2011 Washogual Motocross | Preview

2011 AMA Motocross

With the excitement of Spring Creek Motocross behind, especially Chad Reed’s horrific crash, the 2011 AMA Motocross Championship heads to Washington Saturday for Peterson CAT Washougal National, Round 8 of 12.

Only seven points separate the top three of Two-Two Motorsports Honda’s Chad Reed, Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto and Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey, respectively. After winning four of seven rounds, Reed has 300 points. But only six behind is Villopoto, with the reigning Motocross Champion Dungey only a point behind Villopoto.

The point race tightened after last weekend’s exciting round. At Spring Creek National in Millville, Minn., Reed dominated the first moto, and was a favorite to sweep the weekend. But in the second moto, just as the Australian took the lead he crashed at the courses highest jump, falling from mid-air.

Nevertheless, a bruised Reed remounted his CRF450F, and finished 14th. Dungey would go onto to win his second round of the series, followed by Villopoto and the returning Trey Canard (American Honda).

In 250cc Motocross, it’s all about the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki trio of Dean Wilson, Tyla Rattray, and Blake Baggett; the three have been undefeated so far this season. Due to this, Wilson, Rattray, and Baggett occupy the first three positions in the standings, continuing to trade wins amongst one another.

MX Sports reports that last year at Washougal, Dungey continued his dominant run to the 450 Class title, sweeping the day’s motos to secure his seventh win of the year. Coming off his triumph at the previous round, Dungey will look to replicate that performance. Last season in the 250 Class, eventual champion Trey Canard continued his incredible second-half resurgence, also winning each of the day’s motos for his third straight victory. Making the move into the 450 Class for 2011, Canard made his summer debut last weekend, earning an overall podium result. He will look to mix it up with the title contenders on Saturday.

MX Sports reports that Washougal Motocross Park is one of the oldest stops on the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship schedule, and is the only round of American Motocross to run in the beautiful Pacific Northwest.

The first AMA National was held at Washougal in 1980, and with the exception of 1987, the track has been a part of the tour for the last 30 years. Over that span, the facility has been the site of many of the sport’s most memorable moments, and has become one of the most challenging circuits on the schedule. Washougal boasts one of the largest climbs on the circuit, with the iconic Horsepower Hill. Its picturesque setting, surrounded by evergreen trees and rolling hills, make it a must see for any motocross enthusiast.

All the action begins at 11:30 a.m. (EDT) with practice and qualifying, with the first moto set for 4 p.m. EDT.

AMA Motocross 450 Class Championship Standings

  1. Chad Reed, Kurri Kurri, Australia, Honda – 300
  2. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki – 294
  3. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki – 293
  4. Brett Metcalfe, Mannum, Australia, Suzuki – 209
  5. Kevin Windham, Baton Rouge, La., Honda – 193
  6. Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha – 173
  7. Andrew Short, Colorado Springs, Colo., KTM – 156
  8. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., KTM – 151
  9. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki – 140
  10. Christian Craig, El Cajon, Calif., Honda – 119

AMA Motocross 250 Class Championship Standings

  1. Dean Wilson, Glasgow, Scotland, Kawasaki – 305
  2. Tyla Rattray, Durban, South Africa, Kawasaki – 289
  3. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Kawasaki – 284
  4. Kyle Cunningham, Aledo, Texas, Yamaha – 199
  5. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda – 190
  6. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Kawasaki – 170
  7. Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda – 152
  8. Gareth Swanepoel, Johannesburg, South Africa, Yamaha – 145
  9. Martin Davalos, Quito, Ecuador, Suzuki – 128
  10. Darryn Durham, Butler, Pa., Honda – 122