Moto2 Brno: Elias Takes Historical Win

MotoGP News

Sunday was an historic day for Team Gresini, the team celebraing their 100th podium finish from 249 starts.

This important milestone was reached with a sensational Moto2 victory for Toni Elias at Brno, Round 10 of the MotoGP Championship. Elias continued his brilliant run of form with a dominant second half of the race despite missing Friday´s free practice.

The Spaniard moves a step closer to the first ever Moto2 title although he knows there is still a long way to go and is determined not to lose his concentration amidst the celebrations of a memorable achievement for the team.

Toni Elias says: “I am absolutely delighted! It´s a fantastic day for the team because of the win and because of the 100th podium. To have contributed to such a milestone is really incredible for me. The result today is the fruit of a lot of hard work and it was an important victory in terms of the championship because with Iannone finishing third I was able to extend my advantage at the top a little.”

“I managed to stay calm over the first few laps and then from half distance start making up ground that allowed me to take the win and start the celebrations with Team Gresini.”

Vladimir Ivanov says: “I´m not happy with the race today and there is not much I can say about it other than to congratulate Toni Elias on the win and Team Gresini on their 100th podium.”

Fausto Gresini says: “It is a memorable day because to score our 100th podium with a victory is extra special. The fact we extended our lead in the championship makes it even better. It is an important cushion but there is still a long way to go in the championship and there are a lot of points still available. Obviously this is another important step towards our goal but we cannot afford to relax – we have to keep working and keep trying to produce performances like this one. I´m so happy!”

Moto2 Official Report

A controlled and well-measured ride from standings leader Toni Elías delivered the Spaniard’s fourth win of the 2010 campaign at Brno, which also marked the Gresini team’s 100th podium finish in the World Championship.

As opposed to the start of the earlier 125cc contest the Moto2 riders were met with sun as they lined up on the grid, and early in the race there were up to nine riders battling for the lead, amongst them pole man Shoya Tomizawa (Technomag-CIP) and Jules Cluzel (Forward Racing), who got off to a great start from the third row.

Arne Tode (Racing Team Germany) crashed out early on but there were few fallers, and Elías patiently monitored the situation at the head of the race, sidling up to Tomizawa. Andrea Iannone (Fimmco Speed Up) was also in the group vying for positions towards the front and the Italian moved into first position as halfway approached.

Iannone threatened to pull away as he has done more than once before this season, but Elías recovered a gap of over a second to overtake on lap 13 as Roberto Rolfo (Italtrans STR) became involved in the top-three battle. Unfortunately for the Italian a mechanical failure on the next lap ended his race prematurely after an impressive ride.

The experienced Elías started to pull away and Yuki Takahashi (Tech 3 Racing) passed Iannone to slot into second on the penultimate lap, a position he held to the finish line. The victorious Elías met the chequered flag with an advantage of 2.312s over the Japanese rider to take the 25 points, with Iannone third behind Takahashi by just over six-tenths of a second.

Cluzel and Julián Simón (Mapfre Aspar) completed the top five, with Gabor Talmacsi (Fimmco Speed Up) completing a solid weekend in sixth. Thomas Lüthi (Interwetten Moriwaki Racing) placed 11th, which means Iannone now sits second in the Championship standings at seven points ahead of the Swiss rider. Elías’ lead at the top remains strong after nine rounds and he is now 55 points clear.

12524Toni ELIASSPAGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki154.941’51.715
22072Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNTech 3 RacingTech 3154.7+2.312
31629Andrea IANNONEITAFimmco Speed UpSpeed Up154.7+2.959
41316Jules CLUZELFRAForward RacingSuter154.5+6.905
51160Julian SIMONSPAMapfre Aspar TeamSuter154.5+6.974
6102Gabor TALMACSIHUNFimmco Speed UpSpeed Up154.4+7.024
796Alex DEBONSPAAeroport de Castello – AjoFTR154.4+7.808
883Simone CORSIITAJIR Moto2Motobi154.2+11.691
9765Stefan BRADLGERViessmann Kiefer RacingSuter153.9+15.958
10648Shoya TOMIZAWAJPNTechnomag-CIPSuter153.9+15.974
11512Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten Moriwaki Moto2Moriwaki153.9+16.486
12455Hector FAUBELSPAMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter153.9+16.490
13310Fonsi NIETOSPAHoliday Gym G22Moriwaki153.7+19.426
14240Sergio GADEASPATenerife 40 PonsPons Kalex153.6+20.130
15135Raffaele DE ROSAITATech 3 RacingTech 3153.6+20.227
1677Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter153.6+20.233
1725Alex BALDOLINIITACaretta Technology Race DeptI.C.P.153.3+25.738
188Anthony WESTAUSMZ Racing TeamMZ-RE Honda153.2+27.526
1919Xavier SIMEONBELHoliday Gym RacingMoriwaki153.2+27.711
2063Mike DI MEGLIOFRAMapfre Aspar TeamSuter153.1+28.895
2114Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda PTT Singha SAGBimota152.7+36.263
2245Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter152.2+44.281
2368Yonny HERNANDEZCOLBlusens-STXBQR-Moto2152.1+46.446
244Ricard CARDUSSPAMaquinza-SAG TeamBimota152.0+47.620
2580Axel PONSSPATenerife 40 PonsPons Kalex152.0+47.798
2671Claudio CORTIITAForward RacingSuter152.0+47.966
2761Vladimir IVANOVUKRGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki151.9+48.499
2859Niccolo CANEPAITARSM Team ScotSuter151.7+51.993
2939Robertino PIETRIVENItaltrans S.T.R.Suter151.7+52.243
3095Mashel AL NAIMIQATBlusens-STXBQR-Moto2151.7+53.151
315Joan OLIVESPAJack & Jones by A.BanderasPromoharris151.7+53.478
3253Valentin DEBISEFRAWTR San Marino TeamADV151.3+1’00.080
3388Yannick GUERRASPAHoliday Gym G22Moriwaki150.8+1’08.242
Not Classified
44Roberto ROLFOITAItaltrans S.T.R.Suter154.56 Laps
11Yusuke TESHIMAJPNJIR Moto2Motobi151.48 Laps
52Lukas PESEKCZEMatteoni CP RacingMoriwaki151.111 Laps
81Patrik VOSTAREKCZEVector Kiefer RacingSuter146.518 Laps
9Kenny NOYESUSAJack & Jones by A.BanderasPromoharris142.119 Laps
Not Starting
41Arne TODEGERRacing Team GermanySuter0 Lap


Previous article125cc: Marquez Finishes 7th
Next articleSuzuki, Dungey & Desalle Rule Unadilla
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007 and is currently Editor at Large at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of 365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).