News Manx GP: Junior Classic Race Results

Manx GP: Junior Classic Race Results


Isle of Man

Alan Oversby on the 1970 MV Agusta got the second race of the day away on time at the 2010 Manx Grand Prix, sponsored by shortly after 1.15pm with the Junior Classic motorcycles starting ahead of the Lightweight Classic Race.

Roy Richardson on the 1969 Aermacchi Ala D’Oro 349cc led on time by over 3 seconds at Glen Helen from Chris McGahan on the Honda 346cc and Doug Snow riding a1967 Ducati Sebring 340cc.

Alan Oversby’s 1970 MV Agusta and Mark Herbertson on the ’69 AJS 7R 350cc made up the first five by the first timing point. Oversby moved up to third by Ballaugh ahead of Snow although Snow was the fastest through Sulby Speed trap with 126.4 and Snow regained third place shortly after.

Richardson extended his lead to over 6 seconds from McGahan by Ramsey and by 10 seconds at the Bungalow with Oversby now back in third. They remained top three by Grandstand.

Richardson’s opening lap time was 101.615 mph with McGahan just shy of 18 seconds behind in second and Oversby a further 10 seconds back. Mark Parrett on the Ripley Honda 350cc was disappointed to pull in at the end of the first lap with mechanical problems.

Oversby was first on the road to Glen Helen by the second lap but Richardson, from a start number of 14, had passed McGahan on the road by the second lap at Glen Helen to extend his lead to 21 seconds from McGahan with Oversby third on time.

That remained first three to Ramsey with Richardson maintaining his lead and McGahan 21 seconds back and Oversby a further 30 seconds in third.

Richardson broke his own his own Junior Classic lap record, set in 2007, on the second lap with a time of 21:59.38 (102.948 mph) from McGahan and Oversby Richardson completed lap three in 22:11.57 to extend his lead over McGahan by over 45 seconds with Doug Snow getting ahead of Oversby to reclaim third place.

Richardson duly claimed victory, and his seventh Manx Grand Prix title, for the Martin Bullock stable, with a final lap of 101.180 and a new Junior Classic race record of 1:28.50.08 with Chris McGahan taking the runner-up slot.

Behind the pair Alan Oversby eventually took third place on the MV after his thrilling battle with Doug Snow, taking the final podium slot by just over 2 seconds.

Roy Richardson’s victory adds to a glowing history for the bike. The bike has been owned by Dick Linton since 1972 and he achieved a replica on the bike in 1976.

Peter Wakefield and Peter Symes got the Lightweight Classic race away at around 1.20pm. Ewan Hamilton on the 1967 Suzuki T20 242cc, led after the opening lap of 94.273 from the Jackson brothers Tom and Bud, Tom leading the family battle by 9 seconds in second place after the first lap.

However, on the second lap Hamilton retired at Sulby Crossroads leaving Tom Jackson at the front of the field ahead of Bud by 8 seconds at Ramsey. Chris Palmer was also a retirement on the second lap, stopping at Ramsey Bus stop.

Bud Jackson dropped out on the third lap at Whitegates leaving Peter Wakefield on a 1966 T20 Suzuki to move up into second place from Dave Smith in third on the ’67 Yamaha TDIC 246cc.

The 61 year old Tom Jackson, with a previous best of 5th in the Manx Grand Prix, was almost home having built up a convincing lead of over 50 seconds by the Bungalow on the last lap but he dramatically ran out of petrol and retired at the Creg Ny Baa with victory in sight, leaving Peter Wakefield to take the top spot with a race time of 1:39.08.32 (91.339mph) from Dave Smith in second and Jeff Ward on a ’67 T20 247cc Suzuki in third place.

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited First Look: Updates, Specs, Photos

The 2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited arrives with two new paint choices, plus a couple of updates in the dash area. There’s a new LED...

MP Magic 37.5 Tech Merino Wool Socks Review (All-Season Footwear)

I’m very picky when it comes to motorcycle socks. For dirt bikes, it’s easy. I always wear Fly Racing Knee Brace socks, as they...

2021 Triumph Tiger 850 Sport Review (13 Fast Facts)

Marketing is a funny thing. Usually, manufacturers exaggerate the displacement in model names—even if only by a little bit. However, in the case of...

2021 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Special First Look (5 Fast Facts)

The 2021 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Special changes this year focus on new colors and finishes. However, there are some other updates worth discussing. The...

2021 DOT Certified Helmet Performance Testing Update

We provide some deep insight into the latest 2021 DOT Certified Motorcycle Helmet performance testing, from failure rate to suggestions for regulators.

2021 Benelli TRK502 Review (15 Fast Facts for Sport-Touring)

Last month we tested the 2021 Benelli TRK502X adventure motorcycle and came away impressed. At first glance, the standard TRK502 doesn’t seem that much...