News Michigan Repeals Motorcycle Helmet Law

Michigan Repeals Motorcycle Helmet Law


2012 Motorcycle Helmet Law Update

For 35 years, wearing a motorcycle helmet was mandatory in the state of Michigan. But that law was repealed Friday when Michigan joined 30 others states, making it legal for motorcyclists to ride without helmets.

This no-helmet was signed into law Friday by Michigan Gov. Rick Snyder (R); the law still requires motorcyclists under 21 to wear a helmet, and all riders must carry $20,000 in medical insurance.

In a release, Snyder says its an individual’s liberty to whether he or she wants to wear a motorcycle helmet.

Gov. Rob Snyder says: “While many motorcyclists will continue to wear helmets, those who choose not to deserve the latitude to make their own informed judgment.”

Besides the controversy following the repeal, Michigan residents already showed a dislike last year. Last spring, when word of the repeal arrived, the Marketing Research Group, Inc., polled 600 Michigan residents; 81 percent believed that Michigan should maintain the helmet law, and 18 percent agreed with the repeal.

During that time, AAA also strongly opposed the repeal. In a report, AAA reported that the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration found that in the three years after Florida’s repeal of its mandatory helmet law there was an 81-percent increase in fatalities.

Following is a list of each state’s law regarding the use of motorcycle helmets:

States without Mandatory Helmet Law (with age requirement):

18-years old or younger:

  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Maine
  • Minnesota
  • Montana
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Dakota
  • Utah
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

19-years old or younger:

  • Delaware

21-years old or younger:

  • Arkansas
  • Florida
  • Kentucky
  • Michigan
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • Texas
  • Pennsylvania

No age requirement:

  • Illinois
  • Iowa

States with Mandatory Helmet Law:

  • Alabama
  • California
  • Georgia
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • Oregon
  • Tennessee
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Harley-Davidson Road King Special First Look: Hot Rod Bagger

The 2021 Harley-Davidson Road King Special is a Touring model that The Motor Company puts in a sub-category—Hot Rod Bagger. To earn that title,...

2021 Honda CRF300L and CRF300L Rally Coming To America

We told you all about the new 2021 Honda CRF300L and CRF300L Rally last month. Although we fully expected the pair to be imported...

2021 Harley-Davidson Fat Boy 114 First Look (Specs, Photos, Prices)

The distinctive Harley-Davidson Fat Boy is back for 2021, with the Milwaukee-Eight 114 powerplant and machined solid cast aluminum Lakester wheels. We tested the...

2021 Husqvarna 701 Lineup First Look (6 Fast Facts + Photos)

There are two 2021 Husqvarna 701 motorcycles to choose from—the Enduro and the Supermoto. Although they are closely related, with the same frame and...

2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Street Glide First Look (5 Fast Facts + Photos)

The 2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Street Glide is here, and it has several updates. Returning is the Milwaukee-Eight 177 V-twin powerplant that cranks out a...

Bring the Honda Solo to America: One More MiniMoto

We were poking through the archives, and this little gem re-caught our attention. The 2003 Honda Solo was part of Honda’s N Project. According...