Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport AMA Elects Ford to Board of Directors

AMA Elects Ford to Board of Directors


American Motorcycle Association News

Ken Ford, a 27-year AMA member from Bartow, Fla., has been elected the member representative on the AMA Board of Directors from the Southeast region. Ford fills the seat previously held by Charles Goman.

Stan Simpson (AMA Board of Directors Chairman) says: “The AMA Board of Directors thanks Charles Goman for his years of service to the AMA.

“We are looking forward to Ken’s contributions in the years to come. The members of the Southeast Region will be well represented by Ken’s range of experience and years of passion.”

Ford, a senior executive at a Fortune 50 company for 17 years, is an active off-road, dual-sport, adventure and sport-touring rider. He is a 32-year member of the Florida Trail Riders and former president of the AMA-chartered club.

He is also a member of Sunrunners M/C, Dixie Dual Sport and the Concours Owners Group, where he is the current executive director. An environmental engineer by education, Ford has been riding for more than 50 years.

Ken Ford says: “I’m excited about the opportunity to help the AMA move forward. As a longtime motorcyclist and a member of several motorcycling organizations, I hope I have something to give to the organization.”

Ford, whose riding background is rooted in trail riding, dual-sport riding and off-road racing, said that he is particularly concerned with the loss of access to public land.

Ken Ford says: “Responsible off-road riders have a right to access public land. The lobbying effort of the AMA is key to protecting our future as motorcyclists, and one that I can help with. My professional experience includes working with governmental bodies with regard to environmental regulations, and I hope to bring some of that experience to the AMA Board.”

Ford currently rides a Kawasaki KLR650, a Suzuki DRZ400 a Triumph Tiger 800XC and a Kawasaki Concours. Ken’s wife, Marcia, rides a Kawasaki Versys.

Ford’s term on the AMA Board of Directors expires in February 2015. The next AMA Board of Directors meeting is Feb. 18 in Indianapolis.

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Avon Tyres + Blood Bikes = Motorcycles Saving Lives

We’ve all heard of blood banks, but this is the first time we have heard of blood bikes. Leicestershire & Rutland Blood Bikes is...

2021 Moto Guzzi V7 Stone 100th Anniversary First Look

Back in December, we gave you a first look at the new 2021 Moto Guzzi V7 lineup. The big news was an increase in...

2022 Triumph Bonneville Bobber First Look (11 Fast Facts)

The 2022 Triumph Bonneville Bobber enjoys a wide range of updates that include functional and aesthetic. The changes are, in part, to meet Euro...

2021 MV Agusta Dragster RR SCS RC First Look (9 Fast Facts)

The 2021 MV Agusta Dragster RR SCS RC is the new flagship of the urban-brawling Dragster lineup. The RC stands for Reparto Corse, and...

2022 Triumph Bonneville T100 First Look (9 Fast Facts)

The Triumph Bonneville T100 gets a more powerful and higher-revving motor for 2022,  along with a lighter chassis and upgraded suspension as the British...

2022 Triumph Street Twin First Look (7 Fast Facts)

The best-selling Triumph Street Twin is back with motor changes to meet Euro 5 standards, upgraded styling, and a classy new variant. Let’s take...