Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport 2011 Jacksonville Supercross: Preview

2011 Jacksonville Supercross: Preview

AMA Supercross

As the AMA Supercross series heads into EverBank Field, Jacksonville, Fla., the recent performances by Ryan Villopoto has placed him 26 points ahead of San Manuel Yamaha’s James Stewart.

This will be third year that Jacksonville has been on the Supercross schedule, and both Villopoto and Stewart are tied there; Villopoto took the win last year, Stewart in 2009. But the odds favor Stewart due to Jacksonville being a home race for the Haines, Fla., native.

But there’s also a third threat, Two-Two Motorsports Honda rider Chad Reed. Going into Round 11, the Australian Supercross rider trails Stewart by a mere three points.

This gap between Villopoto and Stewart was lenghtened last weekend in Indy when the Monster Energy Kawasaki KX450F rider took his fifth win of the season. Villopoto took the lead on the first lap, leading all 20 laps of the main event. After the race, Villopoto commented.

Ryan Villopoto says: "The track was really tough tonight. The ruts played a big factor throughout the 20-lap main. You really had to be smart out there. The whole team worked together really well tonight, and I couldn’t do it without them."

Villopto was joined on the podium by Stewart in second, and Reed in third.

As for the Eastern Regional Supercross Lites class, a fourth rider in as many races took the his first victory at Indy, DNA Shred Stix / Star Yamaha’s Ryan Sipes. He was followed by GEICO Honda’s Justin Barcia and Monster Energy / Pro Circuit / Kawasaki’s Blake Baggett.

Barcia leads the Supercross Lites point standings, followed six behind by Baggett, and 12 behind by Sipes.

In last year’s Jacksonville Supercross race, Villopoto lead every lap. In the Supercross Lites class, the victory went to the eventual champion, Christophe Pourcel.

Jacksonville Supercross TV Schedule:

Jacksonville Supercross will be broadcasts at 6 p.m. Sunday, March 20, on SPEED TV, preceded by the Supercross Lites class at 5 p.m.

AMA Supercross Class Season Standings (after 10 of 17 rounds):

  1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki – 221
  2. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Yamaha – 195
  3. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Honda – 192
  4. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki – 183
  5. Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda – 169
  6. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM – 129
  7. Justin Brayton, Cornelius, N.C, Yamaha – 121
  8. Davi Millsaps, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha – 114
  9. Brett Metcalfe, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Suzuki – 107
  10. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda – 103

Eastern Regional Supercross Lites Class Season Standings

  1. Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda – 91
  2. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Kawasaki – 85
  3. Ryan Sipes, Ekron, Ky., Yamaha – 79
  4. Dean Wilson, Menifee, Calif., Kawasaki – 75
  5. Blake Wharton, Aubrey, Texas, Honda – 65
  6. Malcolm Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Suzuki – 62
  7. Matt Lemoine, Collinsville, Texas, Kawasaki – 51
  8. P.J. Larsen, Murrieta, Calif., KTM – 46
  9. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Suzuki – 44
  10. Alex Martin, Millville, Minn., Honda – 40

Tickets are available at the EverBank Field Box Office,, all Ticketmaster retail locations, charge by phone at (800) 745-3000, or online at

Practice and qualifying begins at 12:30 p.m., and the main event begins at 7:00 p.m. Club Level Seats are available for $45 Adult/Child; Non-Club Level Seats $20 Adult/Child. Fans can also get into the Pits for FREE from 12:30 – 6 p.m. Race Day when they recycle a MONSTER Energy Can at the stadium Pit Entrance (valid only with event ticket).

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Indian Springfield Lineup First Look (5 Fast Facts)

There are two motorcycles in the 2021 Indian Springfield lineup, with the standard Springfield focused on longer-distance touring, and the Springfield Dark Horse pulling...

2021 BMW R 18 Review (19 Fast Facts on the First Edition)

Over a year after its concept debut, the 2021 BMW R 18 has made its way to production. Much has been written about its...

2021 Honda CRF450R Review (12 First Ride Fast Facts from Glen Helen)

The 2021 Honda CRF450R is all-new for 2021. The entirely new chassis, bodywork, exhaust, and hydraulic clutch highlight the changes to the CRF450R. Add to...

Arai Spoiler EX2 for the Corsair-X Helmet First Look

The Arai Corsair-X is the Japanese company’s flagship helmet and intended for riders of the highest performance motorcycle. MotoGP racers Maverick Viñales of Monster...

2021 Indian Scout Lineup First Look: Five Models (Photos, Specs + Prices)

Although the five-motorcycle Indian Scout lineup is functionally unchanged for 2021—last year was a major expansion of the line—this year, Indian is offering new...

2020 Ural Weekender SE First Look: Special Edition Sidecar

Just in time for autumn, Ural lets loose with the 2020 Ural Weekender SE. Based on the 2WD Gear Up model, the Weekender SE...