News 2011 Sachsenring Moto2: Germany Results

2011 Sachsenring Moto2: Germany Results

2011 Moto2

Marc Marquez took his third consecutive win – his fourth of the season – in the Moto2 race, ahead of local favourite Stefan Bradl and Alex de Angelis, who completed the podium in third.

Bradl (Viessmann Kiefer Racing) had the hole shot off the start, but pole man Marquez (Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol) quickly took the lead on the first lap of the Sachsenring race, scrapping for the lead with the German until the Spaniard regained first position on lap 22 of 29 to take the win.

De Angelis (JiR Moto2), who started from the second row, pressured Bradl throughout the race, followed by Aleix Espargaro (Pons HP 40) and fourth row starter Yonny Hernandez (Blusens-STX), until Espargaro and Max Neukirchner (MZ Racing) collided on lap five, ending the race for both of them. De Angelis was not able to make a move on Bradl, with the Italian finishing the race in third, half a second behind the German.

Randy Krummenacher (GP Team Switzerland Kiefer Racing) made his move on fellow countryman Thomas Lüthi (Interwetten Paddock Moto2) on the second to the last lap to grab fourth place after the two had sparred with De Angelis for third. Sixth place went to Hernandez, with Scott Redding (Marc VDS Racing), who started 23rd on the grid, in seventh.

Simone Corsi (Ioda Racing Project) finished eighth, Jules Cluzel (Forward Racing) ninth and Michele Pirro (Gresini Racing Moto2) in tenth.

A first corner incident took out Julián Simón (Mapfre Aspar), for whom the German GP was his first race back since breaking his leg at Catalunya on June 5th. Simon was unhurt though was unable to rejoin the race. Bradley Smith (Tech 3 Racing) ran off track in the same incident with Simón, rejoined the race, and then later crashed out.

Marquez remains second in the Championship, though has narrowed the gap to leader Bradl to 47 points at the halfway point of the season. The next Moto2 race will be the Brno round on August 14.

2011 Sachsenring Moto2 Results

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1. 25 93 Marc MARQUEZ SPA Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol Suter 153.5 41’37.457
2. 20 65 Stefan BRADL GER Viessmann Kiefer Racing Kalex 153.4 +0.896
3. 16 15 Alex DE ANGELIS RSM JIR Moto2 Motobi 153.4 +1.387
4. 13 4 Randy KRUMMENACHER SWI GP Team Switzerland Kiefer Racing Kalex 153.2 +3.413
5. 11 12 Thomas LUTHI SWI Interwetten Paddock Moto2 Suter 153.2 +4.185
6. 10 68 Yonny HERNANDEZ COL Blusens-STX FTR 153.0 +7.691
7. 9 45 Scott REDDING GBR Marc VDS Racing Team Suter 152.8 +10.606
8. 8 3 Simone CORSI ITA Ioda Racing Project FTR 152.8 +10.667
9. 7 16 Jules CLUZEL FRA NGM Forward Racing Suter 152.7 +12.079
10. 6 51 Michele PIRRO ITA Gresini Racing Moto2 Moriwaki 152.7 +12.337
11. 5 54 Kenan SOFUOGLU TUR Technomag-CIP Suter 152.7 +13.197
12. 4 77 Dominique AEGERTER SWI Technomag-CIP Suter 152.1 +21.516
13. 3 44 Pol ESPARGARO SPA HP Tuenti Speed Up FTR 152.1 +21.652
14. 2 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Speed Master Suter 152.1 +21.827
15. 1 71 Claudio CORTI ITA Italtrans Racing Team Suter 152.1 +22.238
16.   63 Mike DI MEGLIO FRA Tech 3 Racing Tech 3 152.1 +22.359
17.   25 Alex BALDOLINI ITA NGM Forward Racing Suter 151.8 +26.498
18.   19 Xavier SIMEON BEL Tech 3 B Tech 3 151.6 +30.137
19.   75 Mattia PASINI ITA Ioda Racing Project FTR 151.4 +34.023
20.   9 Kenny NOYES USA Avintia-STX FTR 151.4 +34.188
21.   18 Jordi TORRES SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 Suter 151.4 +34.300
22.   80 Axel PONS SPA Pons HP 40 Pons Kalex 151.3 +34.949
23.   13 Anthony WEST AUS MZ Racing Team MZ-RE Honda 150.5 +49.149
24.   64 Santiago HERNANDEZ COL SAG Team FTR 150.5 +49.902
25.   14 Ratthapark WILAIROT THA Thai Honda Singha SAG FTR 150.3 +53.180
26.   39 Robertino PIETRI VEN Italtrans Racing Team Suter 150.0 +57.673
27.   97 Steven ODENDAAL RSA MS Racing Suter 149.1 +1’12.318
28.   88 Ricard CARDUS SPA QMMF Racing Team Moriwaki 149.1 +1’12.943
29.   24 Tommaso LORENZETTI ITA Aeroport de Castello FTR 146.0 1 Lap
30.   95 Mashel AL NAIMI QAT QMMF Racing Team Moriwaki 145.8 1 Lap
Not Classified
    72 Yuki TAKAHASHI JPN Gresini Racing Moto2 Moriwaki 152.4 6 Laps
    34 Esteve RABAT SPA Blusens-STX FTR 149.7 10 Laps
    38 Bradley SMITH GBR Tech 3 Racing Tech 3 152.4 14 Laps
    40 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Pons HP 40 Pons Kalex 152.6 24 Laps
    76 Max NEUKIRCHNER GER MZ Racing Team MZ-RE Honda 152.5 24 Laps
    53 Valentin DEBISE FRA Speed Up FTR 146.9 27 Laps
    60 Julian SIMON SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 Suter   0 Lap
Not Starting
    36 Mika KALLIO FIN Marc VDS Racing Team Suter   0 Lap


Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Harley-Davidson Gift of Riding H-D Riding Academy Contest

There is no better gift in the world than turning a non-rider into a motorcyclist. Of course, it takes more than best wishes to...

2021 Suzuki 650 V-Twins: New Colors Sneak Peek First Look

It’s always interesting to check into Europe’s latest to see what might appear on dealer showroom floors in the United States. We look at...

2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS SE First Look (5 Fast Facts)

After an upgrade last year, Honda has more plans for the now-midsize Rebel. There is now a 2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS—an accessorized version...

Sena SRL2 Review: Bluetooth Communications for Select Shoei Helmets

The Shoei Neotec II is a sweet upgrade from the original Neotec, and it incorporates many improvements. Nic de Sena reviewed the Shoei Neotec...

2021 Ducati Diavel 1260 Lamborghini First Look (12 Fast Facts)

It is virtually impossible to go wrong when combining two iconic brands, such as Ducati and Lamborghini. With the two marques owned by the...

Classic Superbikes by Frank Melling Book Review: Motorcycle History

Frank Melling is an old-school moto journalist and former factory racer. He lives with his wife Carol on a beautiful farm in northwest England....