Aragon MotoGP: Sunday Guide

Aragon MotoGP

Casey Stoner starts from pole for the first time since the opening race of the year at Qatar. Stoner will be going for his first win since the Malaysian Grand Prix last year.

Second on the grid is Jorge Lorenzo, maintaining his record of qualifying on the front row at every MotoGP race this year. If Lorenzo finishes in the top three, it will be his 14th successive podium finish. A win for Lorenzo would make him the first rider to win three MotoGP races in the same country in one season.

Taking the final place on the front row is Dani Pedrosa, who is aiming to be the first Honda rider since Valentino Rossi is 2003 to win three successive MotoGP races.

Both Dani Pedrosa and Jorge Lorenzo have had twelve MotoGP victories. One more victory for either rider will give them the same number of premier-class wins as Randy Mamola and Max Biaggi, who are the two riders with most premier-class wins without winning the world title.

Heading the second row is Nicky Hayden, who has not had a podium finish since he was third at the Indianapolis Grand Prix last year. This is just the third time in the 800cc MotoGP era that Ducati have had two riders qualify in the top four; the other occasions this has occurred were in Germany last year and Mugello earlier this year.

Fifth on the grid is Ben Spies, who is the highest qualifying non-factory rider for the fifth successive race.

Taking the final slot on the second row is Randy de Puniet, who is the second best Honda rider in qualifying.

Seventh on the grid is Valentino Rossi, who has now made seven MotoGP starts without taking a win, which equals his longest barren run since winning for the first time in the premier-class at Donington in 2000.

Andrea Dovizioso has qualified on the third row of the grid for the fifth time in 2010.

Hector Barbera has finished in the top ten five times in the last six races, the exception being at Laguna Seca when he suffered a mechanical failure.

Eleventh fastest qualifier is Colin Edwards, who is making his 100th Grand Prix start riding for Yamaha.

Aragon Moto2

Andrea Iannone has qualified on pole for the fifth time in 2010. He has already won twice from pole this year; at Mugello and Assen.

Second on the grid, Scott Redding will be starting from the front row for the third successive race. Redding will be aiming to become the youngest ever rider to win an intermediate-class Grand Prix, to add to his record of being the youngest ever rider to win a 125cc GP race.

Alex de Angelis has qualified on the front row for the first time since the Italian Grand Prix at Mugello. De Angelis’ tenth place finish at the Catalan Grand Prix is his best result so far this year in the Moto2 class.

Julian Simon, who has qualified in fourth place on the grid, has finished second at the last two races.

Heading the second row of the grid is Simone Corsi, who has not had a podium finish since he was third at Mugello.

Claudio Corti’s sixth place on the grid is his best qualifying result since he was on pole at Silverstone.

Championship leader Toni Elias has qualified down in 12th place on the grid, only the second time this year that he has not been on either of the front two rows; the other occasion was at Silverstone when he was 18th fastest qualifier and finished tenth.

Eighth on the grid is Michele Pirro, who is making his debut in the Moto2 class having previously had 29 starts in the 125cc class, the last of which was at Phillip Island in 2006.

Aragon 125cc GP

Spanish riders have won the last twenty-one 125cc races. The last non-Spanish winner in the 125cc class was Andrea Iannone at the Catalan Grand Prix last year.

Marc Marquez starts from pole for the eighth time in 2010. He has won four races so far this year when he has started from pole.

Second fastest qualifier is Sandro Cortese, who is starting from his best grid position since he was on pole at Mugello.

Nico Terol has only once failed to be on the podium in the nine races that he has finished in 2010, which was a 4th place at Silverstone.

Efren Vazquez is fourth on the grid – his first front row start since the Spanish Grand Prix at Jerez.

Pol Espargaro has failed to qualify on the front row of the grid for only the second time this year.

Bradley Smith has qualified in sixth place on the grid, which ends a sequence of eight successive front row starts.