Michigan Repeals Motorcycle Helmet Law
2012 Motorcycle Helmet Law Update
For 35 years, wearing a motorcycle helmet was mandatory in the state of Michigan. But that law was repealed Friday when Michigan joined 30 others states, making it legal for motorcyclists to ride without helmets.
This no-helmet was signed into law Friday by Michigan Gov. Rick Snyder (R); the law still requires motorcyclists under 21 to wear a helmet, and all riders must carry $20,000 in medical insurance.
In a release, Snyder says its an individual’s liberty to whether he or she wants to wear a motorcycle helmet.
Gov. Rob Snyder says: “While many motorcyclists will continue to wear helmets, those who choose not to deserve the latitude to make their own informed judgment.”
Besides the controversy following the repeal, Michigan residents already showed a dislike last year. Last spring, when word of the repeal arrived, the Marketing Research Group, Inc., polled 600 Michigan residents; 81 percent believed that Michigan should maintain the helmet law, and 18 percent agreed with the repeal.
During that time, AAA also strongly opposed the repeal. In a report, AAA reported that the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration found that in the three years after Florida’s repeal of its mandatory helmet law there was an 81-percent increase in fatalities.
Following is a list of each state’s law regarding the use of motorcycle helmets:
States without Mandatory Helmet Law (with age requirement):
18-years old or younger:
- New Hampshire
- New Mexico
- North Dakota
- South Dakota
19-years old or younger:
21-years old or younger:
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
No age requirement:
States with Mandatory Helmet Law:
- New Jersey
- New York
- North Carolina
- West Virginia