2010 FIM Motocross Awards

Motocross Awards

Following the same format as last year, the 2010 Youthstream MX Awards were once again held in the paddock of the Red Bull FIM Motocross of Nations at the end of the event’s opening day.

After a dose of exciting racing, the fans were offered the unique chance to watch the Official Awards Ceremony of the 2010 FIM Motocross World Championships.

With Paul Malin and Lisa Leyland presenting the evening, FIM President Vito Ippolito, Youthstream President Giuseppe Luongo and FIM/CMS President Dr. Wolfgang Srb welcomed everybody to the 2010 Youthstream MX Awards ceremony and handed out the prizes to the personalities and athletes.

Every prize was introduced by a moving video clip, which summarized the successful season of the awarded personalities and also portrayed the effort and will which is behind every Grand Prix.

Starting off with KTM, winning the MX1 and MX2 Manufacturers World Titles, the Manufacturer Innovation Award courtesy of their blistering fast 350 SX-F machine, the MX1 and MX2 Winning Team Award and the Mechanic of the Year Award, the ceremony awarded also MX3 Manufacturer World Champion Yamaha and then moved to the personality of Dave Nicoll, the current FIM Race Director receiving a Career Award.

Among the media, the Journalist, Photographer and Website of the Year were awarded to pay tribute to their hard work promoting the series worldwide.

Organizers were also handed an award as Best Organizer (Sevlievo in MX1/2, Vantaa in MX3) and Best Cooperation (Glen Helen in MX1/2, Troyan in MX3).

The 2010 World Champions were also awarded, with the list including established stars such as Tony Cairoli and Marvin Musquin, as well as youngsters such as Jake Pinhancos and Henry Jacobi.

Among the special awards was a cheque handed to Wings For Life by Youthstream, while also Andrew McFarlane and Danny “Magoo” Chandler were remembered after their tragic loss of this year.

American David Clabaugh, a friend of Magoo’s, and Ilario Ricci, former team manager of Andrew McFarlane, went on stage to receive two special paintings by Rob Kinsey, one on Chandler and one on McFarlane.

The ceremony eventually finished with a celebrative dinner rounding off this penultimate day of the Red Bull FIM Motocross of Nations.

The list of the awarded personalities includes:

FIM Motocross Awards
1. MX1 World Champion – Antonio Cairoli
2. MX2 World Champion – Marvin Musquin
3. MX3 World Champion – Carlos Campano* (award received by Spain’s MXoN Team Manager Josep Alonso)
4. Women’s World Champion – Stephanie Laier*
5. Veterans’ World Cup Winner – Mats Nilsson*
6. 125cc Junior World Champion – Jordi Tixier*
7. 85cc Junior World Champion – Henry Jacobi
8. 65cc Junior World Champion – Jake Pinhancos
9. “Jan De Groot” Award – Jeffrey Herlings*
10. MX1 Manufacturer World Champion – KTM, handed to Pit Beirer
11. MX2 Manufacturer World Champion – KTM, handed to Heinz Kinigadner
12. MX3 Manufacturer World Champion – YAMAHA, handed to Massimo Raspanti
13. MX1 Winning Team – Red Bull KTM Factory Racing, handed to Claudio De Carli
14. MX2 Winning Team – Red Bull KTM Factory Racing, handed to Josef Sperl
15. MX3 Winning Team – Yamaha Andalucia*
16. Motocross MX1/MX2 Best Organizer – Sevlievo, Bulgaria, handed to Ivan Tsenov
17. Motocross MX3 Best Organizer – Vantaa, Finland, handed to Tomi Konttinen
18. Motocross MX1/MX2 Best Cooperation – Glen Helen, USA, handed to Lori Bryant
19. Motocross MX3 Best Cooperation – Troyan, Bulgaria, handed to Rumen Petkov

FIM Motocross Special Awards
1. Lifetime Career Award – Dave Nicoll
2. Journalist of the year – Adam Wheeler
3. Photographer of the year – Stefano Taglioni
4. Website of the year – Moto.it, handed to Ippolito Fassati
5. Manufacturer Innovation – KTM 350 SX-F, handed to Stefan Everts
6. Mechanic of the Year – Nazzareno Properzi (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing MX1/Head Mechanic)
7. Youngest Organizer – Valkenswaard, The Netherlands*
8. Wings For Life – Heinz Kinigadner & Pit Beirer
9. Memorial Award Andrew McFarlane and Danny “Magoo” Chandler, handed to Ilario Ricci and David Clabaugh respectively