Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport Dakar: Speedbrain Husqvarna Report

Dakar: Speedbrain Husqvarna Report

2012 Dakar Rally

Four out of five riders piloting Speedbrain Husvarna 450 RR Rally motorcycles finished the 2012 Dakar Rally, which took riders almost 5,600 miles from Mar Del Plata, Argentina, through Chile to end in Lima, Peru.

All together, the Husqvarna motorcycles performed without any mechanical issues, and landed on the podium six times during the 2012 Dakar Rally stages with riders Joan Barreda and Paulo Goncalves.

But there was some issues – Barreda experienced bad luck during the stages three and four, when the talented Spaniard suffered from a crash and a broken rear wheel, which cost him a lot of valuable time. Barreda couldn’t make up the loss until the race end.

Husqvarna says “By the way: Joan Barreda was by many considered the revelation of this year´s Dakar. He was matching the speed of the top riders and is regarded as a man of the future.”

2012 Dakar Rally Motorcycle Results:

1. Cyril Despres (FRA) KTM 43:28:11 hrs

2. Marc Coma (SPA) KTM, 53:20 min behind

3. Helder Rodrigues (POR) Yamaha, 1:11:17

4. Jordi Viladoms (SPA) KTM, 1:40:56

5. Stefan Svitko (SVK) KTM, 1:47:28

11. Joan Barreda (SPA) Husqvarna Rallye Team by Speedbrain, 3:37:25

19. Zé Hélio (BRA) Husqvarna Rallye Team by Speedbrain, 6:16:35

23. Jose Manuel Pellicer (SPA), Husqvarna Rallye Team by Speedbrain, 7:41:09

26. Paulo Goncalves (POR) Husqvarna Rallye Team by Speedbrain, 8:10:26

41.Pedro Bianchi Prata (Husqvarna)

71.Jorge Gomez (Husqvarna)

83.Rodrigo Illanes (Husqvarna)

2012 Dakar Rally: Manufacturers/Team statistics/podium finishes:

1. KTM, 27

2. Husqvarna Rallye Team by Speedbrain, 6

3. Yamaha, 2

3. Sherco, 2

5. Aprilia, 1

5. Honda, 1

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 AMA Supercross and Motocross Pro Numbers: List and Analysis

Supercross starts up in January, and it’s time to match the latest crop of riders to the numbers on their motorcycles. The biggest news...

Cardo Packtalk Black and Prototype Headset Review: Racing Intercom

Cardo has been well known for its high-quality helmet-to-helmet communication systems for over a decade. Cardo uses Bluetooth technology in both is Packtalk and...

2021 Husqvarna FC 450 Rockstar Edition First Look (8 Fast Facts)

The triumvirate of 2020 AMA 450MX National Champion Zach Osborne, 2018 AMA Supercross Champion Jason Anderson, and Dean Wilson will all be racing motorcycle...

Shoei RF-1400 First Look: New Motorcycle Helmet

The folks at Shoei made the best of our pandemic situation with their unique launch of the new Shoei RF-1400. They shipped us the...

2021 Ducati Monster First Look [13 Fast Facts + Specs]

Amid these unique times when OEMs are usually launching their lineups at EICMA, Ducati spent the past five Wednesdays releasing new models. Many, like the...

2021 Ducati Monster Lineup First Look: 4 Models; 2 All-New

There’s a big shakeup in the Ducati Monster lineup for 2021. Say goodbye to the 797, 821, and 821 Stealth. Those three models are...