2011 AMA Supercross: Arlington Preview

Cowboys Stadium SX

After finishing on the podium at the past nine races, Two-Two Motorsports Honda rider Chad Reed has moved into the 2011 AMA Supercross Championship lead.

His second-place finish last weekend at Tornoto allowed him to sneak into to the AMA SX points lead, the Australian having a three-point advantage over Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto as the series heads to Arlington, Texas, this weekend.

Moving into third after his first win of the Supercross season in Toronto was Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey. The defending Supercross Champion holds a 12-point lead over San Manuel’s James Stewart, who has been in the headlines this week for more than just Supercross racing.

Stewart was arrested Monday evening in Florida for allegedly imperosanting a police officer (read full report here). But his team released a statement, stating Stewart will be compete this weekend at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington.

As for Villopoto, he lost the top SX position due to a first-lap incident with Stewart at Toronto. Both riders had some contact, which pushed Villopoto to the back. He would battle his way to a ninth-place finish. Stewart would finish fourth.

At Toronto, Dungey took the lead in the first lap, holding off Reed for all 20 laps. Taking the final podium position was American Honda’s Trey Canard.

Ryan Dungey (Rockstar Makita Supercross) says: “It’s been a tough one and it feels great to pull off. Everyone goes through this at some point because it’s a tough road. I got a great start tonight which was huge. The track was really tough and you had to watch the mistakes.”

Reed followed Dungey through the finish line to lock in his fourth second place finish this season, with Canard rounding out the podium in third.

In the Eastern Regional Supercross Lites class, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Dean Wilson captured his second race of the season last weekend at Toronto. He was joined on the podium by GEICO Honda riders Justin Barcia and Blake Wharton, respectively.

Barcia leads the points’ race by 16 points over Wilson, with DNA Energy Yamaha’s Ryan Sipes in third.

During last year’s Supercross race at Cowboys Stadium, Dungey took the win en route to earning the title in his rookie year. In the Supercross Lites class, Blake Bagget took the first win of his Supercross career.

Monster Energy Supercross has a storied history in the Dallas-Fort Worth area with the first-ever supercross race held in Dallas on March 1, 1975. From 1983-2008, Texas Stadium hosted 26 consecutive Monster Energy Supercross races and is regarded as one of the sport’s most historical cities having hosted.

Arlington Supercross TV Schedule:

The AMA Supercross class at Cowboys Stadium will be broadcast at noon (EST) on Sunday, April 3. SPEED will broadcast the Supercross Lites class at 6 p.m. (EST) Sunday, April 3.

Arlington Supercross Tickets:

Tickets are available at the Cowboys Stadium Box Office, all Ticketmaster retail locations, online at ticketmaster.com, or charge by phone at (800) 745-3000. Tickets will also be available at participating Yamaha dealers. Club Level tickets are available for $55 Adult/Child; Price Level 2 (near Goal Line) $50 Adult/Child; Price Level 3 (Endzone Area) $45 Adult/Child; Price Level 4 (Upper-Level) $40 Adult/Child. Practice and qualifying begins at 12:30 p.m., and the main event begins at 7 p.m.

AMA Supercross Class Season Standings:

  1. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Honda – 236
  2. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki – 233
  3. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki – 228
  4. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Yamaha – 216
  5. Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda – 214
  6. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM – 159
  7. Justin Brayton, Cornelius, N.C, Yamaha – 137
  8. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda – 134
  9. Davi Millsaps, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha – 128
  10. Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., Yamaha – 109

Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Season Standings

  1. Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda – 138
  2. Dean Wilson, Menifee, Calif., Kawasaki – 122
  3. Ryan Sipes, Ekron, Ky., Yamaha – 115
  4. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Kawasaki – 100
  5. Blake Wharton, Aubrey, Texas, Honda – 89
  6. P.J. Larsen, Murrieta, Calif., KTM – 80
  7. Matt Lemoine, Collinsville, Texas, Kawasaki – 80
  8. Malcolm Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Suzuki – 55
  9. Lance Vincent, Youngsville, La., Honda – 49
  10. Alex Martin, Millville, MN., Honda – 47

Past Supercross Class Winners in Dallas

  • March 20, 2010: Ryan Dungey
  • April 5, 2008: Chad Reed
  • March 31, 2007: James Stewart
  • March 22, 2006: Chad Reed
  • April 2, 2005: James Stewart
  • April 17, 2004: Chad Reed
  • April 12, 2003: Chad Reed
  • April 20, 2002: Ricky Carmichael
  • April 21, 2001: Ricky Carmichael
  • April 08, 2000: Kevin Windham
  • February 27, 1999: Kevin Windham
  • April 25, 1998: Ezra Lusk
  • April 26, 1997: Jeff Emig
  • March 23, 1996: Jeremy McGrath
  • April 29, 1995: Doug Henry
  • April 23, 1994: Mike LaRocco
  • March 28, 1993: Jeremy McGrath
  • May 30, 1992: Damon Bradshaw
  • April 27, 1991: Damon Bradshaw
  • April 07, 1990: Jean-Michel Bayle
  • April 01, 1989: Jeff Ward
  • April 16, 1988: Rick Johnson
  • April 04, 1987: Rick Johnson
  • April 26, 1986: David Bailey
  • May 04, 1985: Rick Johnson
  • April 14, 1984: Johnny O’ Mara
  • April 16, 1983: Mike Bell
  • March 26, 1977: Bob Hannah
  • March 19, 1976: Jim Ellis
  • February 28, 1975: Jim Ellis
  • March 01, 1975(b): Steve Stackable