPN La Fonte Tascaracing Honda 145.8 +1’23.040
28 77 Lorenzo BALDASSARRI ITA GO&FUN Gresini Moto3 FTR Honda 145.8 +1’23.178
Not Classified
17 John McPHEE GBR Caretta Technology – RTG FTR Honda 148.6 2 Laps
32 Isaac VIÑALES SPA Ongetta-Centro Seta FTR Honda 147.4 11 Laps
89 Alan TECHER FRA CIP Moto3 TSR Honda 145.4 16 Laps
23 Niccolò ANTONELLI ITA GO&FUN Gresini Moto3 FTR Honda 0 Lap

2013 Moto3 Championship Point Standings:

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
2 Maverick VIÑALES KTM SPA 20
3 Alex RINS KTM SPA 16
5 Jonas FOLGER Kalex KTM GER 11
7 Miguel OLIVEIRA Mahindra POR 9
9 Niklas AJO KTM FIN 7
10 Efren VAZQUEZ Mahindra SPA 6
11 Danny WEBB Suter Honda GBR 5
12 Brad BINDER Suter Honda RSA 4
13 Jasper IWEMA Kalex KTM NED 3
14 Alexis MASBOU FTR Honda FRA 2
15 Romano FENATI FTR Honda ITA 1

2021 BMW R 18 Review (19 Fast Facts on the First Edition)

Over a year after its concept debut, the 2021 BMW R 18 has made its way to production. Much has been written about its...

2021 Honda CRF450R Review (12 First Ride Fast Facts from Glen Helen)

The 2021 Honda CRF450R is all-new for 2021. The entirely new chassis, bodywork, exhaust, and hydraulic clutch highlight the changes to the CRF450R. Add to...

Arai Spoiler EX2 for the Corsair-X Helmet First Look

The Arai Corsair-X is the Japanese company’s flagship helmet and intended for riders of the highest performance motorcycle. MotoGP racers Maverick Viñales of Monster...

2021 Indian Scout Lineup First Look: Five Models (Photos, Specs + Prices)

Although the five-motorcycle Indian Scout lineup is functionally unchanged for 2021—last year was a major expansion of the line—this year, Indian is offering new...

2020 Ural Weekender SE First Look: Special Edition Sidecar

Just in time for autumn, Ural lets loose with the 2020 Ural Weekender SE. Based on the 2WD Gear Up model, the Weekender SE...

Royal Enfield American Flat Track Debut: AFT Production Twins Class

Johnny Lewis debuted the Royal Enfield Twins FT in the Production Twins class at the American Flat Track Williams Grove Half-Mile I in Mechanicsburg,...