Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport 2011 FIM Motocross: Agueda MX1 Results

2011 FIM Motocross: Agueda MX1 Results

MX1 Report

Rockstar Energy Suzuki World MX1’s Clement Desalle obtained his third overall victory this weekend in Agueda. The Belgian FIM Motocross rider struggled a little bit with the track, but he managed to finish on the top of the rostrum. Desalle is still leading the MX1 Championship with 12 points difference over Antonio Cairoli.

Red Bull Teka KTM Factory Racing MX1’s Cairoli was second overall this weekend, but he was really close to obtaining another GP Motocross victory. Cairoli got the fastest lap in the second heat and he was very close to overtake Desalle in both first
and second motos.

Honda World Motocross’ Bobryshev achieved his second podium of the season thanks to his two fourth positions in today’s races. The Russian took the Lovemytime holeshot award in the first heat and he also did a very good start in the second Motocross MX1, so it’s a matter of time for him to obtain his maiden GP victory.

His FIM Motocross MX1 teammate Rui Gonçalves finished seventh in the first heat, but he succeeded in being third in the second one and he ended with a solid overall fourth position in his home GP. Gonçalves took the holeshot in the second race and he is now very confident for the upcoming GP.

Monster Energy Motocross Yamaha’s Frossard did a very good first race and he finished third, but things did not start well for the French rider in the second one. Frossard had to start from the 18th position and although he did all his best, he crossed the finish line in the seventh position. Frossard is third in the FIM Motocross MX1 World Championship, 36 points behind Desalle.

De Dycker felt really good this weekend and he was able to finish sixth overall, ahead of Boog and Ramon. Leok obtained a solid ninth position and Barragán completed the top ten. The Spanish rider was involved in a tangle in the start of the first race and he finished 13th, and in the second race he crossed the finish line in eighth position.

Nagl was eighth in the first race, but he got a dnf in the second one, as he injured his right thumb and could not finish the race. The German was 14th overall.

Philippaerts crashed in both MX1 Motocross heats and got a dnf in the two motos. Fortunately, he is not injured and he will be ready for the Spanish GP next week.

2011 FIM Motocross: Agueda MX1 Race 1 top 10: 1. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 40:08.979; ; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:00.347; 3. Steven Frossard (FRA, Yamaha), +0:21.563; 4. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:27.953; 5. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:33.869; 6. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Honda), +0:35.561; 7. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), +0:37.354; 8. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:39.820; 9. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Kawasaki), +0:46.508; 10. Tanel Leok (EST, TM), +1:13.168;

2011 FIM Motocross: Agueda MX1 Race 2 top 10: 1. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 40:31.329; ; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:01.614; 3. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), +0:23.597; 4. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:31.453; 5. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), +0:36.322; 6. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Honda), +0:47.326; 7. Steven Frossard (FRA, Yamaha), +0:54.066; 8. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Kawasaki), +1:01.305; 9. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), +1:08.465; 10. Tanel Leok (EST, TM), +1:12.200;

FIM Motocross: Agueda MX1 Overall top 10: 1. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 50 points; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 44 p.; 3. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 36 p.; 4. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), 34 p.; 5. Steven Frossard (FRA, Yamaha), 34 p.; 6. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Honda), 30 p.; 7. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), 28 p.; 8. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), 22 p.; 9. Tanel Leok (EST, TM), 22 p.; 10. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Kawasaki), 21 p.;

FIM Motocross: MX1 Championship top 10: 1. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 249 points; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 237 p.; 3. Steven Frossard (FRA, Yamaha), 213 p.; 4. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 192 p.; 5. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 177 p.; 6. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), 167 p.; 7. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 161 p.; 8. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), 137 p.; 9. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Kawasaki), 136 p.; 10. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), 134 p.;

FIM Motocross MX1 Manufacturers: 1. KTM, 262 points; 2. Suzuki, 253 p.; 3. Yamaha, 245 p.; 4. Honda, 197 p.; 5. Kawasaki, 168 p.; 6. TM, 103 p.; 7. Aprilia, 4 p.

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling.

Wells Lamont FX3 Style 7807 Gloves Review: Work and Play?

Spinning wrenches or twistin’ the throttle, that old glove company has some new looks  A while back, I discovered that an old American company that...

Interview with Josh McSwain of Parmalee: Motorcycle Rider

Motorcycles and country music go together as well as America and apple pie. Josh McSwain, guitarist, keyboardist, and songwriter for Parmalee, a country music...

2020 Kawasaki Ninja 1000SX First Look (12 Fast Facts)

In an alternative universe, right now we’d be providing you with a ride review of the new 2020 Kawasaki Ninja 1000SX. However, due to...

XPD X-Two Boots Review: Low-Rise Motorcycle Footwear

The blur between motorcycle boots and riding shoes continues, with the XPD X-Two boots offering racing-like protection from the ankle down in a mid-height...

Optimizing Recovery with Backmate by Eric Bostrom

During his years as a professional racer, Eric Bostrom had a reputation as one of the fittest riders in the AMA paddock. Now retired...

2020 Vent Derapage RR 125 First Look: Italian Supermoto

Have you ever heard of Vent motorcycles? We hadn’t either until recently. Based in Introbio, less than 40 miles from Milan, Vent started off...