2011 Moto2: Estoril, Portugal Results


Portugal Moto2

After an exciting tussle in the last few laps of the Moto2 race in Estoril, Portugal, Sunday, Stefan Bradl (Viessmann Kiefer Racing) managed to hold off Julián Simón (Mapfre Aspar) to claim victory, with a poignant rostrum finish for Yuki Takahashi (Gresini Racing) who came third less than a week after the tragic death of his brother.

The German rider kept his cool during an eventful race at the front to take his third victory in the Moto2 class and the fifth of his career. The Kalex rider has increased his lead in the World Championship to 13 points over Andrea Iannone (Speed Master).

The Italian Moto2 rider looked potentially on course to triumph in Estoril after clawing his way through the field from starting from the middle of the fifth row, to be leading with only a few laps to go after passing Bradl. However the Suter rider crashed and eventually finished in 13th place, 42 seconds behind the winner.

Bradl and Simón had a mouthwatering fight in the last few laps and it was Bradl who crossed the start finish line a mere 0.147s ahead of the Spaniard. The Mapfre Aspar rider was aiming to collect his maiden Moto2 victory in the class, but had to settle for second place and his 23rd career podium. Takahashi was an emotional third, a further six seconds behind the battle at the front.

It was a positive weekend for Dominique Aegerter (Technomag-CIP) after his highest grid position in Moto2 of fifth. Aegerter then also finished the race with his best result in the class with fourth place. Simone Corsi (Ioda Racing Project) was in fifth, Pol Espargaró (HP Tuenti Speed Up) sixth and Randy Krummenacher (GP Team Switzerland Kiefer Racing) seventh.

Alex Baldolini (Forward Racing), who had his only ever podium in Grand Prix racing here at the circuit in 2010, had his best result of the 2011 campaign so far in eighth place, ahead of Mike di Meglio (Tech 3) and Esteve Rabat (Blusens-STX).

Thomas Lüthi (Interwetten Paddock Moto2) had got the better of Bradl after a few laps in and had just set the fastest lap of the race whilst attempting to pull away at the front, when he lost the front end of his Suter and went down at Turn 13. That was the end of the Swiss rider’s race and he had to return to the pits to retire.

Reigning 125cc World Champion Marc Márquez (Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol) lost control of his bike whilst dicing with British rider Scott Redding (Marc VDS Racing) and clattered into the British rider forcing them both off into the gravel. With both riders failing to score so far in this year’s Moto2 campaign, they both managed to continue but finished down in 21st and 25th respectively, It was not a good day for the British riders in the intermediate class as Bradley Smith (Tech 3) was forced to pull into the pits with a wheel problem with ten laps to go and was classified 29th.

After challenging for a rostrum position, Kenan Sofuoglu suffered an accident which brought an early halt to his race whilst racing in fifth place for Technomag-CIP. Rookie Michele Pirro (Gresini Racing Moto2) had his first non finish in Moto2, crashing out of sixth place on lap one after achieving his best ever qualifying result in Grand Prix. Jules Cluzel (Forward Racing) was another rider not to reach the chequered flag after his fall mid way through the race.

2011 Moto2: Estoril Portugal Results:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1. 25 65 Stefan BRADL GER Viessmann Kiefer Racing Kalex 146.0 44’40.765
2. 20 60 Julian SIMON SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 Suter 146.0 +0.147
3. 16 72 Yuki TAKAHASHI JPN Gresini Racing Moto2 Moriwaki 145.7 +6.188
4. 13 77 Dominique AEGERTER SWI Technomag-CIP Suter 145.1 +16.822
5. 11 3 Simone CORSI ITA Ioda Racing Project FTR 145.1 +17.076
6. 10 44 Pol ESPARGARO SPA HP Tuenti Speed Up FTR 144.6 +25.956
7. 9 4 Randy KRUMMENACHER SWI GP Team Switzerland Kiefer Racing Kalex 144.6 +26.102
8. 8 25 Alex BALDOLINI ITA NGM Forward Racing Suter 144.6 +26.333
9. 7 63 Mike DI MEGLIO FRA Tech 3 Racing Tech 3 144.6 +26.636
10. 6 34 Esteve RABAT SPA Blusens-STX FTR 144.4 +29.077
11. 5 71 Claudio CORTI ITA Italtrans Racing Team Suter 143.9 +39.637
12. 4 15 Alex DE ANGELIS RSM JIR Moto2 Motobi 143.9 +39.913
13. 3 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Speed Master Suter 143.7 +42.466
14. 2 88 Ricard CARDUS SPA QMMF Racing Team Moriwaki 143.5 +47.382
15. 1 80 Axel PONS SPA Pons HP 40 Pons Kalex 143.5 +47.406
16. 35 Raffaele DE ROSA ITA Desguaces La Torre G22 Moriwaki 143.4 +48.025
17. 9 Kenny NOYES USA Avintia-STX FTR 143.2 +52.538
18. 68 Yonny HERNANDEZ COL Blusens-STX FTR 143.2 +53.478
19. 21 Javier FORES SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 Suter 143.1 +53.938
20. 75 Mattia PASINI ITA Ioda Racing Project FTR 143.0 +56.089
21. 93 Marc MARQUEZ SPA Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol Suter 142.6 +1’04.697
22. 51 Michele PIRRO ITA Gresini Racing Moto2 Moriwaki 142.6 +1’04.890
23. 39 Robertino PIETRI VEN Italtrans Racing Team Suter 141.9 +1’17.101
24. 64 Santiago HERNANDEZ COL SAG Team FTR 141.9 +1’18.110
25. 45 Scott REDDING GBR Marc VDS Racing Team Suter 141.5 +1’26.190
26. 19 Xavier SIMEON BEL Tech 3 B Tech 3 141.4 +1’27.600
27. 13 Anthony WEST AUS MZ Racing Team MZ-RE Honda 140.9 +1’36.540
28. 95 Mashel AL NAIMI QAT QMMF Racing Team Moriwaki 137.2 1 Lap
29. 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Tech 3 Racing Tech 3 134.6 2 Laps
Not Classified
53 Valentin DEBISE FRA Speed Up FTR 143.5 3 Laps
14 Ratthapark WILAIROT THA Thai Honda Singha SAG FTR 142.2 5 Laps
36 Mika KALLIO FIN Marc VDS Racing Team Suter 143.3 8 Laps
40 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Pons HP 40 Pons Kalex 142.3 8 Laps
54 Kenan SOFUOGLU TUR Technomag-CIP Suter 138.0 9 Laps
16 Jules CLUZEL FRA NGM Forward Racing Suter 144.8 15 Laps
97 Steven ODENDAAL RSA MS Racing Suter 133.4 19 Laps
12 Thomas LUTHI SWI Interwetten Paddock Moto2 Suter 121.9 22 Laps