Thor MX: Motocross Season Report

Motocross News

The Motocross of Nations is the final professional motocross event of 2010, and soon after all attention will shift towards the 2011 season. Before turning towards 2011, there is plenty to be excited about for Thor MX fans from 2010.

Just this past weekend at the inaugural Pala Motocross National, Dean Wilson put together one of the best performances of the year.

Wilson finished the day with a perfect 1-1 finish, capturing his second overall win as a young motocross professional.

If the 1-1 finish wasn’t enough, Wilson also took home Rookie of the Year honors at the 2010 MX Sports Banquet on Sunday night. Wilson was not the only Thor rider to be recognized for an outstanding rookie season, as Thor rider Alexah Pearson was recognized as the top rookie in Women’s Motocross.

The rest of the Pro Circuit Team had plenty to be proud about as well. Despite a tough day at Pala Raceway, there is no denying that Christophe Pourcel was the top competitor in the 250 class.

With a 2010 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Lites – East championship already locked up, Pourcel continued to prove all summer long that he is ready to contend for championships in the 450 class in 2011.

Tyla Rattray’s second overall finish during the Outdoor Nationals was his best since coming over from Europe in 2009. The 2008 MX2 World Champion was strong and consistent throughout the 2010 Lucas Oil AMA Motocross Championship, and looks poised to contend in the 250 class heading into Supercross.

Complementing Pourcel’s Lites-East Championship on the west coast was Jake Weimer. Weimer captured the Monster Energy AMA Supercross Lites-West championship, and much like Pourcel should contend immediately as he moves up to the 450 class.

As a couple of Thor riders make the move up to the 450 class, Ryan Villopoto and his fellow 450 class riders won’t be short on competition in 2011.

But keep in mind that prior to his injury, Villopoto was in the title hunt and despite missing the final three rounds still captured seven overall victories, which led Supercross in 2010. Villopoto will be a favorite on many lists heading into Anaheim on January 8, 2011.

However, the 2010 professional season isn’t completely finished. A handful of Thor riders will be on hand during the Motocross of Nations in Lakewood, Colo.

Dean Wilson will ride with Great Britain, Gautier Paulin will fill in for Christophe Pourcel on the French team, Josh Coppins will ride for New Zealand, and Jeremy Van Horebeek will represent Belgium in just over a week.