Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport Toledo Arenacross: Huntington Preview

Toledo Arenacross: Huntington Preview

AMA Arencross

The 2011 AMA Arenacross Series received a shakeup last weekend at the championship’s first two-night round of the season from Denver.

After watching their fastest competitor in TUF Honda’s Jeff Gibson take the first three main event wins of the year, Babbitt’s Monster Energy/TiLUBE Kawasaki presented by Maxxis’ Tyler Bowers and Chad Johnson took their turns atop the podium.

On Friday night, Bowers tactically worked his way into the lead and became the first rider to end Gibson’s early-season dominance. He also led the Babbitt’s team to a podium sweep on the first night of racing.

On Saturday night, fans were treated to one of the most memorable races in recent memory as Gibson was determined to reclaim the top spot after failing to make the podium the night before. Preventing Gibson from obtaining that top spot was Johnson, who managed to fend off each of his rivals advances to take the win.

Now, as the series returns to Ohio for the second time in three weeks, the championship battle is closer than ever with Gibson holding a slight six-point lead over Johnson, who sits only an additional two points ahead of his teammate Bowers. Toledo’s Huntington Center plays host to its first AMA Arenacross Series race, with two nights of action for the dedicated Ohio fan base.

Just a month into the championship, the Arenacross class title fight is already down to a three-rider battle that should produce unpredictable action and edge-of-your-seat excitement for the remaining 14 weeks.

Also returning to action this weekend after a one-week break is the Arenacross Lites Eastern Regional Championship. After two rounds, Missouri native Adam Gulley sits undefeated atop the standings and will look to keep up the momentum on Friday and Saturday night.

Advance tickets are available for this weekend’s Toledo Arenacross at the Huntington Center Box Office, Ticketmaster charge by phone and Tickets cost $2 more the day of the race.

Arenacross Class Points (After Race 5 of 19)

  1. Jeff Gibson, Blacklick, Ohio, Honda – 113
  2. Chad Johnson, Rhinelander, Wis., Kawasaki – 107
  3. Tyler Bowers, Danville, Ky., Kawasaki – 105
  4. Gray Davenport, Lehi, Utah, Kawasaki – 81
  5. Zach Ames, Prospect, Ohio, Honda – 76
  6. Cole Siebler, Emmett, Idaho, Ho nda – 74
  7. Nathan Skaggs, Chillicothe, Ohio, Honda – 70
  8. Cory Green, Nowata, Okla., Suzuki – 54
  9. Kevin Johnson, Spring, Texas, Yamaha – 54
  10. Willy Browning, Pleasantville, Ohio, Honda – 53

Arenacross Lites Class Western Regional Points (After Race 3 of 10)

  1. Chad Cook, Oklahoma City, Okla., Kawasaki – 72
  2. Tanner Moore, Auburn, Kan., KTM – 45
  3. Aviery Hickey, Decatur, Texas, Kawasaki – 44
  4. Bobby Fitch, Littleton, Colo., Honda – 44
  5. Travis Smith, Lancaster, Calif., Yamaha – 38
  6. Ricky Yorks, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha – 29
  7. Jeremy Huddleston, Eustace, Texas, KTM – 27
  8. Zachary Jaynes, Princeton, Texas, Yamaha – 27
  9. Cory Green, Nowata, Okla., Suzuki – 25
  10. Tanner Young, Marland, Okla., Yamaha – 22

Arenacross Lites Class Eastern Regional Points (After Race 2 of 10)

  1. Adam Gulley, Jonesburg, Mo., Kawasaki – 50
  2. Patrick Massie, Washington Court, Ohio, Honda – 40
  3. Kyle White, Freeport, Ill., Honda – 38
  4. Tyler Sehr, Belleville, Ill., Honda – 25
  5. Steve Mages, Sardinia, Ohio, Kawasaki – 22
  6. Austin Coon, Spencer, W.V., Honda – 21
  7. Zachary Jaynes, Princeton, Texas, Yamaha – 20
  8. Kyle Hussey, Moscow Mills, Mo., Kawasaki – 19
  9. Chad Cook, Oklahoma City, Okla., Kawasaki – 16
  10. Travis Merrill, Fowler, Ill., KTM – 15

New for 2011! Live timing and scoring from each round of the AMA Arenacross Series. To follow the intense racing action live, log onto

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Harley-Davidson IRONe12 Review (14 Fast Facts)

Electric bicycles are growing in popularity across a broad spectrum of people and a wide array of uses. This is a story about one...

2021 Honda Rebel 1100 First Look (8 Fast Facts + 40 Photos)

In spite of the Japanese manufacturers’ general retreat from the cruiser market, Honda is going against the current with its third iteration of the...

Garmin Montana 700i Review: Motorcycle GPS Adventure Partner

I am starting to do adventure motorcycle riding here in the Pacific Northwest, and I am a fanatic about my personal safety. I do...

2021 Kawasaki Z H2 SE First Look (5 Fast Facts—Supercharged)

We met the Kawasaki Z H2 last year, and now it’s time to upgrade. The 2021 Kawasaki Z H2 SE takes the standard supercharged...

2021 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R and ZX-10RR: All-New (15 Fast Facts)

Kawasaki has totally revamped its 2021 Ninja ZX-10R and ZX-10RR superbikes. The motorcycles, built with input from Kawasaki Racing Team (KRT), won the past...

2021 Kawasaki KLX300SM First Look with Specs (6 Fast Facts)

Adding to the KLX300R and all-new KLX300 dual-sport, Kawasaki has completed its 2021 KLX lineup with an unexpected motorcycle. Meet the 2021 Kawasaki KLX300SM,...