Motorcycle Types Cruiser O’Hara Wins Mid-Ohio AMA XR1200

O’Hara Wins Mid-Ohio AMA XR1200

2012-ohara-wins-mid-ohio-ama-xr1200 (1)

2012 AMA Pro Vance & Hines XR1200 Series

Bartels’ Harley-Davidson/Scrubblade rider Tyler O’Hara topped a three-way battle between Michael Barnes (M.O.B. Racing) and KLR Group/Spyke’s Harley-Davidson’s Kyle Wyman to win his third AMA Pro Vance & Hines XR1200 series race of the season Sunday at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

Wyman jumped out to the early lead in the first turn on the first of the race’s 11 laps ahead of polesitter Barnes, who slipped to third behind O’Hara later in the lap, and led the field for the first three trips around the 2.4-mile circuit.

By lap four, O’Hara was in the lead, but Barnes wasn’t ready to give up the fight, briefly taking the race lead for the first time on lap seven. Although the official lap chart showed O’Hara leading the remaining four laps, the trio swapped positions multiple times in the closing stages, with most of the passes coming at the end of the track’s long back straight before entering a set of technical turns that make up the second half of the course.

On the final lap, Wyman made a pass on Barnes to take over second place and tried to move into the lead at the entrance to that series of turns but ferocious late-braking by O’Hara kept Wyman at bay and sewed up the victory.

Tyler O’Hara (Harley-Davidson XR1200) says: “I went in there a couple of times way sideways. I knew if I could just get through there and get through the next left [turn] I could control the rest of the lap.

“What a great weekend and race. We struggled at the beginning and we had to put some stuff together, but I had my whole team behind me. It means so much to win today.”

Harv’s Harley-Davidson’s Travis Wyman came home fourth in a lonely race ahead of Michael Corbino (XP Motorsports/Rossiter’s H-D) who held off David Estok (Ruthless Racing/Deeley H-D Racing) for fifth. Benjamin Carlson, Shane Narbonne, Darren James and Josh Chisum rounded out the top ten.

Sunday’s race marked the last opportunity for riders to earn a spot in top ten of the championship standings before the points reset for the XR Showdown. Beginning with August’s double-header round at the Red Bull Indianapolis GP, the top ten runners will have their points reset level at 1000 each and battle for a $60,000 prize fund over the course of the final five races of the season.

2012 AMA Pro Vance & Hines XR1200 Mid-Ohio Final Results:

1. Tyler O’Hara (Bartels’ H-D/Scrubblade), 11 laps

2. Kyle Wyman (KLR Group/Spyke’s H-D), +0.136 second

3. Michael Barnes (M.O.B. Racing), +0.353 second

4. Travis Wyman (Harv’s H-D), +11.762 seconds

5. Michael Corbino (XP Motorsports/Rossiter’s H-D), +15.726 seconds

6. David Estok (Ruthless Racing/Deeley H-D Racing), +15.874 seconds

7. Benjamin Carlson (Suburban Motors H-D), +19.301 seconds

8. Shane Narbonne (Suburban Motors H-D), +29.664 seconds

9. Darren James (Ruthless Racing/Deeley H-D Racing), +29.882 seconds

10. Josh Chisum (Bartels’ H-D/Scrubblade), +41.496 seconds

11. Nicholas Hansen (Suburban Motors H-D), +42.520 seconds

12. Brice Cooper (Hoban Brothers/Woodstock H-D), 55.125 seconds

13. Sam Rozynski (Triple Crown Industries), +56.421 seconds

14. Joseph Rozynski (Triple Crown Industries), +1:01.671 seconds

15. Paul James (Hoban Brothers/Woodstock H-D), +1:01.841

16. Ray Delaney (None listed), +1:38.758

17. Peter Cline (RIDER Insurance), +1:40.881

18. Calvin Martinez (National Precious Metals), 7 laps

19. Aaron Borello (Air Ground Xpress), 2 laps, crash

XR1200 Championship Points [XR Showdown Top 10]

1. O’Hara, 196

2. K. Wyman, 184

3. Barnes, 166

4. Corbino, 105

5. Estok, 103

6. T. Wyman, 97

7. Signorelli, 78

8. D. James, 75

9. Chisum, 73

10. Carlson, 68

The next round of the Vance & Hines XR1200 series is August 17-19 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Sinless Cycles Collection at Mecum’s Las Vegas 2021 Auction: Top 7

Sinless Cycles out of Woodworth, La., is a renowned custom shop. It looks like the garage got a bit full, so they’re putting up...

2022 Kawasaki KLR650 First Look (14 Fast Facts)

2018 was a dark year for Kawasaki KLR650 enthusiasts. It was the last year of the much-loved venerable big-bore dual-sport model that debuted in...

2022 Indian FTR Lineup First Look (8 Fast Facts)

It’s barely 2021, yet the 2022 Indian FTR lineup is here, and there are some significant changes to three of the four variants. In...

2021 Kawasaki KLX230R S First Look (8 Fast Facts)

Just a year after the debut of the Kawasaki KLX230R trail bike, we get our first look at the 2021 Kawasaki KLX230R S. While...

2021 Triumph Speed Triple 1200 RS First Look (19 Fast Facts)

Forget what you know about any previous Triumph Speed Triple. The 2021 Triumph Speed Triple 1200 RS is an all-new naked upright sportbike ready...

2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited First Look: Updates, Specs, Photos

The 2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited arrives with two new paint choices, plus a couple of updates in the dash area. There’s a new LED...