2011 Mugello Moto2: Race Results

Moto2 Results

A thrilling, three-way Moto2 battle for first position ensued between pole-position starter Marc Marquez (Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol), Championship leader Stefan Bradl (Viessmann Kiefer Racing) and Bradley Smith (Tech 3 Racing), at Mugello Sunday.

The young Catalan rider emerged victorious, making him the youngest ever rider to take back to back victories in the intermediate class in the Moto2 World Championship. He has now won three of the last five races.

Stefan Bradl (Viessmann Kiefer Racing) made a mistake early to drop back to fifth, but quickly made his way back to the Mugello Moto2 race elbow to elbow, assuming the lead several times and finally finishing second in a breathless last lap which saw all three lead at various points on the track. Smith moved down to third from the lead after a close pass by Marquez literally pushed him wide, the third place his third successive podium of the 2011 season.

Fourth-place Moto2 finisher Alex de Angelis (JiR Moto2) started from second on the grid and ran as high as second in the race, touching elbows with Bradl on at least one occasion, while last year’s race winner Andrea Iannone (Speed Master) suffered enough tire wear in the last few laps to take him out of the battle for fourth with De Angelis to finish fifth.

Thomas Lüthi (Interwetten Paddock Moto2) headed up the battle for sixth, in front of Simone Corsi (Ioda Racing Project), Max Neukirchner (MZ Racing), Aleix Espargaró (Pons HP 40) and Technomag-CIP duo Kenan Sofuoglu and Dominique Aegerter in tenth and eleventh.

Pol Espargaró (HP Tuenti Speed Up) crashed out of 7th place but kept his FTR Moto2 machine running and re-entered the field to finish 28th.

2011 Mugello Moto2 Results

1.2593Marc MARQUEZSPATeam CatalunyaCaixa RepsolSuter165.040’02.941
2.2065Stefan BRADLGERViessmann Kiefer RacingKalex165.0+0.071
3.1638Bradley SMITHGBRTech 3 RacingTech 3165.0+0.419
4.1315Alex DE ANGELISRSMJIR Moto2Motobi164.9+2.091
5.1129Andrea IANNONEITASpeed MasterSuter164.7+4.595
6.1012Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten Paddock Moto2Suter164.1+13.021
7.93Simone CORSIITAIoda Racing ProjectFTR164.1+13.092
8.876Max NEUKIRCHNERGERMZ Racing TeamMZ-RE Honda164.1+13.409
9.740Aleix ESPARGAROSPAPons HP 40Pons Kalex164.1+14.139
10.654Kenan SOFUOGLUTURTechnomag-CIPSuter164.0+14.419
11.577Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter164.0+15.072
12.419Xavier SIMEONBELTech 3 BTech 3163.8+17.996
13.34Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIGP Team Switzerland Kiefer RacingKalex163.7+18.573
14.272Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki163.7+19.720
15.116Jules CLUZELFRANGM Forward RacingSuter163.6+20.357
16. 34Esteve RABATSPABlusens-STXFTR163.5+22.208
17. 36Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter163.5+22.420
18. 53Valentin DEBISEFRASpeed UpFTR163.4+24.297
19. 18Jordi TORRESSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter163.1+28.679
20. 75Mattia PASINIITAIoda Racing ProjectFTR163.1+28.876
21. 13Anthony WESTAUSMZ Racing TeamMZ-RE Honda162.9+30.778
22. 88Ricard CARDUSSPAQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki162.8+33.084
23. 71Claudio CORTIITAItaltrans Racing TeamSuter162.7+34.568
24. 63Mike DI MEGLIOFRATech 3 RacingTech 3162.6+36.000
25. 31Carmelo MORALESSPADesguaces La Torre G22Moriwaki162.6+36.194
26. 39Robertino PIETRIVENItaltrans Racing TeamSuter162.6+36.195
27. 45Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter161.9+46.731
28. 44Pol ESPARGAROSPAHP Tuenti Speed UpFTR161.7+49.054
29. 9Kenny NOYESUSAAvintia-STXFTR161.6+50.101
30. 64Santiago HERNANDEZCOLSAG TeamFTR160.4+1’08.557
31. 95Mashel AL NAIMIQATQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki157.11 Lap
Not Classified
  14Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda Singha SAGFTR160.17 Laps
  25Alex BALDOLINIITANGM Forward RacingSuter161.110 Laps
  70Mattia TAROZZIITAFaenza RacingSuter157.510 Laps
  68Yonny HERNANDEZCOLBlusens-STXFTR163.314 Laps
  24Tommaso LORENZETTIITAAeroport de CastelloFTR159.615 Laps
  51Michele PIRROITAGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki158.818 Laps
  35Raffaele DE ROSAITAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter 0 Lap