2013 Dakar Stage 10 Results: KTM’s Despres Leads

2013 Dakar Rally

On completion of a superb battle during stage 10 of the 2013 Dakar Rally, Team Speedbrain Husqvarna’s Joan Barreda earned his fourth stage victory, finishing 1’15 ahead of four-time Dakar winner Red Bull KTM’s Cyril Despres.

In the general standings, the Frenchman Despres regained command ahead of his teammate Ruben Faria, who finished the day in eighth place.

This was win number-four for Barreda as Despres regained control. As the first to get to grips with the 357 km of the tenth stage, Cyril Despres opened the road all day along the special’s tracks, attacking throughout, but avoiding taking major risks on a terrain similar to the type encountered in endurance races, even though it was quick, technically demanding and especially physically tiring.

Just behind him on the tracks, Joan Barreda again proved to be the only rider able to compete with the title holder’s pace. At the end of the day, after a major attack at the end of the special stage, the Spaniard was victorious, 1’15 ahead of Despres and 2’44 in front of his teammate Paulo Gonçalves.

The Portuguese rider, hero of the day having repaired the machine of his team-mate Botturi, after the Italian fell, confirmed the speed of the Husqvarna bikes as they put 3 machines in the day’s top 6.

However, in the general standings, KTM are dominant because the Austrian brand has taken advantage of Botturi’s misfortunes to occupy the first 4 places of the top 5! What’s more, the title holder, Cyril Despres, regained the lead of the general standings, 1’37 ahead of his water carrier Ruben Faria, 8th today, 8’15 behind the stage winner.

Still ready to spring an ambush, Chaleco Lopez remains 3rd, 13’41 behind the Frenchman and 4’40 ahead of Slovakian Ivan Jakes. Lastly, Alessandro Botturi, the leading Husqvarna rider in the general standings, now occupies fifth place, 24’25 behind the rally leader and 9’54 in front of sixth placed Helder Rodrigues, the best placed Honda rider.

2013 Dakar Rally Stage 10 Results (Cordoba to La Rioja: total distance 636 km – timed special 357 km):
1. Joan Barreda, Spain Husqvarna 4 hours 43.14
2. Cyril Despres, France, KTM, at 1.15
3. Paolo Goncalves, Portugal, Husqvarna at 2.44
4. Joan Pedrero, Spain, KTM at 4.27
5. Kurt Caselli, USA, KTM at 6.56

2013 Dakar Rally Overall Results (after Stage 10):
1. Despres, KTM, 30 hours 47.04
2. Faria, KTM at 1.37
3. Lopez, KTM at 13.41
4. Jakes, KTM at 18.41
5. Botturi at 24.25


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.