Motorcycle Racing News Isle of Man TT: Winners & Fatalities

Isle of Man TT: Winners & Fatalities

2011 Isle of Man TT Review

In the 2010 Isle of Man TT, multiple records were shattered, including Ian Hutchinson winning an incredible five TT races.

And although this year’s IOMTT didn’t rewrite the record books, it still brought motorcycle racing fans the highest dose of adrenaline possible on two wheels.

Much of the adrenaline came from Honda TT Legends rider John McGuinness. The Morecambe rider, who holds the outright IOMTT lap record (2009) with a 131.578 mph around the 37.73-mile Mountain Course, took the most wins this year after dominating the Senior TT and Dainese 6-Lap Superbike races.

McGuinness now has 17 victories; the only IOMTT pilot with more is the legendary Joey Dunlop with 26.

In the first TT of 2011, the Dainese 6-Lap Superbike race, McGuinness would finished over a minute ahead of Wilson Craig Honda CBR1000RR rider Cameron Donald. The IOMTT rider took the win in 1 hour, 46.13 minutes, with an average speed of 127.870 mph.

As for the Senior TT, Relentless Suzuki’s Guy Martin was the early leader, completing his first lap at over 131 mph. Padgetts Honda’s Bruce Anstey held an edge of McGuinness on the first lap, but when the riders pitted at the end of the second lap, a slower stop by Anstey allowed McGuinness to take second with four laps remaining.

McGuinness then gained some rhythm, and passed the Martin’s Suzuki GSX-R1000 before Lap 3 was complete. The Morecambe rider immediately began pulling away from Martin, eventually finishing 7.2 seconds ahead.

But with these highlights arrived some somber news, including the death of three riders.

The first fatal crash occurred during practice for the Sidecar race. The Auto Cycle Union (ACU) reported that Bill Currie, 67, of Ellesmere Port, and his passenger Kevin Morgan, 59, of Shrewsbury, were killed during the IOMTT sidecar crash at Ballacrye in the north part of the Mountain Course.

The third rider to perish on the Mountain Course was Derek Brien, 34, of Co. Meath in Ireland. Brien was killed during the IOMTT crash in the first Supersport race. The ACU reported that the fatal, one-man IOMTT crash occurred during a high-speed section at Gorse Lea.

2011 Isle of Man TT: Solo Podium Results

2011 Isle of Man Senior TT Race Results (June 10, 2011):

  1. John McGuinness / 2008 Honda CBR1000RR IOMTT
  2. Guy Martin / 2011 Suzuki GSXR 1000 IOMTT
  3. Bruce Anstey / Honda CBR1000 IOMTT

2011 Isle of Man 6-Lap Dainese Superbike Race Results (June 4, 2011):

  1. John McGuinness / Honda TT Legends CBR1000RR IOMTT
  2. Cameron Donald / Wilson Craig Honda CBR1000RR IOMTT
  3. Gary Johnson / Links Lifting/East Coast Honda CBR1000RR IOMTT

2011 IOMTT Royal London 360 Superstock Race Results (June 6, 2011):

  1. Michael Dunlop / 2011 Kawasaki ZX10R
  2. John McGuinness/ 2011 Honda CBR1000
  3. Guy Martin / 2011 Suzuki GSX-R1000

2011 Isle of Man TT: Supersport 1 Results (June 6, 2011):

  1. Bruce Anstey / Padgetts Honda CBR600
  2. Keith Amor / KBMG Racing Suzuki GSX-R 600
  3. Guy Martin /Relentless Suzuki by TAS Racing GSX-R600

2011 Isle of Man TT: Supersport 2 Results (June 8, 2011):

  1. Gary Johnson / East Coast Construction Honda CBR600
  2. John McGuinness / Padgetts Honda CBR600
  3. Guy Martin / Relentless Suzuki GSX-R 600

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Moto Guzzi V85 TT Lineup First Look: Adventure and Travel

Sporting two touring-oriented ADV motorcycles, the 2021 Moto Guzzi V85 TT lineup returns with some motor and electronics package updates, and a bit more....

2021 American Flat Track Schedule: 17 AFT Rounds Planned

The 2021 American Flat Track schedule has been revealed, and it features 17 rounds running from March to October, and coast-to-coast. There are four...

2021 Aprilia RSV4 and RSV4 Factory First Look (11 Fast Facts)

There are quite a few updates to the 2021 Aprilia RSV4 and RSV4 Factory. None of them are revolutionary. However, taken together, they add...

Honda CRF110F EFI Long-Term Test: 11-Year-Old Tested

When we got a hold of the 2019 Honda CRF110F, we were reluctant to give it back. Test rider Ben Karsian was cutting his...

2021 Moto Guzzi V9 Lineup First Look: Bobber and Roamer Updated

The  Moto Guzzi V9 lineup of the Bobber and Roamer gets a significant update for 2021. There’s a new motor powering the two V9s,...

Tirox SnapJack SS First Look: Motorcycle Chain Maintenance Aid

Although single-sided swingarms are designed to simplify maintenance, if the motorcycle doesn’t have a centerstand, it doesn’t make working on your drive chain any...