Barber Motorsports AMA Supersport Preview

AMA Pro Racing

The Young Gun class of 2010 in AMA Pro SuperSport has produced some of the most exciting, memorable and historic results in only its second year.

With six different riders posting wins during the season, the class was super competitive from the drop of the first green flag back in March at Daytona. And this weekend at Barber Motorsports Park, the AMA Pro SuperSport National Champions will be crowned in both Young and Top Gun categories.

That race at Daytona was an indicator of what was to come in 2010 when Cameron Beaubier took a dramatic victory by 0.001 of a second over Joey Pascarella. Close competition and new faces were what the season was all about as Elena Myers took her first and a historic first professional sprint race AMA Pro victory for a female with her solid race win at Infineon Raceway.

Joey Pascarella bounced back from the initial defeat at Daytona to win the second Daytona race as well as three other races as he won the West Divisional Championship. Another star came out of the East Division; J.D. Beach took seven wins on his way to securing the East Division Championship and also found the time to win in the tough AMA Pro Flat Track competition as well.

Huntley Nash also took his first wins in the class this year and the on-track battle between LTD Racing Yamaha, Rockwall Performance Yamaha, Lucas Oil RMR Suzuki and DNA Energy Drink CNR Motorsports Yamaha teams dominated the action all year.

But there were other great stories in SuperSport Young Guns, James Rispoli took a popular win at the most recent race at NJMP and a number of riders featured during the year, Tomas Puerta took pole at Laguna Seca and has run fast all year, Austin Dehaven, Miles Thornton, Eric Stump, Scott Gilbert and Ryan Kerr have all played key roles in the action this season.

The Top Gun class was created so that riders who possessed expert level licenses from recognized road racing organizations could compete in their local markets under the halo of an AMA Pro Road Racing event. All year long, a number of riders took advantage of this class within a class to compete and in a few cases, they almost won a couple of races.

Tyler O'Hara took a pair of podium finishes at Infineon Raceway and was challenging for the lead at Laguna Seca. David Gaviria and Michael Corbino have competed under the Top Gun banner and they will join the regular SuperSport Young Gun competitors at Barber as they all vie for the title of AMA Pro SuperSport Young Gun and Top Gun National Champions.

This weekend's two races at the 2.8 mile 14 turn natural road course will both count, Moto style towards crowning the Champions in each division.

In addition to the Number One title plate that will be presented to each respective Champion on Monday night at the Barber Vintage Motorsports Museum in Birmingham, Ala., there will be the Liquid Performance AMA Pro SuperSport National Championship Pole Award and also Liquid Performance AMA Pro SuperSport National Championship Most Laps Led Award, two cash prize awards of $1,000 each for the rider who takes the coveted pole position and also the rider who collectively leads the most laps in the two races.

The 17-lap races will be run on Saturday, September 25th and Sunday, September 26th. The combined results will determine the winners in each category using Moto style scoring.

Going into the Barber race weekend, all bets are off as last year, a first time winner took the victory in the Barber SuperSpor race. Garrett Carter took his first win in his first ever SuperSport start in the rain shortened race.

Of this year's riders competing the for the Young Gun title, Huntley Nash had the best result last year, finishing third while Joey Pascarella took fifth, Tomas Puerta was seventh and J.D. Beach finished 12th. This year's SuperSport races have been dominated at different times by certain riders and everyone will be going all out in the quest for the Number One Plate.

The AMA Pro SuperSport class has been a showcase for the future all season long and this season finale for the National Championships should be another chapter in great racing by a great group of new and young competitors.

Practice and qualifying start on Friday, Sept. 24 at noon, the SuperSport riders will take to the track at 2:00 p.m. for practice and then first round qualifying will begin at 5 p.m.

Final qualifying will be at 8 a.m. Saturday, Sept. 25, and the first of two doubleheader weekend races ill be at 1 p.m. Saturday, Sept. 25. Race two will be Sunday at 1 p.m. after the Pit Lane Fan Walk and autograph session which begins at 11:15 a.m.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.