AMA Supercross: Anaheim Facts & Stats

2011 AMA Supercross

The 2011 AMA Supercross season begins this weekend at Angel Stadium in Anaheim, California.

All eyes will be on the reigning champion Ryan Dungey. The Rockstar Makita Suzuki RM-Z450 rider made history last year, as he is the only rider to ever win both the AMA Supercross and Motocross titles in a rookie year.

But he will have much challenge from two of the sport’s top riders who will return: seven-time SX Champ James Stewart (Yamaha) and two-time SX champ Chad Reed (Honda).

Dungey has won the opening race of the following season just 10 times, finished second seven times, finished third five times. Dungey has also finished on the podium 22 times and defended the title 11 times. Ricky Carmichael is the last rider to defend his championship (2005, 2006).

In addition to Carmichael, Bob Hannah, Jeff Stanton and Jeremy McGrath are the only riders to defend their Supercross class championship. Can Ryan Dungey defend his title?

Following are the stats and facts on Anaheim Supercross:

  • The first race was held on December 4, 1976, and Marty Smith won on a Honda
  • This race marks the 54th time the gate will drop for a Supercross class race in Anaheim
  • This will be the first time that Angel Stadium will not host three stops of Monster Energy Supercross
  • Anaheim holds the record for most Supercross class races

Supercross Class Wins by Brand: Anaheim
Honda: 19
Yamaha: 19
Kawasaki: 8
Suzuki: 7

Three different brands won Supercross class races in 2010

Only twice have three different riders won in Anaheim. In 2002, David Vuillemin, Mike LaRocco and Ricky Carmichael won the three main events. In 2010, James Stewart, Ryan Dungey and Ryan Villopoto won the three main events.

First-Time Winners in Anaheim
1979: Kent Howerton
1982: Donnie Hansen
1983: David Bailey
1984: Johnny O’Mara
1990: Damon Bradshaw
1993: Jeremy Mcgrath
2003: Chad Reed
2009: Josh Grant

  • Chad Reed will be racing for his seventh win in Anaheim
  • James Stewart will be racing for his eighth win in Anaheim
  • Since 1974, the winner of the opening race of the year has gone on to win the Supercross class championship 17 times
  • Since 1974, the Supercross class champion of that season finished in the top five at the opening race of the year 32 times
  • In 2002, Ricky Carmichael finished 21st at the season opener and won the Supercross class championship. That had never been done before.
  • In 2009, James Stewart finished 19th at the season opener and came back to win the Supercross class championship
  • In 1997, Jeff Emig finished sixth at the season opener and came back to win the Supercross class championship

    In 1999 Jeremy McGrath finished seventh at the season opener and came back to win the Supercross class championship

Supercross Lites Class Stats: Anaheim 1
The first race was held February 2, 1985 and Mike Healy won on a Suzuki

This will be the 46th time the gate will drop for a Supercross Lites race in Anaheim

Supercross Lites Class Wins by Brand: Anaheim
Kawasaki: 21
Suzuki: 8
Honda: 7
Yamaha: 6
KTM: 3

Supercross Class Career Starts
Mike LaRocco: 228
Larry Ward: 189
Kevin Windham: 175
Jeremy McGrath: 173
Jeff Ward: 160
Chad Reed: 124
Tim Ferry: 120
Johnny O’Mara: 120
Ricky Carmichael: 115
Jeff Stanton: 104

Number of Supercross Class Seasons with 1 or More Starts
Mike LaRocco: 17
Jeff Ward: 14
Kevin Windham: 14
Larry Ward: 13
Jeremy McGrath: 12

Most Consecutive Supercross Class Starts
Chad Reed: 116
Jeremy McGrath: 113
Kevin Windham: 73

Most Consecutive Seasons of Winning at least 1 Supercross Class Race
Jeremy McGrath: 9
Jeff Ward: 8
Chad Reed: 7
Rick Johnson: 6
Mark Barnett: 5

All-Time Supercross Class Top Five Finishes
Mike LaRocco: 145 in 228 starts
Jeremy McGrath: 137 in 173 starts
Chad Reed: 109 in 124 starts
Kevin Windham: 106 in 175 starts
Jeff Ward: 92 in 160 starts

All-Time Supercross Class Podiums Finishes
Jeremy McGrath: 111 in 173 starts
Chad Reed: 103 in 124 starts
Ricky Carmichael: 87 in 115 starts
Mike LaRocco: 81 in 228 starts
Kevin Windham: 72 in 175 starts

All-Time Supercross Class Best Season Average Finish
Jeremy McGrath: 1996, 1.06 place average finish
Ricky Carmichael: 2001, 1.1 place average finish
James Stewart: 2007, 1.3 place average finish
Chad Reed: 2004, 1.4 place average finish
Rick Johnson: 1986, 1.5 place average finish
*In 1975, Jimmy Ellis won all four races

Most Supercross Class Race Winners and Champions on the Same Gate in a Single Race

1984, Race 4, Atlanta
Winners: 8, Johnny O’Mara, Mark Barnett, Jeff Ward, Rick Johnson, David Bailey, Ron Lechien, Bob Hannah and Broc Glover
Champions: 3, Hannah, Barnett, Bailey

1985, Race 2, Anaheim
Winners: 8, Broc Glover, Jeff Ward, Mark Barnett, Rick Johnson, Johnny O’Mara, Ron Lechien, David Bailey and Bob Hannah
Champions: 4, Hannah, Barnett, Bailey, Barnett, O’Mara