Motorcycle Racing News Phillip Island Moto2: Australian GP Results

Phillip Island Moto2: Australian GP Results

2010-phillip-island-moto2-australian-gp-results (1)

Australia MotoGP

Alex de Angelis took his first victory in the Moto2 class as he led his JiR Moto2 team bike across the finish line ahead of Scott Redding (Marc VDS Racing Team) and Andrea Iannone (Fimmco Speed Up) in the intermediate category race for the Australian Grand Prix at Phillip Island.

The Sammarinese Moto2 rider lined up in pole position and recovered from a start at Phillip Island which saw him drop to fourth position before slowly entering the battle for the lead.

A strong Moto2 finish to the race saw De Angelis win by a margin of 2.172s as he followed up his first podium of the year last time out in Malaysia with a first victory of 2010. It was also his first GP win since his only previous triumph, which came in Valencia in the 250cc class in 2006.

Redding rounded off an impressive Moto2 weekend with his second podium of the year as he rode to second – his best Moto2 result to date.

The 17-year-old Brit showed great determination and maturity to challenge at the front of the race for the most part, eventually placing second having started from the same position on the grid.

In third position Iannone came in a fraction over eight-tenths of a second behind Redding, as he suffered from rear-tire issues towards the end of the Moto2 Phillip Island race, having gone with the softer Dunlop option.

The Italian had also been part of the leading group for the majority of the race, having engaged in a thrilling battle with the two riders who finished ahead of him. It was his seventh podium of the campaign as he moved to within two points of Julián Simón in the fight for second position in the overall standings.

The Mapfre Aspar rider ended the race in fourth position, ahead of Stefan Bradl (Viessmann Kiefer Racing) and team-mate Mike di Meglio, the German equalling his best result of the season so far and the Frenchman recording his highest placement in the category to date.

2010 Moto2 World Champion Toni Elías (Gresini Racing) came out on top in an engrossing contest for seventh position, ahead of Simone Corsi (JiR Moto2), Alex Debón (Aeroport de Castelló-Ajo) and Karel Abraham (Cardion AB Motoracing) who completed the top ten. Thomas Lüthi (Interwetten Moriwaki Racing) had also been involved for much of the race and ended 11th.

2010 Moto2 Results: Phillip Island, Australia


Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1. 25 15 Alex DE ANGELIS RSM JIR Moto2 Motobi 167.4 39’51.102
2. 20 45 Scott REDDING GBR Marc VDS Racing Team Suter 167.3 +2.172
3. 16 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Fimmco Speed Up Speed Up 167.2 +2.974
4. 13 60 Julian SIMON SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Suter 166.7 +10.344
5. 11 65 Stefan BRADL GER Viessmann Kiefer Racing Suter 166.7 +10.617
6. 10 63 Mike DI MEGLIO FRA Mapfre Aspar Team Suter 166.2 +17.847
7. 9 24 Toni ELIAS SPA Gresini Racing Moto2 Moriwaki 165.5 +27.145
8. 8 3 Simone CORSI ITA JIR Moto2 Motobi 165.5 +27.249
9. 7 6 Alex DEBON SPA Aeroport de Castello – Ajo FTR 165.5 +27.398
10. 6 17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Cardion AB Motoracing FTR 165.5 +27.666
11. 5 12 Thomas LUTHI SWI Interwetten Moriwaki Moto2 Moriwaki 165.5 +27.677
12. 4 10 Fonsi NIETO SPA Holiday Gym G22 Moriwaki 165.5 +27.851
13. 3 77 Dominique AEGERTER SWI Technomag-CIP Suter 165.5 +28.333
14. 2 80 Axel PONS SPA Tenerife 40 Pons Pons Kalex 165.5 +28.438
15. 1 71 Claudio CORTI ITA Forward Racing Suter 165.4 +28.497
16. 35 Raffaele DE ROSA ITA Tech 3 Racing Tech 3 165.2 +32.644
17. 72 Yuki TAKAHASHI JPN Tech 3 Racing Tech 3 164.8 +37.671
18. 2 Gabor TALMACSI HUN Fimmco Speed Up Speed Up 164.5 +42.933
19. 68 Yonny HERNANDEZ COL Blusens-STX BQR-Moto2 164.3 +46.144
20. 25 Alex BALDOLINI ITA Caretta Technology Race Dept I.C.P. 164.2 +46.164
21. 8 Anthony WEST AUS MZ Racing Team MZ-RE Honda 164.2 +46.370
22. 14 Ratthapark WILAIROT THA Thai Honda PTT Singha SAG Bimota 163.9 +51.841
23. 16 Jules CLUZEL FRA Forward Racing Suter 163.7 +54.114
24. 40 Sergio GADEA SPA Tenerife 40 Pons Pons Kalex 163.3 +1’00.729
25. 46 Javier FORES SPA Maquinza-SAG Team Bimota 163.0 +1’04.140
26. 44 Roberto ROLFO ITA Italtrans S.T.R. Suter 163.0 +1’04.185
27. 39 Robertino PIETRI VEN Italtrans S.T.R. Suter 162.7 +1’09.299
28. 53 Valentin DEBISE FRA WTR San Marino Team ADV 162.7 +1’09.794
29. 61 Vladimir IVANOV UKR Gresini Racing Moto2 Moriwaki 162.3 +1’16.060
30. 49 Alexander CUDLIN AUS Qatar Moto2 Team BQR-Moto2 162.3 +1’16.195
31. 9 Kenny NOYES USA Jack & Jones by A.Banderas Promoharris 161.1 +1’34.156
32. 28 Kazuki WATANABE JPN Racing Team Germany Suter 160.0 1 Lap
33. 88 Yannick GUERRA SPA Holiday Gym G22 Moriwaki 159.4 1 Lap
34. 5 Joan OLIVE SPA Jack & Jones by A.Banderas Promoharris 159.3 1 Lap
Not Classified
95 Mashel AL NAIMI QAT Blusens-STX BQR-Moto2 156.6 5 Laps
56 Michael RANSEDER AUT Vector Kiefer Racing Suter 164.6 7 Laps
66 Hiromichi KUNIKAWA JPN Bimota – M Racing Bimota 122.5 15 Laps
Not Starting
55 Hector FAUBEL SPA Marc VDS Racing Team Suter 0 Lap
47 Wayne MAXWELL AUS Matteoni Racing Moriwaki 0 Lap

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Triumph Tiger 850 Sport Review (13 Fast Facts)

Marketing is a funny thing. Usually, manufacturers exaggerate the displacement in model names—even if only by a little bit. However, in the case of...

2021 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Special First Look (5 Fast Facts)

The 2021 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Special changes this year focus on new colors and finishes. However, there are some other updates worth discussing. The...

2021 DOT Certified Helmet Performance Testing Update

We provide some deep insight into the latest 2021 DOT Certified Motorcycle Helmet performance testing, from failure rate to suggestions for regulators.

2021 Benelli TRK502 Review (15 Fast Facts for Sport-Touring)

Last month we tested the 2021 Benelli TRK502X adventure motorcycle and came away impressed. At first glance, the standard TRK502 doesn’t seem that much...

2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Road Glide First Look (6 Fast Facts)

The 2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Road Glide is here, and it’s louder and sleeker than ever—plus it has some wild new wheels. Here’s what’s new...

2021 Houston 3 Fantasy Supercross Tips (11 Fast Facts)

The 2021 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series is off to a mind-boggling start. The playing field is so level that the bubble is right...