Yamaha MotoGP 2011 Team Structure

Yamaha MotoGP

The Yamaha Factory Racing Team has announced the new team structure for the 2011 MotoGP World Championship season.

We learned about the change first from Valentino Rossi’s press manager for the last seven years.

Katie Baines said today in an email: "As many of you will know already this has been my last season with Yamaha and I am moving on to a new life, with a bit less traveling involved!"

She continued: "I would like to take this occasion to say thank you to all of you with whom I have had the pleasure of working over the last seven years, I have had an incredible time in MotoGP with Yamaha and I am leaving with many wonderful memories."

Gavin Matheson will be taking over as Press Officer for the 2011 Yamaha Factory Team.

Also, as previously announced, American rider and 2010 MotoGP "Rookie of the Year" Ben Spies joins the team, bringing with him current crew chief Tom Houseworth, a partnership now unbroken since 2002.

Spies’ crew will also include Gregory Wood, mechanic from his 2010 Tech3 Yamaha Team, Jurij Pellegrini, mechanic from his 2009 Yamaha World Superbike Team and YMR mechanic Mattia Bonera.

Data Engineer Erkki Siukola and Mechanic Olivier Boutron complete the Team and will start with Yamaha in January 2011.

Jorge Lorenzo’s championship winning crew will remain unchanged.

The Yamaha Factory Racing Team management role will change for 2011 with new Team Director Massimo Meregalli and current Team Manager Wilco Zeelenberg sharing responsibility for the collective team management tasks.

During race weekends Wilco Zeelenberg will retain his focus as manager for Jorge Lorenzo’s crew whilst Massimo Meregalli will take on the equivalent role for Ben Spies and his crew.

An organizational chart detailing names, titles and team structure was provided by the Yamaha Factory Racing media team.

Simply click and expand the image above to view the new 2011 Yamaha MotoGP Team Organziation Chart.