Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport Suzuki, Dungey & Desalle Rule Unadilla

Suzuki, Dungey & Desalle Rule Unadilla

AMA Motocross

Rockstar Makita Suzuki had a banner day at the ninth round of the AMA Pro Motocross series at Unadilla as Ryan Dungey went 1-1 to take his eighth overall win in a row and temporary team mate Clement Desalle, who’s on break from the FIM Motocross World Championship series, went 2-2 for second overall for the day.

Dungey and Desalle dominated the motos with their powerful and smooth Suzuki fuel-injected RM-Z450s – and Dungey added points to his already-impressive lead in the series.

In the first moto, Dungey showed Unadilla he was ready to race and ready to win: He took charge immediately by grabbing the holeshot and never looked back as Desalle, who’s currently second in points in the MX1 GP series, took second off the start.

Dungey led the race wire-to-wire and by the end of the moto, he was nearly 13 seconds ahead of the rest. Desalle made an impressive showing by following Dungey to the finish line to take the second spot on the podium.

At the start of moto 2, Desalle took up the second spot again while Dungey followed in third. The Belgian quickly hunted down the leader and passed him for the lead while Dungey worked his way into second. While Desalle tried to stay at the front, Dungey had other plans and moved his way to the front of the pack. Dungey finished the race almost 12-second ahead and Desalle finished in second.

Overall, Dungey and Desalle finished 1-2 for the day. Team mate Matt Moss finished 14th in the first moto but pulled off the track in the second moto after 13 laps, putting him in 32nd place. Moss finished 19th overall for the day.

Dungey is now 111 points ahead of the next closest competitor in the AMA Pro Motocross series and has won the last eight in a row. He’s also coming off the announcement that he’ll be representing the United States in the Motocross of Nations; a team headed up by his current Team Manager and five-time World Champion and Suzuki legend Roger DeCoster.

Round 10 of the AMA Pro Motocross series takes place on Aug. 28 in Southwick, Mass.

Unadilla 450 Overall Results:

1. Ryan Dungey

2. Clement Desalle

3 Brett Metcalfe

4. Andrew Short

5. Kyle Regal

6. Ben Townley

7. Kyle Chisholm

8. Justin Brayton

9. Josh Grant

10. Tommy Hahn

450 Series Points:

1. Ryan Dungey 418

2. Andrew Short 307

3. Brett Metcalfe 293

4. Josh Grant 260

5. Ben Townley 249

6. Mike Alessi 235

7. Chad Reed 204

8. Kyle Regal 185

9. Kyle Chisholm 183

10. Ryan Sipes 181

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Cardo Packtalk Black and Prototype Headset Review: Racing Intercom

Cardo has been well known for its high-quality helmet-to-helmet communication systems for over a decade. Cardo uses Bluetooth technology in both is Packtalk and...

2021 Husqvarna FC 450 Rockstar Edition First Look (8 Fast Facts)

The triumvirate of 2020 AMA 450MX National Champion Zach Osborne, 2018 AMA Supercross Champion Jason Anderson, and Dean Wilson will all be racing motorcycle...

Shoei RF-1400 First Look: New Motorcycle Helmet

The folks at Shoei made the best of our pandemic situation with their unique launch of the new Shoei RF-1400. They shipped us the...

2021 Ducati Monster First Look [13 Fast Facts + Specs]

Amid these unique times when OEMs are usually launching their lineups at EICMA, Ducati spent the past five Wednesdays releasing new models. Many, like the...

2021 Ducati Monster Lineup First Look: 4 Models; 2 All-New

There’s a big shakeup in the Ducati Monster lineup for 2021. Say goodbye to the 797, 821, and 821 Stealth. Those three models are...

2020 Ducati Monster 821 Stealth Review (15 Fast Facts)

Upgraded in 2018, the Ducati Monster 821 was joined by a Stealth version in 2019. Not merely a matte black extravaganza with exclusive graphics,...