Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport Denver Arenacross: Round 4 Preview

Denver Arenacross: Round 4 Preview

2011 AMA Arenacross

The AMA Arenacross Series heads to its fourth round of the season this weekend at the Denver Coliseum with TUF Honda’s Jeff Gibson continuing his quest to becoming the first rider to go undefeated in the course of the championship.

Through the first three rounds of the season, Gibson, has managed to take the checkered flag. With two nights of action coming this weekend, the opportunity for his rivals to end the dominance is there.

Gibson’s advantage over his closest competitor in the standings is already in the double-digits at 15 points over Babbitt’s Monster Energy/TiLUBE Kawasaki presented by Maxxis’ Chad Johnson.

The opportunity to dethrone Gibson has been there, thanks to strong rides by Johnson and other riders like his teammate Tyler Bowers and Foremost Insurance/Spinechillers/’s Nathan Skaggs.

Traditionally, back-to-back nights of high-intensity action produces some unpredictability while also giving riders who may find trouble on the first night a chance at redemption on night two. Should Gibson manage to maintain his momentum, you can bet backing it up might very well be his biggest challenge all season.

Jayme Dalsing (AMA Arenacross Series Director) says: "I think it really just boils down to being in the right place at the right time. Jeff (Gibson) has been fortunate in addition to being fast. However, the fastest riders in the field are so close together on speed that it’s those little mistakes or those windows of opportunity that ultimately determine the outcomes of things."

While Gibson’s early dominance is hard to ignore, the series is still just three rounds into the championship and beginning this weekend in Denver, hits possibly the most difficult stretch of the season.

This stretch includes three two-night rounds over the next four weeks in addition to an enduring travel schedule that ultimately ends up on the West Coast at the conclusion of the run. A shakeup of some sort is likely imminent.

As the Arenacross class soldiers on through its championship, the Arenacross Lites Western Regional Championship returns to action in Denver after making its 2011 debut at the opening round in Tulsa.

Xtreme Cycle and ATV Suzuki’s Cory Green captured the first win of 2011, but by virtue of his top-10 standing in the Arenacross class, will not defend the win. As a result, a new face will stand atop the box in Denver in the Arenacross Lites class.

Advance tickets are available for this weekend’s Denver Arenacross at the Denver Coliseum Box Office, Ticketmaster charge by phone and Tickets cost $2 more the day of the race.

Arenacross Class Points (After Race 3 of 19)

  1. Jeff Gibson, Blacklick, Ohio, Honda – 75
  2. Chad Johnson, Rhinelander, Wis., Kawasaki – 60
  3. Tyler Bowers, Danville, Ky., Kawasaki – 58
  4. Nathan Skaggs, Chillicothe, Ohio, Honda – 51
  5. Zach Ames, Prospect, Ohio, Honda – 48
  6. Cole Siebler, Emmett, Idaho, Honda – 45
  7. Gray Davenport, Lehi, Utah, Kawasaki – 43
  8. Willy Browning, Pleasantville, Ohio, Honda – 36
  9. Cory Green, Nowata, Okla., Suzuki – 35
  10. Kevin Johnson, Spring, Texas, Yamaha – 30

Arenacross Lites Class Eastern Regional Points (After Race 2 of 10)

  1. Adam Gulley, Jonesburg, Mo., Kawasaki – 50
  2. Patrick Massie, Washington Court, Ohio, Honda – 40
  3. Kyle White, Freeport, Ill., Honda – 38
  4. Tyler Sehr, Belleville, Ill., Honda – 25
  5. Steve Mages, Sardinia, Ohio, Kawasaki – 22
  6. Austin Coon, Spencer, W.V., Honda – 21
  7. Zachary Jaynes, Princeton, Texas, Yamaha – 20
  8. Kyle Hussey, Moscow Mills, Mo., Kawasaki – 19
  9. Chad Cook, Oklahoma City, Okla., Kawasaki – 16
  10. Travis Merrill, Fowler, Ill., KTM – 15

Arenacross Lites Class Western Regional Points (After Race 1 of 10)

  1. Cory Green, Nowata, Okla., Suzuki – 25
  2. Chad Cook, Oklahoma City, Okla., Kawasaki – 22
  3. Aviery Hickey, Decatur, Texas, Kawasaki – 20
  4. Brian Alquist, Lagrange, Calif., Honda – 18
  5. Travis Smith, Lancaster, Calif., Yamaha – 16
  6. Tanner Moore, Auburn, Kan., KTM – 15
  7. Jeremy Huddleston, Eustace, Texas, KTM – 14
  8. Chase McGrath, Bennington, Neb., Honda – 13
  9. Travis Merrill, Fowler, Ill., KTM – 12
  10. Cody Doerfler, Peyton, Colo., Yamaha – 11

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling.

2021 Soriano Motori Lineup First Look: Electric Sport Motorcycles

It can seem like brands never go away. In recent years we have seen the resurgence of marquee brands such as Indian, as well...

2021 KTM Youth Motocross Lineup First Look: 6 Models

It isn’t a revolutionary year for KTM’s mini MXers. Regardless, there are still significant upgrades to the 2021 KTM youth motocross lineup, besides the...

2020 MV Agusta Brutale 1000 RR Coming To America, Finally

Arriving late to the 2020 party, the 2020 MV Agusta Brutale 1000 RR is here—we debuted it in November. It has many of the...

Ducati Museum Reopens July 4 in Borgo Panigale, Bologna

After an extended closure due to Italian efforts to combat COVID-19, the Ducati Museum in Bologna is opening on July 4. The opening is...

BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team Returns To Action: Strafing Lausitzring

It seems like ancient history now, but the 2020 FIM Superbike World Championship did get in the Australian Round before the globe shut down...

2020 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Series Start Postponed To August

The status of the 2020 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship Series suffered another blow, as promoter MX  Sports Pro Racing says that the opening...