2011 AMA Racing Award Nominees

2011-ama-competition-award-nominees (1)

AMA-Sanctioned Competition Awards

The American Motorcyclist Association (AMA) announced the nominees for 2011 year-end awards presented to standout individuals and organizations involved in AMA-sanctioned competition.

The awards will be presented at the 2011 AMA Visa Card from Capital One Racing Championship Banquet on Sunday, Nov. 20, at the Red Rock Casino, Resort and Spa in Las Vegas, Nev.

Rob Dingman (AMA President & CEO) says: “AMA-sanctioned competition and recreational events represent the greatest grassroots motorsports disciplines in the world, thanks to the dedicated racers and organizers who put their hearts and souls into this sport every season.

“The groups and individuals nominated for these special awards have gone above and beyond to represent their clubs, their regions, their fellow competitors and the AMA with poise, dignity and excellence. In their own ways, they have advanced the AMA’s mission to promote and protect the motorcycling lifestyle. I’m looking forward to recognizing each standout recipient at the Red Rock in November.”

The AMA’s highest competitive honor, the AMA Athlete of the Year, has evolved for 2011. The award will now include two categories of outstanding AMA racers. One award will recognize an athlete who stands atop an AMA National Championship Series. Another will honor one of the amateur racers who has proven his mettle at an AMA Grand Championship event.

All honorees will be announced and recognized alongside hundreds of individual champions from numerous disciplines at the 2011 banquet.

The AMA Visa Card Racing Championship Banquet is just one part of the AMA Visa Card from Capital One Legends & Champions Weekend at the Red Rock Resort. The celebration kicks off with the 2011 AMA Visa Card from Capital One Motorcycle Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, presented by KTM, on Friday evening, Nov. 18. It continues on Nov. 19 with the Motorcycle Hall of Fame Dave Mungenast Memorial Concours d’Elegance, featuring some of the country’s most impressive original and restored classic motorcycles. In addition, the final round of the GEICO AMA EnduroCross National Championship Series will take place the evening of Nov. 19 at the Orleans Arena.

Tickets to the AMA Visa Card Legends & Champions Weekend are available by calling (800) 262-5646. Room reservations are available by calling the Red Rock at (866) 767-7773. Online room reservations are available at RedRockLasVegas.com.

AMA Racing Rider Award Nominees

  • AMA Racing Athlete of the Year: National Championship Series
  • Taddy Blazusiak, Pro class points leader, GEICO AMA EnduroCross Championship. With one round to go, Blazusiak leads the series 180 points vs. the second-place rider’s 127. Blazusiak has won every main event this season.
  • Russell Bobbitt, Champion, AMA Racing Rekluse National Enduro Championship Series
  • Tyler Bowers, Champion, AMA Racing Arenacross Championship Series
  • Kurt Caselli, Champion, AMA Racing Kenda Hare & Hound National Championship Series
  • Charlie Mullins, XC1 Champion, Can-Am Grand National Cross Country Series
  • Pat Smage, Champion, AMA/NATC MotoTrials National Championship Series

AMA Racing Athlete of the Year: Amateur Grand Championships

  • Justin Bogle, AMA Racing Amateur National Motocross Championships: AMA Motocross Horizon Award; 450 A National Championship.
  • Daniel Bromley, AMA Racing Dirt Track Grand Championships: AMA Dirt Track Horizon Award; 250cc Modified Two-stroke, 250cc DTX Grand Championships; DTX short-track, 250cc DTX TT, 250cc Modified Two-Stroke short-track, 250cc Modified Two-Stroke TT, and 251cc-500cc DTX TT National Championships. AMA Racing Winter Dirt Track Championship Series: 250cc DTX championship.
  • Kyle Johnson, AMA Racing Ice Race Grand Championships: AMA Ice Racer of the Year; 251cc-500cc DTX and 450cc Modified National Championships.
  • Jake Lewis, AMA Racing Roadrace Grand Championships: AMA Roadracing Horizon Award; Open SS Expert National Championship.
  • Luke Parmeter, AMA Racing Hillclimb Grand Championships: AMA Hillclimber of the Year; 250cc, Four-Stroke and 750cc National Championships.
  • U.S. World Junior Motocross Team, 2011 FIM Junior Motocross World Championship

ATV Athlete of the Year

  • Chris Borich, XC1 Champion, Can-Am Grand National Cross Country Series
  • Walker Fowler, XC2 Champion, Can-Am Grand National Cross Country Series
  • Harold Goodman, Champion, AMA Racing ATV Extreme Dirt Track National Championship Series
  • Mark Madl, Pro-Am Production Champion, AMA Racing ATV Motocross National Championship Series

AMA Racing Veteran/Senior Rider of the Year

  • Al Lamb, 1000 MPS-BF national land-speed record, AMA Racing Land Speed Grand Championships
  • Scottie Shipley, Masters 50-Plus National Championship, AMA Amateur National Motocross Championships
  • Tim Shephard, AMA Senior Off-Road Vintage Grand Championship, AMA Racing Vintage Grand Championships
  • Clark Stiles, Junior 25-Plus, Vet 35-Plus National Championships, MX Vet Rider Award, AMA Amateur National Motocross Championships

AMA Racing Female Rider of the Year

  • Leeann Bange, Women’s class points leader, AMA Racing East Hare Scrambles Championship Series
  • Heather Byrd, Women’s National Champion, AMA Racing ATV Motocross National Championship Series
  • Maria Forsberg, Women’s National Champion, Can-Am Grand National Cross Country Series
  • Vicki Golden, only women racer to qualify for an Arenacross Lites main event, AMA Arenacross

AMA Racing Youth Rider of the Year

  • Adam Cianciarulo, Super Mini 1, Super Mini 2 National Champion, MX Youth Rider Award, AMA Amateur National Motocross Championships
  • Austin Lee, Super Mini National Champion, AMA Racing East Hare Scrambles Championship Series
  • Joey Savatgy, FIM 125cc World Champion and member of AMA U.S. World Junior Motocross Team

AMA Racing Media Award

  • Shan Moore, off-road photographer and reporter
  • Racer X Illustrated, monthly motocross magazine
  • Vurb Moto, motocross enthusiast website

AMA Racing Sportsman of the Year

  • TBA

AMA Racing Organizer Award Nominees

Motocross Organizer of the Year

  • Feld Motor Sports, AMA Arenacross
  • MX Sports, AMA Amateur National Motocross Championships
  • PAMX, Pennsylvania State Motocross Championship

Off-Road Organizer of the Year

  • Brandywine Enduro Riders, Rattlesnake National Enduro
  • Source Interlink Media, GEICO AMA EnduroCross Championship
  • Muddobbers, Muddobbers National Enduro

Track Racing Organizer of the Year

  • Fast Fridays, Speedway
  • Steve Nace Racing, Dirt Track
  • USGPRU, AMA Racing Roadrace Grand Championships

ATV Organizer of the Year

  • Mid America XC, Hare Scrambles
  • Racer Productions, Can-Am Grand National Cross Country Series
  • Victory Sports, Motocross


Recreational Road Riding Organizer of the Year

  • Americade, Americade Rally
  • IBA Sports, Iron Butt Association
  • Sound Rider, Sportbike, Dual-Sport, Touring, Scooter Rallies

Recreational Off-Road Organizer of the Year

  • Aerostich, Alaska Adventure Ride
  • Dirty Dabbers, Great Adventure Dual Sport
  • District 37 Off-Road, Dual-Sport Rides

AMA Club of the Year

  • Brothers of the Wheel
  • Cheaha Trail Riders
  • Cycle Conservation Club of Michigan