Esparagaro on Brno Moto2 Pole


2012 Brno Moto2 Qualifying Results

In an eventful Moto2 qualifying session for the bwin Grand Prix České republiky, it was Pons 40 HP Tuenti’s Pol Espargaró who stormed to pole position in front of Tom Lüthi and Scott Redding.

In a session that was frantic from the off it was Espargaró who recorded his fourth pole position this season with a record time of 2.01’953 ahead of Interwetten-Paddock’s Lüthi, who had looked stronger at the start.

Marc VDS Racing Team’s Scott Redding was only fractionally slower than the Swiss rider, yet still managed to secure a front row start. Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol’s Marc Márquez will be disappointed with his qualifying session, having missed out on the front row for only the second time this season. The championship leader did well to stay on his bike, as he had a moment towards the end as he pushed for a better lap.

Lining up next to him in fifth is Came IodaRacing Project’s Simone Corsi, marginally ousting his compatriot Andrea Iannone on the Speed Master bike. Iannone recovered from a heavy crash early in the session, which saw the red flags come out briefly to clean the track of oil patches. He was able to re-join the latter stages of qualifying.

Italtrans Racing Team’s Takaaki Nakagami put in a good showing in seventh to head the third row, pushing Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2’s Nico Terol into eighth. Technomag-CIP’s Dominique Aegerter and JiR Moto2’s Johann Zarco complete the top ten.

As well as Iannone’s heavy crash, QMMF Racing Team’s Elena Rosell suffered her second fall of the day, while Federal Oil Gresini Moto2’s Gino Rea also had a spill into the gravel. NGM Mobile Forward Racing’s Alex de Angelis had an enormous “tank-slapper”, which violently threw him off the bike in the latter stages of qualifying.

He also walked away unscathed. Arguiñano Racing Team’s Ricky Cardús and Kiefer Racing’s Max Neukirchner did not take part in qualifying as they are ruled out of the weekend due to injuries sustained in previous sessions. Cardús has a dislocation of the right acromioclavicular joint (shoulder) and Neukirchner a fractured third metacarpus in his right hand.

2012 Brno Moto2 Qualifying Results:

Pos.Num.RiderNationTeamBikeKm/hTimeGap 1st/Prev.
1.40Pol ESPARGAROSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex255.92’01.953
2.12Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten-PaddockSuter255.42’02.2350.282 / 0.282
3.45Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex253.12’02.2390.286 / 0.004
4.93Marc MARQUEZSPATeam CatalunyaCaixa RepsolSuter257.62’02.3420.389 / 0.103
5.3Simone CORSIITACame IodaRacing ProjectFTR255.62’02.8380.885 / 0.496
6.29Andrea IANNONEITASpeed MasterSpeed Up255.42’02.9140.961 / 0.076
7.30Takaaki NAKAGAMIJPNItaltrans Racing TeamKalex254.72’02.9811.028 / 0.067
8.18Nicolas TEROLSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter256.82’03.1281.175 / 0.147
9.77Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter255.12’03.1301.177 / 0.002
10.5Johann ZARCOFRAJIR Moto2Motobi252.32’03.1421.189 / 0.012
11.49Axel PONSSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex252.02’03.1591.206 / 0.017
12.36Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex260.42’03.2061.253 / 0.047
13.81Jordi TORRESSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter252.22’03.2491.296 / 0.043
14.63Mike DI MEGLIOFRAMZ RacingMZ-RE Honda255.02’03.2791.326 / 0.030
15.38Bradley SMITHGBRTech 3 RacingTech 3252.72’03.3031.350 / 0.024
16.80Esteve RABATSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex257.12’03.3071.354 / 0.004
17.60Julian SIMONSPABlusens AvintiaSuter253.92’03.3601.407 / 0.053
18.15Alex DE ANGELISRSMNGM Mobile Forward RacingFTR258.52’03.3841.431 / 0.024
19.71Claudio CORTIITAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex255.62’03.4701.517 / 0.086
20.14Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2Suter253.62’03.4791.526 / 0.009
21.19Xavier SIMEONBELTech 3 RacingTech 3253.62’03.5941.641 / 0.115
22.72Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNNGM Mobile Forward RacingFTR255.12’03.6361.683 / 0.042
23.4Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIGP Team SwitzerlandKalex254.02’04.0032.050 / 0.367
24.23Marcel SCHROTTERGERDesguaces La Torre SAGBimota249.02’04.0772.124 / 0.074
25.95Anthony WESTAUSQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up253.82’04.2722.319 / 0.195
26.8Gino REAGBRFederal Oil Gresini Moto2Suter252.62’04.3992.446 / 0.127
27.44Roberto ROLFOITATechnomag-CIPSuter249.12’04.6302.677 / 0.231
28.22Alessandro ANDREOZZIITAS/Master Speed UpSpeed Up252.52’05.2333.280 / 0.603
29.10Marco COLANDREASWISAG TeamFTR252.42’05.4283.475 / 0.195
30.57Eric GRANADOBRAJIR Moto2Motobi247.72’06.4174.464 / 0.989
31.82Elena ROSELLSPAQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up251.22’07.4255.472 / 1.008
76Max NEUKIRCHNERGERKiefer RacingKalex
88Ricard CARDUSSPAArguiñano Racing TeamAJR