Y.E.S./Graves Yamaha’s Beaubier Claims Daytona 200 Pole

Y.E.S./Graves Yamaha’s Beaubier
Y.E.S./Graves Yamaha’s Beaubier
Y.E.S./Graves Yamaha’s Beaubier

2013 Daytona 200 Qualifying Results

Cameron Beaubier claimed pole for the 72nd DAYTONA 200 on Friday. Beaubier, on board his Yamaha Extended Services/Graves Yamaha YZF-R6, dominated the field to set a best time of 1:49.612 on the 3.51-mile traditional motorcycle course in the afternoon session.

The 20 year-old topped a front row of teammate Garrett Gerloff, Bobby Fong of Triple Crown/RMR, and Jake Zemke of Desmo Veloce for the 57-lap contest.

Beaubier led most of the session by a wide margin, eventually ending up with more than a second’s advantage over the rest of the field when the session ended. Beaubier won the Rolex Daytona Cosmograph traditionally awarded to the DAYTONA 200 pole winner handily, but his rivals are expecting to give him a tougher task on Saturday.

Cameron Beaubier (Y.E.S. Yamaha YZF-R6 SportBike) says: “This morning, conditions weren’t good but in the afternoon, the temperatures came up. I got a good draft on the straightaway at the finish.”

The front row offers a varying level of rider experience. Veteran Zemke is a former DAYTONA 200 winner while Gerloff has never competed in the 200-mile race before.

Row two is packed with some of the best young riders in the country. J.D. Beach of RoadRace Factory heads up the second row, along with Meen Motorsports’ Jake Lewis, last year’s winner Joey Pascarella on the Riders Discount Triumph and LTD Racing’s Huntley Nash.

The sighting lap for the 72nd DAYTONA 200 begins at 12:40 p.m. local time Saturday. The race will be televised on SPEED in a next-day delayed broadcast beginning at 1:30 p.m. EST/10:30 a.m. PST on Sunday.

2013 Daytona 200 Qualifying Results:

PosNo.Rider(s)TeamBikeIntervalGapBest LapLaps
16Cameron BeaubierYamaha Extended Service, Graves, YamahaYamaha YZF-R6FASTESTFASTEST1:49.6129
28Garrett GerloffYamaha Extended Service, Graves, YamahaYamaha YZF-R61.4901.4901:51.10211
350Bobby FongTriple Crown/RMRYamaha YZF-R61.7200.2301:51.33211
498Jake ZemkeDesmo VeloceDucati 8481.9870.2671:51.59912
595JD BeachRoadRace FactoryYamaha YZF-R62.2590.2721:51.87112
685Jake LewisMeen Motorsports RacingYamaha YZF-R62.5610.3021:52.17311
752Joey PascarellaRiders Discount Racing TriumphTriumph Daytona 6752.6010.0401:52.21312
875Huntley NashLTD RacingYamaha YZF-R62.6310.0301:52.24311
932Jake GagneRoadRace FactoryYamaha YZF-R62.7310.1001:52.34311
1043James RispoliNational Guard/Celtic RacingSuzuki GSX-R6002.8270.0961:52.43911
115Steve RappGEICO Motorcycle Road RacingHonda CBR600RR2.8350.0081:52.44712
123Benny SolisM4 Broaster Chicken RacingHonda CBR600RR3.1140.2791:52.72613
1340Jason DiSalvoLatus Motors RacingTriumph Daytona 6753.3750.2611:52.98713
1442Kenny RiedmannSturgess Cycle TriumphTriumph Daytona 6753.5650.1901:53.17712
1521Elena MyersSturgess Cycle TriumphTriumph Daytona 6753.8670.3021:53.47913
1674Bostjan SkubicInotherm Racing TeamYamaha YZF-R63.8850.0181:53.49712
1786Ben YoungBen Young RacingYamaha YZF-R64.0900.2051:53.70212
187Fernando AmantiniTeam AmantiniYamaha YZF-R64.1380.0481:53.75012
1929Barrett LongLongevity RacingDucati 8485.0330.8951:54.64511
2024Scott RyanStiles RacingYamaha YZF-R65.5800.5471:55.19212
2164Shane NarbonneSix-FourMotorsports.comSuzuki GSX-R6005.6460.0661:55.25811
2213Melissa ParisMPH RacingHonda CBR600RR5.8540.2081:55.46613
2341Luke MosseyGB RacingYamaha YZF-R66.2930.4391:55.90510
2484Anthony FaniaKSW RacingYamaha YZF-R66.3870.0941:55.99911
25333Tristan PalmerHuggys SpeedshopKawasaki ZX-6R6.5650.1781:56.1779
26888Luke StaplefordProfile RacingKawasaki ZX-6R6.9410.3761:56.5539
27966Daniel OrtegaDanOrtegaRacing.comYamaha YZF-R67.6660.7251:57.27810
2882Daniel GuevaraGuevara RacingSuzuki GSX-R6008.4530.7871:58.06512
29166Brian KcragetTOBC RacingSuzuki GSX-R6009.0910.6381:58.70311
3025Barry BurrellADR Motorsports 2Yamaha YZF-R69.2130.1221:58.82511
3137John AshmeadOPR-LEVEL 10 RACINGKawasaki ZX-6R10.6761.4632:00.28813