Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport Suzuki RM Claims Motocross Wins

Suzuki RM Claims Motocross Wins

Suzuki Motocross

The 2010 Loretta Lynn’s Amateur National Motocross Championships, the biggest event of the year in amateur motocross racing, have drawn to a close.

Riders came in from all over to do battle, and by the waving of the final checkered flag Suzuki riders had claimed seven new 2010 motocross championship titles with fourteen additional mx podiums.

Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Gannon Audette claimed overall victory in the 450 A/Pro Sport class with three decisive moto wins in a row, showing the dominance of the fuel-injected 2010 Suzuki RM-Z450.

Audette also demonstrated his versatility by taking second overall in the 250 A class aboard the fuel-injected RM-Z250.

Joey Savatgy and Steven Gretchen also took top honors for the Rockstar Makita Suzuki team at Loretta’s. Both Joey and Steven podiumed in every moto they raced in, with Joey taking home the Schoolboy 2 (13-16) B/C class title, and Steven topping the podium in the 85 (12-14) Modified class.

Xtreme Rockstar Suzuki’s Jeremy Martin also took third in the Schoolboy 2 (13-16) B/C class to make it a double podium for Suzuki.

Rockstar Makita Suzuki rider Jace Owen took the overall win in the Super Mini 2 (13-16) class. Jace placed in the top five in the first moto, then swept the next two for the win.

Xtreme Rockstar Suzuki’s Ian Trettel piloted his RM-Z250 to victory in the 250 A class ahead of fellow Suzuki racer Gannon Audette, making it a 1-2 finish for Suzuki.

Ian went on to take second in the 250 A/Pro Sport class as well, adding yet another achievement to the RM-Z250’s ever-expanding list of accomplishments.

Also claiming victory aboard his Suzuki was Austin Forkner, who took the 85 (9-11) Stock and Modified titles ahead of Rockstar Makita Suzuki rider Rookie White.

The pair finished 1-2 in two out of the three motos in the modified class, but in the end it was Forkner who took the title.

Suzuki would like to congratulate each of the following riders on their outstanding performances aboard their Suzuki machines:

  • Gannon Audette – 450 A/Pro Sport Champion, 250 A 2nd
  • Austin Howell – 450 A 2nd
  • Ian Trettel – 250 A Champion, 250 A/Pro Sport 2nd
  • Joey Savatgy – Schoolboy 2 (13-16) B/C Champion
  • Steven Gretchen – 85 (12-14) B/C Champion
  • Austin Forkner – 85 (9-11) Stock and Modified Champion
  • Jace Owen – Super Mini 2 (13-16) Champion
  • Kyle Durham – 450 C 2nd
  • Jordon Smith – 85 (12-14) Stock and Modified 2nd
  • Rookie White – 85 (9-11) Modified 2nd
  • Dakota Alix – Super Mini 1 (12-15) 2nd, Super Mini 2 (13-16) 3rd
  • Jacob Grzebinski – 250 C Stock 3rd
  • Cody Bristlin – 250 C Modified 3rd
  • Dan Moore – Vet 35 Plus 3rd
  • Kylie Fasnacht – Girls (12-15) 3rd

With the 2010 AMA Amateur Motocross Championships finished, the riders will return to the practice tracks in preparation for next year. Suzuki riders look to continue their stellar performance in 2011.

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Langen Two Stroke First Look: Street-Legal V-Twin!

If you thought we’d never see another street-legal two-stroke sportbike, you’re not alone. There hasn’t been a full-size two-stroke motorcycle for the street in...

2021 Indian Springfield Lineup First Look (5 Fast Facts)

There are two motorcycles in the 2021 Indian Springfield lineup, with the standard Springfield focused on longer-distance touring, and the Springfield Dark Horse pulling...

2021 BMW R 18 Review (19 Fast Facts on the First Edition)

Over a year after its concept debut, the 2021 BMW R 18 has made its way to production. Much has been written about its...

2021 Honda CRF450R Review (12 First Ride Fast Facts from Glen Helen)

The 2021 Honda CRF450R is all-new for 2021. The entirely new chassis, bodywork, exhaust, and hydraulic clutch highlight the changes to the CRF450R. Add to...

Arai Spoiler EX2 for the Corsair-X Helmet First Look

The Arai Corsair-X is the Japanese company’s flagship helmet and intended for riders of the highest performance motorcycle. MotoGP racers Maverick Viñales of Monster...

2021 Indian Scout Lineup First Look: Five Models (Photos, Specs + Prices)

Although the five-motorcycle Indian Scout lineup is functionally unchanged for 2021—last year was a major expansion of the line—this year, Indian is offering new...